Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 4 Discussion > vB4 Programming Discussions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-23-2014, 01:39 AM
ZarporForums ZarporForums is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 7
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default Some Users Unable to See Template Edits.

Hi

Some Users on our Forum are unable to see Template edits, as in from their point of view parts of the page are missing which normally show up.

Everything that is missing is related to templates I have edited such as postbit_legacy, is there a permission or a feature which would stop certain users viewing it?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-23-2014, 01:40 AM
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 10,929
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Perhaps some sort of caching, either a mod, or on the server.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-23-2014, 02:42 AM
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,844
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy47 View Post
Perhaps some sort of caching, either a mod, or on the server.
I bet either what Ozzy said ^ OR you edited part of the template and either wrapped it in a conditional (one to which they have no permission to view if so etc) or perhaps messed up and removed too much or left a bit of code unclosed i.e. you did <a href="url">Link Title</a and simply forgot the > or similar.

Ask the users running into these areas to try viewing the same parts of the threads but in a different style like the default style - do they still see blank/missing areas? If they do then it's mod/plugin related, if they see all parts of the site as-intended then you know it was in fact an edit to the style that caused the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-23-2014, 03:19 AM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Or you allow users to pick their style and you edited a style they are not using.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-23-2014, 11:49 AM
CAG CheechDogg's Avatar
CAG CheechDogg CAG CheechDogg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Riverside, California USA
Posts: 1,080
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Or have them hard refresh by hitting f5 on their keyboard and clear your cache from your browser. I am with ozzy on this one, I am always doing template edits to my forums and sometimes other users will see the cache version instead of the live version.

Another thing, some edits you have to make sure that they have the !important declaration before the ; i.e., background-color: blue !important; ....

Sometimes if a user is on chrome they might not see the changes unless you declare it !important.

Hope that helps you my Man !
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-24-2014, 01:42 AM
ZarporForums ZarporForums is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 7
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozzy47 View Post
Perhaps some sort of caching, either a mod, or on the server.
My instant assumption was caching, but it doesn't seem to be obvious.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLastSuperman View Post
I bet either what Ozzy said ^ OR you edited part of the template and either wrapped it in a conditional (one to which they have no permission to view if so etc) or perhaps messed up and removed too much or left a bit of code unclosed i.e. you did <a href="url">Link Title</a and simply forgot the > or similar.

Ask the users running into these areas to try viewing the same parts of the threads but in a different style like the default style - do they still see blank/missing areas? If they do then it's mod/plugin related, if they see all parts of the site as-intended then you know it was in fact an edit to the style that caused the issue.
The edits were applied to a Parent style and consequently all children. All mods/plugins and site APART from my template edits show as intended.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
Or you allow users to pick their style and you edited a style they are not using.
Parent Style is the one that was edited and the error is consistent through all styles.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CAG CheechDogg View Post
Or have them hard refresh by hitting f5 on their keyboard and clear your cache from your browser. I am with ozzy on this one, I am always doing template edits to my forums and sometimes other users will see the cache version instead of the live version.

Another thing, some edits you have to make sure that they have the !important declaration before the ; i.e., background-color: blue !important; ....

Sometimes if a user is on chrome they might not see the changes unless you declare it !important.

Hope that helps you my Man !
This sounds like the most likely, I hadn't heard of the !important tag for HTML, here is the snippet for one of the template edits I have made

HTML Code:
			<vb:if condition="$post['rank']">
				<span class="rank">{vb:raw post.rank}</span>
                        </vb:if>
                        <vb:if condition="$post['field6']">
                                <span class="rank"><img src="{vb:raw post.field6}" /></span>
			</vb:if>
its not perfect I know but users who contribute to my forum receive a custom user rank which is displayed like a usergroup rank, instead of making a new usergroup for each user to do this I just made a profile field I could post the image URL in.

The first vb:if conditional is obviously standard, its the second vb:if conditional that doesn't appear for certain users, this edit has been in for months now which is why I think it surely can't be just a caching issue, where could I insert the '!important' tag within this snippet?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-24-2014, 01:46 AM
ozzy47's Avatar
ozzy47 ozzy47 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 10,929
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

How do you have the profile field 6 set up?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-25-2014, 12:19 PM
CAG CheechDogg's Avatar
CAG CheechDogg CAG CheechDogg is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Riverside, California USA
Posts: 1,080
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Heh...I should of asked what template it was in that you made these edits to.

For that template, the ! important declaration is not the problem or fix ...

You might have a certain requirement for that field that doesn't allow for the rank to display unless the requirement is met. Maybe a certain amount of posts or the field is private?

Make sure the Minimum Posts is set to at least 1 and Display Type to always for the rank ....
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04471 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,240KB
  • Queries Executed 11 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (1)bbcode_html
  • (5)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (8)post_thanks_box
  • (8)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (8)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (8)postbit
  • (8)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (8)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete