Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 4 Discussion > vB4 General Discussions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 07-16-2014, 03:40 PM
Kitch87 Kitch87 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default Poll Widget Help

I want people to be able to vote and view results of the poll in the poll widget on the homepage but do not want them to be able to view the thread where the widget is pulling polls from.

How can I achieve this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-16-2014, 04:06 PM
tbworld tbworld is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2,126
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Try this: (This has not been tested):

Template Showthread

Code:
<vb:comment>{vb:raw poll}</vb:comment>

For individual polls you will have to create a template conditional with your criteria around the same section of code.

------------------------------------

You can also do this by adding a plugin at hook: "showthread_complete"
Code:
// Hook: showthread_complete

// If poll ID = 3, then empty the $poll template contents.
if ($pollid == 3) {
  $poll = '';
}
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-16-2014, 08:40 PM
Kitch87 Kitch87 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tbworld View Post
Try this: (This has not been tested):

Template Showthread

Code:
<vb:comment>{vb:raw poll}</vb:comment>

For individual polls you will have to create a template conditional with your criteria around the same section of code.

------------------------------------

You can also do this by adding a plugin at hook: "showthread_complete"
Code:
// Hook: showthread_complete

// If poll ID = 3, then empty the $poll template contents.
if ($pollid == 3) {
  $poll = '';
}
Thanks for the reply. Where abouts in showthread would I have to put that code, or can it go anywhere?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-16-2014, 09:20 PM
tbworld tbworld is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2,126
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

1.) Open AdminCP.
2.) Plugins & Products -> Plugin Manager -> Add New Plugin (very bottom of the page)

Fill in the following:

Product: vBulletin
Hook Location: showthread_complete
Title: Nullify Poll in Showthread
Execution Order: 5

Plugin PHP Code:
Code:
 
// if ($pollid == 3)  // Uncomment this line for a specific poll ID.
{   
   $poll = '';
}
Plugin is Active: Yes

Click Save.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-17-2014, 07:17 PM
Kitch87 Kitch87 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks a lot for trying to help, very much appreciated.

It turns out I found a pretty easy way to solve this. In admin CP click on to the forum where the polls are being pulled from and click on forum active - NO. This way the forum is invisible so no one can see it, but the polls on the poll widget on the homepage are still visible and able to vote on them and see results.

Can still access the forum by knowing the forum's URL to post more polls.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04034 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,197KB
  • Queries Executed 11 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (5)bbcode_code
  • (1)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (5)post_thanks_box
  • (5)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (5)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (5)postbit
  • (5)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (5)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete