Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Article Depository > Read An Article > vBulletin 3 Articles
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
[tip] Create combo boxes in your hacks' options
Lea Verou
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,856

 

Greece
Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscription
Lea Verou Lea Verou is offline 08-13-2007, 10:00 PM

Let's suppose you're making a hack that is controlled by one or more setting groups in the vBulletin Options.

Yes/No radios, edit boxes and textareas are fine for most cases.

But what happens if you want to offer a selection from some predefined values?

Make the user enter them in a text box? Hmm that would work but what about typos? It's also unprofessional.

So, when you want to create a combo box, enter in the setting's Option Code the following:
Code:
select:piped
1|Description1
2|Description2
3|Description3
4|Description4
Then a combo box will appear in that setting, with the options Description1, Description2, Description3 and Description4 for the user of your hack.
In your code however, you'll check the option for the values in the beginning of each option (in this case 1,2,3,4), as they represent the value that will be assigned to $vbulletin->options['mysetting'] (where 'mysetting' is the varname of your setting in this example).

Its not obligatory that these values are numbers.

Also, the descriptions may have blanks and everything, they can even be a phrase (however I don't know how that's done).

Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-12-2007, 10:28 PM
Analogpoint's Avatar
Analogpoint Analogpoint is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 656
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

To use a vB "phrase" in the drop-down box, simple put the phrase variable in as the description:

Code:
select:piped
0|enable_all_ajax_features
1|disable_problematic_ajax_features
2|disable_all_ajax_features
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-13-2007, 10:41 AM
Lea Verou Lea Verou is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Greece
Posts: 1,856
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Analogpoint View Post
To use a vB "phrase" in the drop-down box, simple put the phrase variable in as the description:

Code:
select:piped
0|enable_all_ajax_features
1|disable_problematic_ajax_features
2|disable_all_ajax_features
I had tried that but it didn't work. Probably I had the phrasegroup wrong. In which phrasegroup should these phrases be?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-13-2007, 03:14 PM
Analogpoint's Avatar
Analogpoint Analogpoint is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 656
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michelle View Post
I had tried that but it didn't work. Probably I had the phrasegroup wrong. In which phrasegroup should these phrases be?
Control Panel Options.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.03627 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,226KB
  • Queries Executed 19 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (3)bbcode_code
  • (2)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_article
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (4)post_thanks_box
  • (4)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (4)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (3)postbit
  • (4)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (4)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_postinfo_query
  • fetch_postinfo
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete