Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 4 Discussion > vB4 General Discussions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-10-2015, 06:05 PM
Budget101 Budget101 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 331
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default CMS Grid help?

I'm trying to make a grid with the following:

3 Columns 310px 100% 180px

Code:
<div id="doc3" class="yui-tvb-r2">
    <div id="bd">
        <div id="yui-main">
            <div class="yui-b">
                <div class="yui-gc">
                    <div class="yui-u first yui-panel">
                        <ul class="list_no_decoration widget_list" id="widgetlist_column1">$column[1]</ul>
                    </div>
                    <div class="yui-u yui-panel">
                        <ul class="list_no_decoration widget_list" id="widgetlist_column2">$column[2]</ul>
                    </div>
                </div>
            </div>
        </div>
        <div class="yui-b yui-sidebar">
            <ul class="list_no_decoration widget_list" id="widgetlist_column3">$column[3]</ul>
        </div>
    </div>
</div>

But instead of the 310px code showing on the left hand side, it displays on the right. Anyone know how to fix that?

Here
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-10-2015, 10:52 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Is there some additional code for this? The html you posted is not going to make any column 310px. So, you must have some CSS or something else doing that. Can we get the full code for this grid.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-11-2015, 05:40 AM
Budget101 Budget101 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 331
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
Is there some additional code for this? The html you posted is not going to make any column 310px. So, you must have some CSS or something else doing that. Can we get the full code for this grid.
Code:
 <div id="doc3" class="yui-tvb-r2">
is what makes it the 310px but it still doesn't justify to the left= I'm using the default css in vbcms.css for the grids
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-12-2015, 12:33 AM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Well, "first" as a class means it is first in the display (aligned left). And "yui-u" means that each of the blocks are 50%. And "yui-gc" means to take 2/3 width. So, I think you are using all the wrong classes. Also, there is nothing in your html to say that one column is 310px and the other is 100%. Both are called out as "<div class="yui-u yui-panel">", so they have the exact same class.

Try something like this:
HTML Code:
<style type="text/css">
.two_columns {float: right;}
.col_1 {width: 310px; float:left; margin-right: -320px;}
.col_2 { float:left; margin: 0 190px 0 320px;}
.col_3 {width: 180px; float: right; margin-left: -190px; }

</style>
<div id="doc3" class="yui-tvb-l3">
    <div class="two_columns">
        <div class="col_2">
            <ul class="list_no_decoration widget_list" id="widgetlist_column2">$column[2]</ul>
        </div>
        <div class="col_3">
            <ul class="list_no_decoration widget_list" id="widgetlist_column3">$column[3]</ul>
        </div>
    </div>
        <div class="col_1">
            <ul class="list_no_decoration widget_list" id="widgetlist_column1">$column[1]</ul>
        </div>


</div>
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-26-2015, 03:39 PM
Budget101 Budget101 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 331
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
Well, "first" as a class means it is first in the display (aligned left). And "yui-u" means that each of the blocks are 50%. And "yui-gc" means to take 2/3 width. So, I think you are using all the wrong classes. Also, there is nothing in your html to say that one column is 310px and the other is 100%. Both are called out as "<div class="yui-u yui-panel">", so they have the exact same class.

Try something like this:
HTML Code:
<style type="text/css">
.two_columns {float: right;}
.col_1 {width: 310px; float:left; margin-right: -320px;}
.col_2 { float:left; margin: 0 190px 0 320px;}
.col_3 {width: 180px; float: right; margin-left: -190px; }

</style>
<div id="doc3" class="yui-tvb-l3">
    <div class="two_columns">
        <div class="col_2">
            <ul class="list_no_decoration widget_list" id="widgetlist_column2">$column[2]</ul>
        </div>
        <div class="col_3">
            <ul class="list_no_decoration widget_list" id="widgetlist_column3">$column[3]</ul>
        </div>
    </div>
        <div class="col_1">
            <ul class="list_no_decoration widget_list" id="widgetlist_column1">$column[1]</ul>
        </div>


</div>
Thanks lynne, but that one returned a completely blank style when I tried it in the grid.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-26-2015, 04:48 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hmmmm, I did that exact one in my CMS and it worked fine. :/ Is there anything in your error_logs (if you don't know where they are, ask your host) when you get that blank page?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-29-2015, 11:41 AM
Budget101 Budget101 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 331
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
Hmmmm, I did that exact one in my CMS and it worked fine. :/ Is there anything in your error_logs (if you don't know where they are, ask your host) when you get that blank page?


Maybe I'm doing it wrong? Here are the steps that I took,

AdminCP> vbCMS> Grid Manager> add new Grid> Paste your supplied code > Save

Then created a layout, which returned a single column, this time no blank page.


Also, if I add the styling to the additional.css instead of directly in the template, that's when it comes up blank (missing)
HTML Code:
.two_columns {float: right;} .col_1 {width: 310px; float:left; margin-right: -320px;} .col_2 { float:left; margin: 0 190px 0 320px;} .col_3 {width: 180px; float: right; margin-left: -190px; }
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-29-2015, 05:00 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I would not add the CSS to the additional.css template - that shows up on every page and you don't need that.

You need to go to Grid Manager > create a grid > Flatten Grid > then Edit and paste that code into both boxes, not just one. Did you do that?
Reply With Quote
Благодарность от:
RichieBoy67
  #9  
Old 05-29-2015, 05:19 PM
Budget101 Budget101 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 331
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
I would not add the CSS to the additional.css template - that shows up on every page and you don't need that.

You need to go to Grid Manager > create a grid > Flatten Grid > then Edit and paste that code into both boxes, not just one. Did you do that?
Yes, that's precisely what I did (on the first try) but it what it creates a blank layout. (I didn't mean page, sorry about that, it creates a blank Layout.)

Screenshot:
http://www.screencast.com/t/zGbo5s9PgK

(also, the div tag is not missing in the top part of the screenshot, there just wasnt room to scroll to show the entire code)

Screenshot of the code in flattened grid:
http://www.screencast.com/t/fdbpeQNOKO

If I go and add the style elements to the additional.css it creates a single box (but no widgets)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-30-2015, 12:00 AM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Are you trying this on a default style (that is what I did)?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04812 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,271KB
  • Queries Executed 11 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (2)bbcode_code
  • (3)bbcode_html
  • (4)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (10)post_thanks_box
  • (1)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (10)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (10)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (10)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (10)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete