Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > Modification Graveyard
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
vB Global Translator - Multiply your indexed pages & put search traffic on autopilot Details »»
vB Global Translator - Multiply your indexed pages & put search traffic on autopilot
Version: 1.7, by Dave Hybrid Dave Hybrid is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2013 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Miscellaneous Hacks - Version: 3.8.x Rating:
Released: 06-14-2009 Last Update: 06-19-2009 Installs: 35
Uses Plugins Template Edits
Additional Files  
No support by the author.

vB Global Translator


Note - There are 2 versions of this script depending on your setup. This script is compatible with users running standard vBulletin and vBSEO only and all vB release versions. If you cannot install this I am more than happy to answer support questions.

So what does this do?

vB Global Translator automatically translates your forum into 28 other languages via the Google translate API, stores those translations in a MYSQL database then rewrites new URLs so you end up with 28 new pages for every current page.

So, if you have 10,000 pages, this MOD will translate those pages into 28 languages making a total of 280,000 pages in 28 languages. This results in a flood of international traffic and referrals from the search engines. If you are getting 1,000 visits a day from your 10,000 pages imagine how many referrals you will get from 280,000 pages!

The current languages this MOD works with are all supported by AdSense so you can expect your income to rise accordingly. I have this running on a 20,000 page forum and after a few months I have more than doubled my search engine traffic.

How do I Install?

Note - Please make sure you have CURL enabled on your server, it will be listed in you php.ini file. If in doubt ask your host.

First download the relevant package below for your setup.

Next you need to add a new MySQL database to your domain to store the translated pages. Open the database in phpmyadmin or similar and import the db.sql file to install the database tables. Once you have done that you need to select the 'wt_cache' table on the left then 'operations' from the top menu and change the storage engine to InnoDB, then click Go.

Add your new database details to translate.php then, if your forums base language is different to English, change your country code. Otherwise ignore this step.

Find:

Code:
REMOVED
Change en to:

Code:
REMOVED
Next save translate.php and upload that, translateflags.php and overloadcache.txt to your forum root, so if your forums are in a /forums/ folder upload these files there. Upload the flags folder to your domain root, thats the domain root.

CHMOD overloadcache.txt to 777

In your vBulletin admin panel add a new plugin with the following settings.

Hook Location: global_complete
Title: vB Global Translator
Execution Order: 5
Plugin PHP Code:

Code:
REMOVED
Save the plugin and activate.

In your vBulletin admin panel add another new plugin with the following settings.

Hook Location: global_start
Title: vB Global Translator Flags
Execution Order: 5
Plugin PHP Code:

Code:
REMOVED
Save and activate.

Finally add the code below to your template so the flags to select languages appear. This is typically the header, navbar or footer so that they display on every page.

Code:
REMOVED
Load Issues:

This script is can be quite server intensive for large sites. As you are adding links to all of these new pages from all of your current pages the search engine bots will crawl these 1,000's of new pages fast. As the MySQL trys to deal with the many, many translations and querys I have seen my server load spike a bit.

To combat this we have written in a condition that if server load is more than 1.5, the cache setting will disable and pages will be read live from the Google API and no database writing will take place.

If you feel this setting too high/low you can change it by finding the variable below in translate.php and editing accordingly. The only reason to change this is if - A) You are on a slow server and it is overloaded/crashing or B) You have a very fast server and it can handle more, this will mean your site will get fully cached faster resulting in faster page load times when people re-visit the translated pages.

Code:
if(floatval(getServerLoad()) >= 1.5)
One final thing to remember is while your site is being cached and data written to the new database read access times to already cached pages may vary. Uncached pages need to be translated and this can take time when translating a fresh page. Cached pages may load fast or slow depending on whether your server is under load or not as when under load read access from the database is disabled. You just need to be patient and wait until your site is fully cached which will vary between site size, server spec and how often search bots crawl your pages.

Please rate and click install

THANK YOU!

Version History:

v1.7

* Removed ioncube encryption to bring script inline with vBulletin.org rules

v1.6

* Fixed nofollow block on flag links for users with vbseo sites
* Fixed adsense ads showing for translation services etc. by adding section targeting ignore tags

v1.5

* Fixed database speed issues by using InnoDB instead of MyISAM
* Code encrypted with ioncube

v1.0

* Script base version

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #82  
Old 06-17-2009, 02:31 AM
SuperTaz's Avatar
SuperTaz SuperTaz is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 744
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thank you. Works nice. Installed.

Only one thing. When I click a language, it takes about a minute to load the new page in the new language. I have a fast server. What number do I set it at to load it faster?

Quote:
if(floatval(getServerLoad()) >= 1.5)
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 06-17-2009, 04:38 AM
GamerPerfection's Avatar
GamerPerfection GamerPerfection is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 389
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimberFloorAu View Post
Good Idea but.

1. you must constantly click the language icon of your choice, as you navigate to each page/post/thread

Yes this happens to me too.
It never happened when I had the drop down list of languages.

http://www.galaxyofstars.co.uk/forums/
If you click Arabic for example, then click anywhere on my forum it reverts back to the default language, which for me is English.

In fact, it happens on your own demo too.

EDIT: This was also causing multiple database errors during the night, which I nicely woke up to an inbox full of emails informing me about a vbulletin database error, which were all related to the languages.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 06-17-2009, 09:13 AM
Dave Hybrid's Avatar
Dave Hybrid Dave Hybrid is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 463
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clarkey25 View Post
Yes this happens to me too.
It never happened when I had the drop down list of languages.

http://www.galaxyofstars.co.uk/forums/
If you click Arabic for example, then click anywhere on my forum it reverts back to the default language, which for me is English.

In fact, it happens on your own demo too.

EDIT: This was also causing multiple database errors during the night, which I nicely woke up to an inbox full of emails informing me about a vbulletin database error, which were all related to the languages.
It is ment to do that, there was a bug in the first version.

You do not want to translate everything, do you want people posting in arabic? I'm sure you don't.

This mod is to get more traffic without doing any work, some of that traffic might convert to using your site in it's intended language or click an advert, tell a friend etc.

If you want to have you site in 30 languages for users then install language packs.

This mod is for auto generating pages and getting them indexed.
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 06-17-2009, 09:21 AM
Dave Hybrid's Avatar
Dave Hybrid Dave Hybrid is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 463
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TimberFloorAu View Post
Surely tho:

To enable bots to spider all of your pages, you would need to allow guests to read all posts/threads etc.

So the reality is, based on your figures:

If you have 10,000 threads
average 5 replies per thread, and limit guest viewing to 1 view per thread, then yes you are getting potentially 280,000 indexed posts. But surely this makes no difference to the pages being indexed, because the indexing is carried out based on the language for the forum.

Your forum button doesnt change this ( icon wise )

Isnt it a bit like saying, if you have 30 styles, then it would be 30 x 10,000 x 28 languages, which would increase indexing. Which in reality it does not.?
You're totally missing the point mate.

Google doesnt index styles, or even websites. It indexes pages/urls.

Styles dont create new pages/urls, neither do language packs.

Also multiple styles are all in the same language, so again, how is that generating more original content?

This mod creates original content pages in languages you otherwise wouldnt target, with little or no effort. No need to write any content, nothing. Install and wait.

Yes if you hide pages for guests then that limits you, but that would limit your current pages too.

I dont see why people are complaining, most of you have a few thousand threads and know how hard it was to get there. This MOD multiplys those pages overnight.
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 06-17-2009, 09:24 AM
Dave Hybrid's Avatar
Dave Hybrid Dave Hybrid is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 463
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warden-B- View Post
Thank you. Works nice. Installed.

Only one thing. When I click a language, it takes about a minute to load the new page in the new language. I have a fast server. What number do I set it at to load it faster?
The speed is governed by your server spec and configuration settings.

All that vBGT setting does is stop the cache part of the script when your load gets high to avoid crashing your server.

So individual pages will still operate at the same speed whatever you set it at, it just means more can be cached at any one moment.
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 06-17-2009, 09:29 AM
Dave Hybrid's Avatar
Dave Hybrid Dave Hybrid is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 463
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warden-B- View Post
Thank you. Works nice. Installed.

Only one thing. When I click a language, it takes about a minute to load the new page in the new language. I have a fast server. What number do I set it at to load it faster?
I just checked it out on your site looks great.

Can you PM me your server specs please, it seems very fast on your setup, would really help me out as I may release a min server spec for this.

For anyone else questioning the speed etc. on a larger site...

http://www.global-gamers.net/forums/?hl=ar

Works just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 06-17-2009, 09:49 AM
tansu's Avatar
tansu tansu is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 97
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

it just waits tooo long
should I increase or decrease this value?
if(floatval(getServerLoad()) >= 1.5)

doctus(dot)org btw.
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 06-17-2009, 09:54 AM
Dave Hybrid's Avatar
Dave Hybrid Dave Hybrid is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 463
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tansu View Post
it just waits tooo long
should I increase or decrease this value?
if(floatval(getServerLoad()) >= 1.5)

doctus(dot)org btw.
Pages have to be cached as you are creating them on the fly, one they are cached they will load faster.

So, it may take a few days to a few months to cache your site fully, this is a long term mod. Even if the pages were cached overnight Google wouldn't index them for a few months anyway.

See here to answer you other question. https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost....9&postcount=85
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 06-17-2009, 09:57 AM
Dave Hybrid's Avatar
Dave Hybrid Dave Hybrid is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 463
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tansu View Post
it just waits tooo long
should I increase or decrease this value?
if(floatval(getServerLoad()) >= 1.5)

doctus(dot)org btw.

I also take it as your base language is not english you changed it to you site base language in translate.php?

Quote:
if your forums base language is different to English, change your country code.
Reply With Quote
  #91  
Old 06-17-2009, 09:58 AM
tansu's Avatar
tansu tansu is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 97
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Hybrid View Post
Pages have to be cached as you are creating them on the fly, one they are cached they will load faster.

So, it may take a few days to a few months to cache your site fully, this is a long term mod. Even if the pages were cached overnight Google wouldn't index them for a few months anyway.

See here to answer you other question. https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost....9&postcount=85
Hmm
Ok, thanks a lot
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.06404 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,339KB
  • Queries Executed 27 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (6)bbcode_code
  • (10)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_postinfo_query
  • fetch_postinfo
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete