Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 3 Discussion > vB3 Programming Discussions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-05-2005, 01:09 PM
PuntoPower PuntoPower is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 37
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default float image over the header of forum

i was wondering is it possible to "float" an image over the header for a forum. the image i want to float is some banners from phpads. see attached forum header
Attached Images
File Type: gif header_edit.gif (38.0 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-05-2005, 01:44 PM
KTBleeding's Avatar
KTBleeding KTBleeding is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tooele, UT
Posts: 756
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Is the header image set as a background?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-05-2005, 01:56 PM
PuntoPower PuntoPower is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 37
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

no, its called in "header". its called like this.....

<div id="logostrip"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/logostrip.gif" alt="" /></div>
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-05-2005, 02:12 PM
KTBleeding's Avatar
KTBleeding KTBleeding is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tooele, UT
Posts: 756
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hm. Well, the only way you can float it is if it's a background.. which would honestly be the way I would do it. You may also acheive this with a "layer" but I have never had good luck with those.

Is that image chopped up for the html document, or is it the entire header itself?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-05-2005, 02:33 PM
PuntoPower PuntoPower is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 37
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

its the entire header itself alright. i was thinking that i may have to go down the route of chopping it all up and inserting the banner as one of the sections.

if i chop them up, what the best way to put them back together....tables or ????
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-05-2005, 02:47 PM
KTBleeding's Avatar
KTBleeding KTBleeding is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tooele, UT
Posts: 756
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Well, I'm one of those guys who tries to avoid using tables as much as possible.

I will usually split a header image up into three images horizontally.. just so slower connections won't have too big of an issue with it. However, in this case I would use divs.

Something like:
Code:
<div style="background: #000 url(path_to/images/misc/logostrip.gif) no-repeat; height: 120px;">
	<div style="float: right; margin: 10px; border: 1px solid #000;"><img src="path_to/images/banner.gif" alt="" /></div>
</div>
This is just a quick example thrown together, but should be what you're looking for. If you want to, you can also create two different classes with those settings and then call them in the code intead.

Of course you'll want to change what's marked in bold tags to suite your site / preferences.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-05-2005, 03:33 PM
PuntoPower PuntoPower is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 37
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

the banner is in js as below, so wud the above work?

Code:
<script language='JavaScript' type='text/javascript' src='http://website.com/phpAdsNew/adx.js'></script>
<script language='JavaScript' type='text/javascript'>
<!--
   if (!document.phpAds_used) document.phpAds_used = ',';
   phpAds_random = new String (Math.random()); phpAds_random = phpAds_random.substring(2,11);
   
   document.write ("<" + "script language='JavaScript' type='text/javascript' src='");
   document.write ("http://website.com/phpAdsNew/adjs.php?n=" + phpAds_random);
   document.write ("&amp;what=zone:3");
   document.write ("&amp;exclude=" + document.phpAds_used);
   if (document.referrer)
      document.write ("&amp;referer=" + escape(document.referrer));
   document.write ("'><" + "/script>");
//-->
</script><noscript><a href='http://website.com/phpAdsNew/adclick.php?n=af4aa6e8' target='_blank'><img src='http://website.com/phpAdsNew/adview.php?what=zone:3&amp;n=af4aa6e8' border='0' alt=''></a></noscript>
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-05-2005, 03:41 PM
KTBleeding's Avatar
KTBleeding KTBleeding is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tooele, UT
Posts: 756
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Code:
<div style="background: #000 url(path_to/images/misc/logostrip.gif) no-repeat; height: 120px;">
	<div style="float: right; margin: 10px; border: 1px solid #000;">
		<script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript" src="http://website.com/phpAdsNew/adx.js"></script>
		<script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript">
		<!--
		   if (!document.phpAds_used) document.phpAds_used = ',';
		   phpAds_random = new String (Math.random()); phpAds_random = phpAds_random.substring(2,11);
		   
		   document.write ("<" + "script language='JavaScript' type='text/javascript' src='");
		   document.write ("http://website.com/phpAdsNew/adjs.php?n=" + phpAds_random);
		   document.write ("&amp;what=zone:3");
		   document.write ("&amp;exclude=" + document.phpAds_used);
		   if (document.referrer)
			  document.write ("&amp;referer=" + escape(document.referrer));
		   document.write ("'><" + "/script>");
		//-->
		</script>
		
		<a href="http://website.com/phpAdsNew/adclick.php?n=af4aa6e8" target="_blank"><img src="http://website.com/phpAdsNew/adview.php?what=zone:3&amp;n=af4aa6e8" border="0" alt="" /></a>
	
	</div>
</div>
That should work out fine. You will still want to change the necessary tags to fit your site though.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-05-2005, 03:46 PM
PuntoPower PuntoPower is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 37
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

ill give it a go. thanks for your time
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-05-2005, 04:04 PM
KTBleeding's Avatar
KTBleeding KTBleeding is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Tooele, UT
Posts: 756
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

No problem. Good luck with it.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04393 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,274KB
  • Queries Executed 12 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (3)bbcode_code
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (10)post_thanks_box
  • (10)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (10)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (1)postbit_attachment
  • (10)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (10)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_attachment
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete