Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 3 Discussion > vB3 General Discussions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-12-2005, 06:24 PM
amykhar's Avatar
amykhar amykhar is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: PA
Posts: 4,438
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default Adding a new field to the forum table

I'm tearing my hair out on this one. I've got to be missing something.

I am adding a text field to the forum table. And, I need to have it editable in the admincp.

In the past, I would simply add the field to the database and then put in the code setting up the display of the field and the variable names. It would mirror the code for the forum description, which looks like this:

Code:
print_textarea_row($vbphrase['description'], 'forum[description]', $forum['description']);
So, my new text field would have a new column in the database called newfield (or whatever) and the code would look like:

Code:
print_textarea_row($vbphrase['newfield'], 'forum[newfield]', $forum['newfield']);
But, on my test site, it keeps telling me that newfield isn't a valid bitfield. Description, Link and other similar database fields are also not bitfields. They are not in the xml file.

So, what in heck am I missing? I've been plowing through the code to see if the forum description or link field are instantiated in any other file, and I'm not seeing anything.

Amy
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-12-2005, 06:45 PM
Zachery's Avatar
Zachery Zachery is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 11,440
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amykhar
I'm tearing my hair out on this one. I've got to be missing something.

I am adding a text field to the forum table. And, I need to have it editable in the admincp.

In the past, I would simply add the field to the database and then put in the code setting up the display of the field and the variable names. It would mirror the code for the forum description, which looks like this:

Code:
print_textarea_row($vbphrase['description'], 'forum[description]', $forum['description']);
So, my new text field would have a new column in the database called newfield (or whatever) and the code would look like:

Code:
print_textarea_row($vbphrase['newfield'], 'forum[newfield]', $forum['newfield']);
But, on my test site, it keeps telling me that newfield isn't a valid bitfield. Description, Link and other similar database fields are also not bitfields. They are not in the xml file.

So, what in heck am I missing? I've been plowing through the code to see if the forum description or link field are instantiated in any other file, and I'm not seeing anything.

Amy
You either need to add it to the forums dm class or add it on runtime

So you find for example $forumdata =& datamanager_init('Forum', $vbulletin, ERRTYPE_CP);

and add under
$forumdata->validfields['crap'] = array(TYPE_UINT, REQ_NO);

I think

That
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-12-2005, 08:30 PM
amykhar's Avatar
amykhar amykhar is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: PA
Posts: 4,438
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks, Zach. It works.

{slight diversion off topic now: }

You know, when I worked in software development, we would have been fussed at if we wrote code with documentation like 3.5 beta. I don't mean manuals, I mean comments in the code. The old code had no comments, but at least it made more sense. This new stuff needs comments. It's not intuitive enough to do without them.

I don't know. Maybe I'm spoiled because every manager I ever worked for made us write readable comments in the code so that any moron could pick up a file and understand what's going on.

Amy
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-13-2005, 12:58 PM
cirisme cirisme is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 136
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amykhar
Thanks, Zach. It works.

{slight diversion off topic now: }

You know, when I worked in software development, we would have been fussed at if we wrote code with documentation like 3.5 beta. I don't mean manuals, I mean comments in the code. The old code had no comments, but at least it made more sense. This new stuff needs comments. It's not intuitive enough to do without them.

I don't know. Maybe I'm spoiled because every manager I ever worked for made us write readable comments in the code so that any moron could pick up a file and understand what's going on.

Amy
Quote:
The old code had no comments, but at least it made more sense. This new stuff needs comments. It's not intuitive enough to do without them.
I agree 110%. The code changed drastically, and now if you need to do something you need to lookup items in five different places.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.03463 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,190KB
  • Queries Executed 11 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (4)bbcode_code
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (4)post_thanks_box
  • (4)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (4)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (4)postbit
  • (4)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (4)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete