Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > General > Member Archives
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Thread Numbers! Details »»
Thread Numbers!
Version: , by lordofgun lordofgun is offline
Developer Last Online: Oct 2009 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: Unknown Rating:
Released: 03-02-2002 Last Update: Never Installs: 0
 
No support by the author.

We recently purged some of our older threads, and we lost about 50,000 thread counts. is there any way to adjust the number of total threads and posts on the forum home page?

HELP IS APPRECIATED!

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #2  
Old 03-02-2002, 09:02 PM
BB Insider BB Insider is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

This is the reply I received which isnt any help...
We left that box alone and still lost post and thread totals when we purged. How can we go into the index to re-add these numbers?
Anyone here?

Hello Rick,

Purging or pruning threads, as you know, removes them from the database. Since there are less threads in the database, the counts that show how many threads there are in the database are naturally going to be lower.

We allow you to prune or delete threads because it would be rather silly if you couldn't delete threads, wouldn't it? Most people never need to prune; vBulletin can handle in excess of 3 million posts with no problems.

As to post counts, there is a warning near the Update Post Counts item that warns you that your users will drop counts if you run it after pruning. As you have found out, we are not kidding. We only provide it because some users asked for it, especially when importing. Under normal circumstances you should not run it.

You can edit index.php and forumdisplay.php to "fudge" the numbers but you will need to seek assistance at vBulletin.org with this because it is hacking.

Please let me know if you require any further assistance.

All the best,
Kevin Schumacher
Support Team, vBulletin
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-03-2002, 08:55 AM
Admin's Avatar
Admin Admin is offline
Coder
 
Join Date: Oct 2023
Location: Server
Posts: 1
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Replace this in index.php:
Code:
$countposts=$DB_site->query_first('SELECT COUNT(*) AS posts FROM post');
$totalposts=number_format($countposts['posts']);

$countthreads=$DB_site->query_first('SELECT COUNT(*) AS threads FROM thread');
$totalthreads=number_format($countthreads['threads']);
with this:
Code:
$countposts=$DB_site->query_first('SELECT COUNT(*) AS posts FROM post');
$totalposts=number_format($countposts['posts']+100000);

$countthreads=$DB_site->query_first('SELECT COUNT(*) AS threads FROM thread');
$totalthreads=number_format($countthreads['threads']+50000);
This'll add 100,000 more posts and 50,000 more threads.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-03-2002, 05:45 PM
BB Insider BB Insider is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-03-2002, 05:53 PM
The Realist's Avatar
The Realist The Realist is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 842
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Can this be done with how many members a forum has? can that be incresed?

Thanks,

Brian


Quote:
Originally posted by FireFly
Replace this in index.php:
Code:
$countposts=$DB_site->query_first('SELECT COUNT(*) AS posts FROM post');
$totalposts=number_format($countposts['posts']);

$countthreads=$DB_site->query_first('SELECT COUNT(*) AS threads FROM thread');
$totalthreads=number_format($countthreads['threads']);
with this:
Code:
$countposts=$DB_site->query_first('SELECT COUNT(*) AS posts FROM post');
$totalposts=number_format($countposts['posts']+100000);

$countthreads=$DB_site->query_first('SELECT COUNT(*) AS threads FROM thread');
$totalthreads=number_format($countthreads['threads']+50000);
This'll add 100,000 more posts and 50,000 more threads.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-03-2002, 06:02 PM
BB Insider BB Insider is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I did this and it broke my board.
www.BuffaloRange.com
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-03-2002, 06:09 PM
The Realist's Avatar
The Realist The Realist is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 842
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Did you make a backup of the original index file. I always copy any files that need hacking to my computer and then rename the one on the server to I.E.

index.php
to
index.php1

and then upload the changed file back to the server.

If it does not work then all I gota do is rename the original file back yo E.G. index.php and you back to were you started.

Did you do a backup?

Brian
Quote:
Originally posted by BB Insider
I did this and it broke my board.
www.BuffaloRange.com
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-03-2002, 06:18 PM
Admin's Avatar
Admin Admin is offline
Coder
 
Join Date: Oct 2023
Location: Server
Posts: 1
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BB Insider
I did this and it broke my board.
www.BuffaloRange.com
Nothing to do with this hack, look at the error message.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-03-2002, 07:05 PM
BB Insider BB Insider is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 6
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

There is no error message, no back up either. I did what fly said, changed the numbers and refreshed the index and now theres no home page.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-03-2002, 08:03 PM
The Realist's Avatar
The Realist The Realist is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 842
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Have you the original zipped files from VB. Install the index file from that and it should work.

The only drawback is that any hacks that need changes to that index file will have to be re done.

There are 2 lines that look very similar in the index.php (not admin index.php) so make sure you have changed the correct area.



Quote:
Originally posted by BB Insider
There is no error message, no back up either. I did what fly said, changed the numbers and refreshed the index and now theres no home page.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04147 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,297KB
  • Queries Executed 23 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (4)bbcode_code
  • (4)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (10)post_thanks_box
  • (10)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (10)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (9)postbit
  • (10)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (10)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete