Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 3 Discussion > vB3 Programming Discussions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-16-2005, 10:49 PM
neocorteqz's Avatar
neocorteqz neocorteqz is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Barefoot Bay Fl
Posts: 473
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default How to call a Profile field in a php file?

I'm trying to create a webcam script, and would like to use a hidden profile field where the member can enter his/her address to the webcam and it will automatically add to the page.

How could one accomplish this smartly, and what would be the query to select from a certain field? i know how to call from a field in a template, but don't know how to accomplish this in a php file.

thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-16-2005, 11:17 PM
Adrian Schneider's Avatar
Adrian Schneider Adrian Schneider is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,528
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Just run a query... Off the top of my head:

PHP Code:
$cache=$DB_site->query_first("SELECT fieldX FROM userfield WHERE userid=Y"); 
Typing $cache[fieldX] would display the field.

I'm not sure what mroe you want, but this should do the main part.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-16-2005, 11:25 PM
neocorteqz's Avatar
neocorteqz neocorteqz is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Barefoot Bay Fl
Posts: 473
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheSpecialist
Just run a query... Off the top of my head:

PHP Code:
$cache=$DB_site->query_first("SELECT fieldX FROM userfield WHERE userid=Y"); 
Typing $cache[fieldX] would display the field.

I'm not sure what mroe you want, but this should do the main part.
actually from all users that have that field filled in if it's possible. afterall I would think scanning empty rows would not cause undue stress.

So i would drop the WHERE userid=X and it would scan for all?

Ohh, and thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-17-2005, 12:26 AM
Adrian Schneider's Avatar
Adrian Schneider Adrian Schneider is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,528
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Pretty much, yes.

You actually need to run a while. Try this:
PHP Code:
$query $DB_site->query("SELECT fieldX FROM userfield");
while(
$array=$DB_site->fetch_array($query))
{
    
$webcamurl $array['fieldX'];
    
// Declare anything else here
    
$webcamurlbit .= "$webcamurl'<BR>';

Or a template based one:
PHP Code:
$query $DB_site->query("SELECT fieldX FROM userfield");
while(
$array=$DB_site->fetch_array($query))
{
    
$webcamurl $array['fieldX'];
    
// Declare anything else here
    
eval('$variable = "' fetch_template('template_name') . '";');

For the second one, you'd create a template and inlclude anything you want repeated inside of it (could be rows of a table (including the $webcamurl)). Then just insert $variable into your main template, and it will repeat the contents.

Edit: by the way, if your php file isn't associated with vBulletin (doesn't include global.php) you have to use mysql_query instead of $DB_site->query and mysql_fetch_array instead of DB_site->fetch_array. Also, if this is the case, you can't use templates, obviously.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-17-2005, 02:04 AM
neocorteqz's Avatar
neocorteqz neocorteqz is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Barefoot Bay Fl
Posts: 473
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheSpecialist
Pretty much, yes.

You actually need to run a while. Try this:
PHP Code:
$query $DB_site->query("SELECT fieldX FROM userfield");
while(
$array=$DB_site->fetch_array($query))
{
    
$webcamurl $array['fieldX'];
    
// Declare anything else here
    
$webcamurlbit .= "$webcamurl'<BR>';

Or a template based one:
PHP Code:
$query $DB_site->query("SELECT fieldX FROM userfield");
while(
$array=$DB_site->fetch_array($query))
{
    
$webcamurl $array['fieldX'];
    
// Declare anything else here
    
eval('$variable = "' fetch_template('template_name') . '";');

For the second one, you'd create a template and inlclude anything you want repeated inside of it (could be rows of a table (including the $webcamurl)). Then just insert $variable into your main template, and it will repeat the contents.

Edit: by the way, if your php file isn't associated with vBulletin (doesn't include global.php) you have to use mysql_query instead of $DB_site->query and mysql_fetch_array instead of DB_site->fetch_array. Also, if this is the case, you can't use templates, obviously.
thanks for the info.

Yerah it's going to include global.php. so it will work, but thanks for the info.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-17-2005, 03:01 AM
filburt1 filburt1 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Maryland, US
Posts: 6,144
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

If the user is logged in, just use $bbuserinfo['fieldn'] in your PHP, just as you woul d in a template.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.08225 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,230KB
  • Queries Executed 11 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (6)bbcode_php
  • (2)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (6)post_thanks_box
  • (6)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (6)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (6)postbit
  • (6)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (6)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete