Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.0 > vBulletin 3.0 Template Modifications
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Thread Images Details »»
Thread Images
Version: 1.00, by python66 python66 is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2015 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: Unknown Rating:
Released: 02-18-2005 Last Update: Never Installs: 2
 
No support by the author.

This will add some thread images to your thread list you can see them over at

http://www.codingsector.com/forumdisplay.php?f=21

To apply this hack it will involve in editing two templates

In your FORUMDISPLAY template find

Code:
<td class="thead" width="100%">
<if condition="$show['threadratings']"><span style="float:$stylevar[right]"><a href="$sorturl&amp;order=desc&amp;sort=voteavg">
ABOVE ADD

Code:
<if condition="$foruminfo[title] == forumtitle"><td class="thead" width="45" align="center" nowrap="nowrap">Preview</td></if>
NOTE: you must remove the forumtitle and replace it with the forum you want to add the images to. If you want to add images to every forum then just remove the <if> statements.

SAVE FORUMDISPLAY Template

OPEN THREADBIT Template

FIND

Code:
<td class="alt2"><if condition="$show['threadicon']"><img src="$thread[threadiconpath]" alt="$thread[threadicontitle]" border="0" /><else />&nbsp;</if></td>
	</if>
BELOW ADD

Code:
 <if condition="$thread[forumtitle] == forumtitle">
<td class="alt2" width="40">
<img src="$thread[threadid].gif"></td></if>
NOTE: you must remove the forumtitle and replace it with the forum you want to add the images to. If you want to add images to every forum then just remove the <if> statements.

SAVE AND CLOSE!

now you should test it to see if it works! if you have no threads in the forum you selected then create a test 1.

now create the image and put that image in the forum root directory it must be called the id of the thread!

for example if my threadid was 1 then i would create an image called 1.gif and place it in the forum root directory.

NOTE: You can find the forum id by hovering over the link and you should get something like

where the number 10 is the thread id!

Hopefully it worked, i would love to see some variations of this!
Please excuse me if it doesnt i will fix it after all this is my first ever mod

Thanks
Paul

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #2  
Old 02-19-2005, 10:45 AM
Guy G Guy G is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 250
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

This is all nice and good but not usefull for users....
If a user wants to create a tutorial than it will have no picture - bummer.
Try making this into a hack where a user uploads a small picture which will be displayed the same way.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-20-2005, 09:39 AM
python66 python66 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Yea that will probably get upgraded. it was a simple template i made for my forums graphic tutorials to offer guests a preview. they cant post in their tho
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-21-2005, 02:44 AM
Tony G's Avatar
Tony G Tony G is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 8,357
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Depends on the community if it will be useful or not. But nice mod nevertheless.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-22-2005, 01:00 PM
imported_TCB imported_TCB is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: behind my computer
Posts: 7
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Fantastic hack!

I know how to edit php, but I need to have a start or a point to the right direction. I've used your hack and changed it a bit. It works fantastic.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-22-2005, 07:45 PM
imported_TCB imported_TCB is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: behind my computer
Posts: 7
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default



So I've skipped the editings in the forumdisplay template, since I don't want to add the thread image as an extra table, but instead of the threadicons.

But it seems I have made an error here with the conditionals:
PHP Code:
       <if condition="$show['threadicons']">
        <
td class="alt2">
        <if 
condition="$thread[forumtitle] == cds"><img src="http://www.mysite.com/images/forumdisplay/$thread[threadid].jpg" width="90" height="90"></if>
        <if 
condition="$show['threadicon']"><img src="$thread[threadiconpath]alt="$thread[threadicontitle]border="0" />        
        <else />&
nbsp;</if></td>
        </if> 
The normal threadicons show up in all forums but the 'cds' forum, while in the cds forum a nice threadimage is displayed for all threads in this forum. But...... the threadicon (like ) is ALSO shown. So I have the image + the icon.

What do I need to change to have a space shown when there's no threadicon selected in all forums (but the cds forum), and only a thread image in the cds forum?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-22-2005, 08:06 PM
imported_TCB imported_TCB is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: behind my computer
Posts: 7
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

By the way, how can I select more than one forum to use this hack?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-16-2005, 08:34 AM
TCB's Avatar
TCB TCB is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 193
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

This is what I have so far:
Code:
 <if condition="$show['threadicons']"> 
        <td class="alt2"> 
        <if condition="$thread[forumid] == 7"><img src="http://www.mysite.com/images/forumdisplay/$thread[threadid].jpg" width="90" height="90"></if> 
        <if condition="$show['threadicon']"><img src="$thread[threadiconpath]" alt="$thread[threadicontitle]" border="0" />         
        <else />&nbsp;</if></td> 
        </if>
And this is what I would like to have, but I'm lost with the conditionals:
1) have it work for forum 7, 19 and 25
2) have it show an image ($thread[threadid].jpg) for these 3 forums
3) have it show the standard threadicons for the other forums.

What do I have to edit to get it to work? :nervous:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-17-2005, 10:54 PM
TCB's Avatar
TCB TCB is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 193
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

can someone please help?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04230 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,291KB
  • Queries Executed 22 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (5)bbcode_code
  • (1)bbcode_php
  • (1)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (9)post_thanks_box
  • (9)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (9)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (8)postbit
  • (9)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (9)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete