View Full Version : Requiring the global.php file
artifice
12-16-2009, 06:56 AM
I have two identical files. One is inside my forums directory (/home/EXAMPLE/public_html/forum/) and the other is in a testing subdomain (/home/EXAMPLE/public_html/testing/). Both files change directories to the forums directory like:
chdir('/home/EXAMPLE/public_html/forum/')
And then:
require_once('./global.php')
The problem is that the file in the testing subdomain does not correctly receive the vBulletin information while the other file does. There are no errors in requiring, it just doesn't work. I think that for some reason when global.php tries to require it's own files the path is wrong. Whatever the problem is, how do I fix it? Thanks in advance.
When you say it "just doesn't work", what do you mean exactly - what happens? Because I'm kind of thinking that if a require couldn't find the file you'd see an error, so maybe there's something else going on.
Lynne
12-16-2009, 03:07 PM
The global file itself also requires other php pages. You can't just have the global.php file in a directory, you need to have the whole vbulletin set of files in that directory.
artifice
12-16-2009, 08:09 PM
Lynne: I understand, I'm not copying the files... I'm requiring global after I called the chdir() function.
kh: What I'm saying is that I use the php chdir() function so that I can require the global.php file along with the others that are chained in. And what I mean by it doesn't work is that trying to access any variables or information from vB does not work. The variables do not exist.
What I think the problem is, is that the require finds the first file, but when global tries to find the rest it fails...
Lynne
12-16-2009, 09:58 PM
Have you looked in your error_logs? (If you don't know where they are, ask your host.)
artifice
12-16-2009, 10:07 PM
No errors... But even if the problem is that global cannot require it's own files, how do other people accomplish what I'm trying to?
What are you trying to do? Is there any reason you can't just make another copy of the vBulletin files in the test directory?
artifice
12-17-2009, 07:55 PM
I can make a copy I guess. What would I need to copy other than global? The entire installation???
Well, I shouldn't have said "make another copy of the vBulletin files", that might not even work. I guess I meant another installation. I've only worked with a completely separate test installation, including a separate database, so I don't know.
artifice
12-18-2009, 06:28 AM
All I'm trying to do is access vBulletin resources from outside of the vBulletin directory... Someone has to have tried this before.
Lynne
12-18-2009, 02:26 PM
Sure, lots of users do (myself included) and it works just fine.
You are changing this line:
chdir('/home/EXAMPLE/public_html/forum/')
to this for your testing script, right?
chdir('/home/EXAMPLE/public_html/testing/')
artifice
12-18-2009, 11:40 PM
Here is the exact contents of the file:
<?
$dir = getcwd();
chdir('/home/***/public_html/forum/');
require_once('./global.php');
chdir($dir);
echo $vbulletin->userinfo['userid'];
?>
The output is 0.
But if the EXACT SAME code is in a file inside the forum directory, the output is 1 (my userid).
Did you say you're getting to it through a different domain? Maybe the problem is that the cookies aren't being sent so in effect you're logged out.
artifice
12-19-2009, 01:42 AM
I bet you're right.
What kind of function could I call to see if it's actually working?
vBulletin® v3.8.12 by vBS, Copyright ©2000-2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.