Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 3 Discussion > vB3 Programming Discussions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-16-2009, 06:56 AM
artifice artifice is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 13
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default Requiring the global.php file

I have two identical files. One is inside my forums directory (/home/EXAMPLE/public_html/forum/) and the other is in a testing subdomain (/home/EXAMPLE/public_html/testing/). Both files change directories to the forums directory like:

chdir('/home/EXAMPLE/public_html/forum/')

And then:

require_once('./global.php')

The problem is that the file in the testing subdomain does not correctly receive the vBulletin information while the other file does. There are no errors in requiring, it just doesn't work. I think that for some reason when global.php tries to require it's own files the path is wrong. Whatever the problem is, how do I fix it? Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-16-2009, 11:09 AM
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 13,185
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

When you say it "just doesn't work", what do you mean exactly - what happens? Because I'm kind of thinking that if a require couldn't find the file you'd see an error, so maybe there's something else going on.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-16-2009, 03:07 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

The global file itself also requires other php pages. You can't just have the global.php file in a directory, you need to have the whole vbulletin set of files in that directory.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-16-2009, 08:09 PM
artifice artifice is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 13
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Lynne: I understand, I'm not copying the files... I'm requiring global after I called the chdir() function.

kh: What I'm saying is that I use the php chdir() function so that I can require the global.php file along with the others that are chained in. And what I mean by it doesn't work is that trying to access any variables or information from vB does not work. The variables do not exist.

What I think the problem is, is that the require finds the first file, but when global tries to find the rest it fails...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-16-2009, 09:58 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Have you looked in your error_logs? (If you don't know where they are, ask your host.)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-16-2009, 10:07 PM
artifice artifice is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 13
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

No errors... But even if the problem is that global cannot require it's own files, how do other people accomplish what I'm trying to?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-16-2009, 10:17 PM
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 13,185
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

What are you trying to do? Is there any reason you can't just make another copy of the vBulletin files in the test directory?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-17-2009, 07:55 PM
artifice artifice is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 13
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I can make a copy I guess. What would I need to copy other than global? The entire installation???
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-17-2009, 08:17 PM
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 13,185
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Well, I shouldn't have said "make another copy of the vBulletin files", that might not even work. I guess I meant another installation. I've only worked with a completely separate test installation, including a separate database, so I don't know.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-18-2009, 06:28 AM
artifice artifice is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 13
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

All I'm trying to do is access vBulletin resources from outside of the vBulletin directory... Someone has to have tried this before.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05031 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,240KB
  • Queries Executed 11 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (10)post_thanks_box
  • (10)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (10)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (10)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (10)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete