Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > Modification Graveyard
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
vB Global Translator - Multiply your indexed pages & put search traffic on autopilot Details »»
vB Global Translator - Multiply your indexed pages & put search traffic on autopilot
Version: 1.7, by Dave Hybrid Dave Hybrid is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2013 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Miscellaneous Hacks - Version: 3.8.x Rating:
Released: 06-14-2009 Last Update: 06-19-2009 Installs: 35
Uses Plugins Template Edits
Additional Files  
No support by the author.

vB Global Translator


Note - There are 2 versions of this script depending on your setup. This script is compatible with users running standard vBulletin and vBSEO only and all vB release versions. If you cannot install this I am more than happy to answer support questions.

So what does this do?

vB Global Translator automatically translates your forum into 28 other languages via the Google translate API, stores those translations in a MYSQL database then rewrites new URLs so you end up with 28 new pages for every current page.

So, if you have 10,000 pages, this MOD will translate those pages into 28 languages making a total of 280,000 pages in 28 languages. This results in a flood of international traffic and referrals from the search engines. If you are getting 1,000 visits a day from your 10,000 pages imagine how many referrals you will get from 280,000 pages!

The current languages this MOD works with are all supported by AdSense so you can expect your income to rise accordingly. I have this running on a 20,000 page forum and after a few months I have more than doubled my search engine traffic.

How do I Install?

Note - Please make sure you have CURL enabled on your server, it will be listed in you php.ini file. If in doubt ask your host.

First download the relevant package below for your setup.

Next you need to add a new MySQL database to your domain to store the translated pages. Open the database in phpmyadmin or similar and import the db.sql file to install the database tables. Once you have done that you need to select the 'wt_cache' table on the left then 'operations' from the top menu and change the storage engine to InnoDB, then click Go.

Add your new database details to translate.php then, if your forums base language is different to English, change your country code. Otherwise ignore this step.

Find:

Code:
REMOVED
Change en to:

Code:
REMOVED
Next save translate.php and upload that, translateflags.php and overloadcache.txt to your forum root, so if your forums are in a /forums/ folder upload these files there. Upload the flags folder to your domain root, thats the domain root.

CHMOD overloadcache.txt to 777

In your vBulletin admin panel add a new plugin with the following settings.

Hook Location: global_complete
Title: vB Global Translator
Execution Order: 5
Plugin PHP Code:

Code:
REMOVED
Save the plugin and activate.

In your vBulletin admin panel add another new plugin with the following settings.

Hook Location: global_start
Title: vB Global Translator Flags
Execution Order: 5
Plugin PHP Code:

Code:
REMOVED
Save and activate.

Finally add the code below to your template so the flags to select languages appear. This is typically the header, navbar or footer so that they display on every page.

Code:
REMOVED
Load Issues:

This script is can be quite server intensive for large sites. As you are adding links to all of these new pages from all of your current pages the search engine bots will crawl these 1,000's of new pages fast. As the MySQL trys to deal with the many, many translations and querys I have seen my server load spike a bit.

To combat this we have written in a condition that if server load is more than 1.5, the cache setting will disable and pages will be read live from the Google API and no database writing will take place.

If you feel this setting too high/low you can change it by finding the variable below in translate.php and editing accordingly. The only reason to change this is if - A) You are on a slow server and it is overloaded/crashing or B) You have a very fast server and it can handle more, this will mean your site will get fully cached faster resulting in faster page load times when people re-visit the translated pages.

Code:
if(floatval(getServerLoad()) >= 1.5)
One final thing to remember is while your site is being cached and data written to the new database read access times to already cached pages may vary. Uncached pages need to be translated and this can take time when translating a fresh page. Cached pages may load fast or slow depending on whether your server is under load or not as when under load read access from the database is disabled. You just need to be patient and wait until your site is fully cached which will vary between site size, server spec and how often search bots crawl your pages.

Please rate and click install

THANK YOU!

Version History:

v1.7

* Removed ioncube encryption to bring script inline with vBulletin.org rules

v1.6

* Fixed nofollow block on flag links for users with vbseo sites
* Fixed adsense ads showing for translation services etc. by adding section targeting ignore tags

v1.5

* Fixed database speed issues by using InnoDB instead of MyISAM
* Code encrypted with ioncube

v1.0

* Script base version

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #2  
Old 06-15-2009, 06:19 PM
rob01 rob01 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Mexico
Posts: 410
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

cool i will try this and see how this work out

thought is not risky? ..so many databese reading

why dont use vb language packs?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-15-2009, 06:47 PM
Dave Hybrid's Avatar
Dave Hybrid Dave Hybrid is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 463
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

That is not an issue, the script can be limited to avoid server overload.

Also language packs will not do anything like what this script does.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-15-2009, 06:54 PM
GamerPerfection's Avatar
GamerPerfection GamerPerfection is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 389
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Ok i've installed it, but when I choose a language it comes up with a 404 Not Found page.

Now, might be a silly question, but how do I know if I'm using a Windows or Linux Server?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-15-2009, 06:57 PM
Dave Hybrid's Avatar
Dave Hybrid Dave Hybrid is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 463
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I would ask your host, Linux supports mod_rewrite and thus the .htaccess file that you should have uploaded... it is essential.

PM me the URL and I can take a look.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-15-2009, 06:58 PM
GamerPerfection's Avatar
GamerPerfection GamerPerfection is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 389
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Hybrid View Post
I would ask your host, Linux supports mod_rewrit and .htaccess files (that you should have uploaded)... it is essential.
Yes mine supports .htaccess files.

In fact I have my own one on my root directory, but I also placed your one in the forum root directory. Is that ok?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-15-2009, 07:03 PM
Dave Hybrid's Avatar
Dave Hybrid Dave Hybrid is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 463
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Sounds like they may be conflicting, why do you have a htaccess in the root, what is it's content?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-15-2009, 07:06 PM
GamerPerfection's Avatar
GamerPerfection GamerPerfection is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 389
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave Hybrid View Post
Sounds like they may be conflicting, why do you have a htaccess in the root, what is it's content?
I used to use it to block certain IP's. It's rather obsolete now anyway.
But I removed my old one and it's not causing the 404 error, so something else is wrong.

Here's my forum: http://www.galaxyofstars.co.uk/forums/
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-15-2009, 07:20 PM
GamerPerfection's Avatar
GamerPerfection GamerPerfection is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 389
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Then add your database details to translate.php
I take it you mean the new database details?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-15-2009, 07:36 PM
Dave Hybrid's Avatar
Dave Hybrid Dave Hybrid is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 463
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Looks like a htaccess issue for sure, make sure it is in /forums/

Without ftp access I can't help much further, PM me if you want.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04632 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,300KB
  • Queries Executed 23 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (6)bbcode_code
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (10)post_thanks_box
  • (10)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (10)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (9)postbit
  • (10)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (10)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete