View Full Version : Rotating banner next to titleimage
hqlman
12-29-2009, 07:13 PM
How can i add a rotating banner for adverts in line with the titleimage ?
shane943
12-30-2009, 09:33 AM
you can use the advertising tool it has a pre built templete just imput the html code.
molieman
12-31-2009, 12:35 PM
I've asked this question in an other way, but thought I would try again differently. You HELP is appreciated.
My rotating banner code works fantastic within the advertising box. But when I use the same code within a widget (static HTML) or Forum Block (HTML), I get nothing.
Why does it work in the advertising box, but not in a Widget or Forum Block.
This is an example of the code and it works in the advertising blocks:
<HTML><HEAD>
<TITLE>Rotating banners with links</TITLE>
<script type="text/javascript"><!--
//Javascript
//store the quotations in arrays
images = new Array(2);
images[0] = "<div align='center'><a href='http://www.flyengravity.com'target='_blank'><img src='http://www.mycockpit.org/advertising/FLYengravity/FlyEngravity-r.png' border='0' alt='' /></a></div>";
images[1] = "<div align='center'><a href='http://www.cockpitsonicusa.com' target='_blank'><img src='http://www.mycockpit.org/advertising/CockpitsonicUSA/CockpitsonicUSA-r.png' border='0' alt='' /></a></div>";
index = Math.floor(Math.random() * images.length);
document.write(images[index]);
//done
// --></script>
</BODY>
</HTML>
Imagery
01-16-2010, 06:37 AM
I've asked this question in an other way, but thought I would try again differently. You HELP is appreciated.
My rotating banner code works fantastic within the advertising box. But when I use the same code within a widget (static HTML) or Forum Block (HTML), I get nothing.
Why does it work in the advertising box, but not in a Widget or Forum Block.
This is an example of the code and it works in the advertising blocks:
<HTML><HEAD>
<TITLE>Rotating banners with links</TITLE>
<script type="text/javascript"><!--
//Javascript
//store the quotations in arrays
images = new Array(2);
images[0] = "<div align='center'><a href='http://www.flyengravity.com'target='_blank'><img src='http://www.mycockpit.org/advertising/FLYengravity/FlyEngravity-r.png' border='0' alt='' /></a></div>";
images[1] = "<div align='center'><a href='http://www.cockpitsonicusa.com' target='_blank'><img src='http://www.mycockpit.org/advertising/CockpitsonicUSA/CockpitsonicUSA-r.png' border='0' alt='' /></a></div>";
index = Math.floor(Math.random() * images.length);
document.write(images[index]);
//done
// --></script>
</BODY>
</HTML>
Can you help a newbie out and tell me WHERE I should insert this code (filename/style/template)?? to get the banners to rotate? Is there code needed elsewhere to make this work correctly?
molieman
01-16-2010, 12:53 PM
Glad to help.
-Admincp/advertising/Add New Ad
-Select block where you want to place ad.
-In title box enter the name you want to give this ad.
-go to "Ad HTML" Box and insert code.
If you leave all of the rest of the boxes unchecked it will show through out the site.
Iif you can't get the code the work, send me a PM and I'll try to help.
Matt Olieman
mycockpit.org
xscreamsuk
01-28-2010, 07:52 PM
First time doing this, I haven't got the advertising subsection, I was told that VB 4.01 was installed on the server today, and the page says it's generated by VB4.01.
Anywhere I should be looking in the admin cp to find the ad setting?
hqlman
04-04-2010, 04:07 PM
Thanks for the help guys, and does anyone know how to add a rotating banner to your CMS homepage and display correctly in IE and Firefox like this:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2010/04/76.jpg
Seen this on the vbstyle website, looks pretty neat.
--------------- Added 1270423840 at 1270423840 ---------------
Okay ive been trying a few combinations to get this to display properly in both IE and firefox, but can only get my rotating banner to display on a static html widget above primary content using the following code:
<object height="300" width="590" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" data="../banner/preview.swf" id="large_item_preview_container" style="visibility: visible;">
<param name="base" value="../banner/">
<param name="wmode" value="opaque"></object>
The above code makes the rotating banner appear normally, but displays a blank white space in IE, i know you need to use embed and object together but i dont know exactly how for this particular banner,
Tried this already:
<OBJECT classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,0,0" WIDTH="320" HEIGHT="240" id="Yourfilename" ALIGN="">
<PARAM NAME=movie VALUE="Yourfilename.swf"> <PARAM NAME=quality VALUE=high> <PARAM NAME=bgcolor VALUE=#333399> <EMBED src="Yourfilename.swf" quality=high bgcolor=#333399 WIDTH="320" HEIGHT="240" NAME="Yourfilename" ALIGN="" TYPE="application/x-shockwave-flash" PLUGINSPAGE="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer"></EMBED> </OBJECT>
Any ideas?
--------------- Added 1270428807 at 1270428807 ---------------
Heres an image of the problem:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/external/2010/04/16.gif
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.