View Full Version : '&pp=' Tag Search Results Per page
TWood
05-19-2011, 12:01 AM
The number of results shown for a Tag search is not set in the ACP. I found this in tags.php (about line 160)
$base = 'tags.php?' . $vbulletin->session->vars['sessionurl'] .
'tag=' . $vbulletin->GPC['tag'] . '&pp=' . $perpage;
It appears that a number can be placed after the = sign in '&pp=' but I don't know the syntax. Can someone tell me how that is structured?
Thanx
Lynne
05-19-2011, 03:45 AM
tags.php?tag=xxxx&pp=yyyy
TWood
05-19-2011, 04:05 AM
I'm sorry Lynne, you woofed me. I know you're telling me something but I don't know what it is. I was expecting to enter a number into '&pp=' after the '=' sign, with some syntax around the number. What are you telling me?
Lynne
05-19-2011, 03:59 PM
You just enter a number after the =. pp means "per page". So enter the number of tags results you want shown per page.
TWood
05-19-2011, 04:31 PM
I tried that, three different ways:
$base = 'tags.php?' . $vbulletin->session->vars['sessionurl'] .
'tag=' . $vbulletin->GPC['tag'] . '&pp= 5 ' . $perpage;
$base = 'tags.php?' . $vbulletin->session->vars['sessionurl'] .
'tag=' . $vbulletin->GPC['tag'] . '&pp=5 ' . $perpage;
$base = 'tags.php?' . $vbulletin->session->vars['sessionurl'] .
'tag=' . $vbulletin->GPC['tag'] . '&pp=5' . $perpage;
It still shows all the threads with a given tag on one page, much more than 5, in this example.
Lynne
05-19-2011, 07:05 PM
You can't have .$perpage after the number - 5 *is* the $perpage variable! Either set $perpage beforehand, or remove it:
$base = 'tags.php?' . $vbulletin->session->vars['sessionurl'] .
'tag=' . $vbulletin->GPC['tag'] . '&pp=5';
I think maybe part of the problem is that that's the base url for making links in the results page, but you'd still need to set the perpage passed to $view->showpage() below that.
I don't understand the code since $perpage is never set (unless it's set in another file somewhere, but I couldn't find it).
I'd think that this section of code (lines 159 to 164):
$base = 'tags.php?' . $vbulletin->session->vars['sessionurl'] .
'tag=' . $vbulletin->GPC['tag'] . '&pp=' . $perpage;
$navbits = array('search.php' . $vbulletin->session->vars['sessionurl_q'] => $vbphrase['search_forums']);
$view = new vb_Search_Resultsview($results);
$view->showpage($vbulletin->GPC['pagenumber'], $vbulletin->GPC['perpage'], $base, $navbits);
should be something like this (green is what I added, red is a change to existing line):
$perpage = intval($vbulletin->GPC['perpage']);
if ($perpage < 1) $perpage = 5; /* or whatever you want as default value */
$base = 'tags.php?' . $vbulletin->session->vars['sessionurl'] .
'tag=' . $vbulletin->GPC['tag'] . '&pp=' . $perpage;
$navbits = array('search.php' . $vbulletin->session->vars['sessionurl_q'] => $vbphrase['search_forums']);
$view = new vb_Search_Resultsview($results);
$view->showpage($vbulletin->GPC['pagenumber'], $perpage, $base, $navbits);
There's also code in vb/search/resultsview.php in the showpage function that checks for the value of perpage (the second parameter), and if it's not set it uses the value of $vbulletin->options['searchperpage'] with a max of 200, so if you used the above code you'd be overriding that.
BTW, I haven't actually tried any of the above.
TWood
05-19-2011, 10:19 PM
No go Lynne, still shows too many in the list.
Thank you for researching this kh99, but what you are proposing there is beyond me. I was hoping for a one-place setting.
Lynne
05-19-2011, 10:23 PM
I guess I am not seeing the same problem. If I go to search by tags and add "&pp=2" to the end of the url, I get only two threads on each page of my results:
tags.php?tag=cats&pp=2
Are you saying that if you add "&pp=2" to the end of your url, that you still get 20 threads per page?
FWIW, I assumed that TWood was trying to change the default results per page for all tags searches, and not just for a specific search.
TWood
05-19-2011, 11:11 PM
FWIW, I assumed that TWood was trying to change the default results per page for all tags searches, and not just for a specific search.
Yes.
I was hoping that changing the code in tags.php at line 160 so that any search on tags by anybody will return a set number per page. Setting the number of results for searches in the admin CP has no affect on tag searches because that search uses search.php but a tag search uses tags.php to initiate the tag search.
Lynne - I'm not appending any code to a search, I want to change the search code for all tag searches, and I thought this place in tags.php at line 160 looked like the place to do it.
What I was suggesting wasn't really that much (if you were to compare that code with the existing code). But I think a simpler way to do it would be to make the change suggested in post #6, and also change this (line 164):
$view->showpage($vbulletin->GPC['pagenumber'], $vbulletin->GPC['perpage'], $base, $navbits);
to this
$view->showpage($vbulletin->GPC['pagenumber'], 5, $base, $navbits);
But in the existing code you can (or you should also be able to) override the default by specifying a value on the url like Lynne mentioned above, so I was suggesting a few more changes to preserve that feature.
(I modified post #7 to make it easier to see the changes).
TWood
05-19-2011, 11:37 PM
kh99 - Brilliant!
Thank You!
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.