Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 5 Connect Discussion > vB5 Design and Graphics Discussions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-30-2015, 09:26 PM
DemOnstar's Avatar
DemOnstar DemOnstar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 859
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default Hiding Postbit.

How do we get rid of the big grey box that contains user information?
I just want to use the page in a thread without it.

Is there a way to hide it to none registered users and those not logged on?

Cheers all. . . .
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-30-2015, 09:41 PM
ArcadeSyndicate's Avatar
ArcadeSyndicate ArcadeSyndicate is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 298
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

you can hide parts of the templates postbit and postbit legacy with simple conditionals...

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthrea...t=conditionals



[edit] sorry, just saw you use vb5, but maybe it will work there too.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-01-2015, 06:33 AM
DemOnstar's Avatar
DemOnstar DemOnstar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 859
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ArcadeSyndicate View Post
you can hide parts of the templates postbit and postbit legacy with simple conditionals...

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthrea...t=conditionals
Cheers. I was thinking about hiding all of the postbit.
It may prove complicated for me to do it using permissions so I might just do it for all users.

Thanks. . .
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-01-2015, 02:59 PM
Replicant's Avatar
Replicant Replicant is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Phoenix, Az. USA
Posts: 485
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DemOnstar View Post
Cheers. I was thinking about hiding all of the postbit.
It may prove complicated for me to do it using permissions so I might just do it for all users.

Thanks. . .
It's not too difficult to do at all. You can hide it with CSS and javascript/jquery although you will see it on pageload for a split second. The best way to do it is via template conditionals and should only take a couple lines of code to do it.
Reply With Quote
Благодарность от:
DemOnstar
  #5  
Old 11-04-2015, 01:59 PM
DemOnstar's Avatar
DemOnstar DemOnstar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 859
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Replicant View Post
It's not too difficult to do at all. You can hide it with CSS and javascript/jquery although you will see it on pageload for a split second. The best way to do it is via template conditionals and should only take a couple lines of code to do it.
Cheers fella. I know you will be right. I have seen how much you have helped others but that suggestion on lines of code and it only taking a couple. I wouldn't even know where to start..
My level would be finding the template responsible and erasing some stuff.

Thanks. . .
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-04-2015, 04:02 PM
Replicant's Avatar
Replicant Replicant is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Phoenix, Az. USA
Posts: 485
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

What part exactly are you trying to hide? Stats or all userinfo? Does it matter if it is still on the page but just hidden?

Try this code to hide postbit. Add to your css_additional.css

Code:
.userinfo {
    display: none;
}
.l-col__flex-3, .l-row__fixed--left > .l-col__flex-3 {
    margin-left: 0;
}
This will affect all threads, if you want to apply it to a single thread only, that will take a couple lines of JS.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-04-2015, 04:22 PM
DemOnstar's Avatar
DemOnstar DemOnstar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 859
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Replicant View Post
What part exactly are you trying to hide? Stats or all userinfo?
I was trying to get rid of it completely in one forum only but leave others unaffected. This will probably be a little more challenging than just additional.css.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Replicant View Post
Does it matter if it is still on the page but just hidden?
I am not sure it will matter as long as it isn't seen. But, does it matter? Are there microseconds of time lost by queries that are unnecessary?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Replicant View Post
This will affect all threads, if you want to apply it to a single thread only, that will take a couple lines of JS.
Your suggested code has done the job. Thanks for that. . .
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-04-2015, 04:27 PM
MarkFL's Avatar
MarkFL MarkFL is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,853
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

At the risk of butting in here, I can write a small add-on if you want that will add the CSS Replicant posted, but only in the forums you choose.

edit: Oops...nevermind, I didn't pay enough attention to notice this is a vB5 discussion.
Reply With Quote
Благодарность от:
DemOnstar
  #9  
Old 11-04-2015, 04:31 PM
DemOnstar's Avatar
DemOnstar DemOnstar is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 859
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkFL View Post
At the risk of butting in here, I can write a small add-on if you want that will add the CSS Replicant posted, but only in the forums you choose.
Go for it!
Not sure if anyone else would want to use it but it's all yours. . .
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 11-05-2015, 08:57 PM
Replicant's Avatar
Replicant Replicant is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Phoenix, Az. USA
Posts: 485
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DemOnstar View Post
I was trying to get rid of it completely in one forum only but leave others unaffected. This will probably be a little more challenging than just additional.css.

Not really, just a little jquery. I'll need more info though, like the pageid and so forth. A link to the specific forum will do, send in PM if you like.

I am not sure it will matter as long as it isn't seen. But, does it matter? Are there microseconds of time lost by queries that are unnecessary?

It's not extra querys, just template logic checks on already available data

Your suggested code has done the job. Thanks for that. . .
Not a problem.:up:
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.03974 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,271KB
  • Queries Executed 11 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (1)bbcode_code
  • (8)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (10)post_thanks_box
  • (2)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (10)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (2)post_thanks_postbit
  • (10)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (10)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (10)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete