Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 4 Discussion > vB4 Programming Discussions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-29-2009, 07:13 PM
hqlman's Avatar
hqlman hqlman is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 96
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default Rotating banner next to titleimage

How can i add a rotating banner for adverts in line with the titleimage ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-30-2009, 09:33 AM
shane943's Avatar
shane943 shane943 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Clovis, Ca
Posts: 22
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

you can use the advertising tool it has a pre built templete just imput the html code.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-31-2009, 12:35 PM
molieman's Avatar
molieman molieman is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 141
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I've asked this question in an other way, but thought I would try again differently. You HELP is appreciated.

My rotating banner code works fantastic within the advertising box. But when I use the same code within a widget (static HTML) or Forum Block (HTML), I get nothing.

Why does it work in the advertising box, but not in a Widget or Forum Block.

This is an example of the code and it works in the advertising blocks:

<HTML><HEAD>
<TITLE>Rotating banners with links</TITLE>

<script type="text/javascript"><!--
//Javascript
//store the quotations in arrays
images = new Array(2);

images[0] = "<div align='center'><a href='http://www.flyengravity.com'target='_blank'><img src='http://www.mycockpit.org/advertising/FLYengravity/FlyEngravity-r.png' border='0' alt='' /></a></div>";

images[1] = "<div align='center'><a href='http://www.cockpitsonicusa.com' target='_blank'><img src='http://www.mycockpit.org/advertising/CockpitsonicUSA/CockpitsonicUSA-r.png' border='0' alt='' /></a></div>";

index = Math.floor(Math.random() * images.length);
document.write(images[index]);
//done
// --></script>

</BODY>
</HTML>
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-16-2010, 06:37 AM
Imagery Imagery is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 13
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by molieman View Post
I've asked this question in an other way, but thought I would try again differently. You HELP is appreciated.

My rotating banner code works fantastic within the advertising box. But when I use the same code within a widget (static HTML) or Forum Block (HTML), I get nothing.

Why does it work in the advertising box, but not in a Widget or Forum Block.

This is an example of the code and it works in the advertising blocks:

<HTML><HEAD>
<TITLE>Rotating banners with links</TITLE>

<script type="text/javascript"><!--
//Javascript
//store the quotations in arrays
images = new Array(2);

images[0] = "<div align='center'><a href='http://www.flyengravity.com'target='_blank'><img src='http://www.mycockpit.org/advertising/FLYengravity/FlyEngravity-r.png' border='0' alt='' /></a></div>";

images[1] = "<div align='center'><a href='http://www.cockpitsonicusa.com' target='_blank'><img src='http://www.mycockpit.org/advertising/CockpitsonicUSA/CockpitsonicUSA-r.png' border='0' alt='' /></a></div>";

index = Math.floor(Math.random() * images.length);
document.write(images[index]);
//done
// --></script>

</BODY>
</HTML>
Can you help a newbie out and tell me WHERE I should insert this code (filename/style/template)?? to get the banners to rotate? Is there code needed elsewhere to make this work correctly?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-16-2010, 12:53 PM
molieman's Avatar
molieman molieman is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 141
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Glad to help.

-Admincp/advertising/Add New Ad

-Select block where you want to place ad.

-In title box enter the name you want to give this ad.

-go to "Ad HTML" Box and insert code.

If you leave all of the rest of the boxes unchecked it will show through out the site.

Iif you can't get the code the work, send me a PM and I'll try to help.

Matt Olieman
mycockpit.org
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-28-2010, 07:52 PM
xscreamsuk xscreamsuk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

First time doing this, I haven't got the advertising subsection, I was told that VB 4.01 was installed on the server today, and the page says it's generated by VB4.01.

Anywhere I should be looking in the admin cp to find the ad setting?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-04-2010, 04:07 PM
hqlman's Avatar
hqlman hqlman is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 96
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks for the help guys, and does anyone know how to add a rotating banner to your CMS homepage and display correctly in IE and Firefox like this:



Seen this on the vbstyle website, looks pretty neat.

--------------- Added [DATE]1270423840[/DATE] at [TIME]1270423840[/TIME] ---------------

Okay ive been trying a few combinations to get this to display properly in both IE and firefox, but can only get my rotating banner to display on a static html widget above primary content using the following code:

Code:
<object height="300" width="590" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" data="../banner/preview.swf" id="large_item_preview_container" style="visibility: visible;">
<param name="base" value="../banner/">
<param name="wmode" value="opaque"></object>
The above code makes the rotating banner appear normally, but displays a blank white space in IE, i know you need to use embed and object together but i dont know exactly how for this particular banner,

Tried this already:

HTML Code:
<OBJECT classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=6,0,0,0" WIDTH="320" HEIGHT="240" id="Yourfilename" ALIGN="">
<PARAM NAME=movie VALUE="Yourfilename.swf"> <PARAM NAME=quality VALUE=high> <PARAM NAME=bgcolor VALUE=#333399> <EMBED src="Yourfilename.swf" quality=high bgcolor=#333399 WIDTH="320" HEIGHT="240" NAME="Yourfilename" ALIGN="" TYPE="application/x-shockwave-flash" PLUGINSPAGE="http://www.macromedia.com/go/getflashplayer"></EMBED> </OBJECT>
Any ideas?

--------------- Added [DATE]1270428807[/DATE] at [TIME]1270428807[/TIME] ---------------

Heres an image of the problem:

Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.06612 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,225KB
  • Queries Executed 11 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (1)bbcode_code
  • (1)bbcode_html
  • (1)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (7)post_thanks_box
  • (7)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (7)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (7)postbit
  • (7)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (7)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete