Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 4 Discussion > vB4 General Discussions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-01-2013, 06:22 PM
K4GAP K4GAP is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,255
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default how to assign border to just three sides?

SOLVED!



Is it possible to assign a border color to only three sides of an area?

Such as in the image below I want to assign a colored border to only bottom and both right and left of the navbar area. Red arrow marks the border I want to get rid of.

Is this doable?


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-01-2013, 09:59 PM
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 13,185
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

It is possible, you can use CSS to specify the border width of each side separately, so you could spcify 0 for the top. But we probably can't tell you exactly how to do it without a link (well, I can't anyway).
Reply With Quote
Благодарность от:
K4GAP
  #3  
Old 04-01-2013, 11:18 PM
K4GAP K4GAP is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,255
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kh99 View Post
It is possible, you can use CSS to specify the border width of each side separately, so you could spcify 0 for the top. But we probably can't tell you exactly how to do it without a link (well, I can't anyway).
I found all kinds of code but have no idea where to put it.

Example of what I found:

Code:
div {    border-top:    1px solid red;   border-right:  1px solid red;    border-bottom: 1px solid red; }
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-01-2013, 11:30 PM
peugeot405's Avatar
peugeot405 peugeot405 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 312
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

can you post a link to your web?

try using this:

Code:
border-color: red;
border-style: solid;
border-width: 0 1px 1px;
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-02-2013, 01:39 AM
K4GAP K4GAP is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,255
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peugeot405 View Post
can you post a link to your web?

try using this:

Code:
border-color: red;
border-style: solid;
border-width: 0 1px 1px;
The problem now is where to put the code. I have several code snippets that will do the job. I just don't know where to put it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-02-2013, 01:45 AM
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 13,185
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You should download Firefox, if you don't use it already, then install the free add-on called firebug. Then you can load your page, right click on the part you're interested and select "Inspect Element with Firebug". It opens a window that shows the html and what CSS is being applied to it, so you could figure out what CSS selector will work to override it. (I think Chrome has something similar built in, but I don't remember how much it lets you do).

Anyone can do this if they can get to your site, which is why people usually ask for a link for questions like this (it's hard to know exactly what line you want to eliminate just by looking at the picture, but firebug makes it easy). It might sound like a lot of work just to figure out this CSS, but if you like doing your own styles I think you'd find that the time spent figuring it out would pay off in the long run.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-02-2013, 02:49 AM
K4GAP K4GAP is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,255
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kh99 View Post
You should download Firefox, if you don't use it already, then install the free add-on called firebug. Then you can load your page, right click on the part you're interested and select "Inspect Element with Firebug". It opens a window that shows the html and what CSS is being applied to it, so you could figure out what CSS selector will work to override it. (I think Chrome has something similar built in, but I don't remember how much it lets you do).

Anyone can do this if they can get to your site, which is why people usually ask for a link for questions like this (it's hard to know exactly what line you want to eliminate just by looking at the picture, but firebug makes it easy). It might sound like a lot of work just to figure out this CSS, but if you like doing your own styles I think you'd find that the time spent figuring it out would pay off in the long run.
I've always used Firefox and I know where to change the border settings. The problem is the setting only asks for border color/thickness and applies it to all sides. Tried all this in the beginning, about 6 hours ago.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-02-2013, 07:39 AM
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 13,185
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

OK, sorry, I guess I misunderstood the question. You can add your CSS to the additional.css template for that style (under the CSS Templates group).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-02-2013, 08:06 AM
K4GAP K4GAP is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,255
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Adding it into the additional.css the code has to be assigned to the navbar in some manner? So how would that look?

For example if I was using this code ...

"border-color: red; border-style: solid; border-width: 0 1px 1px;"

what would be added to it in order for it to be applied to the navbar?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-02-2013, 12:09 PM
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 13,185
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You would need the correct CSS selector. I understand now why there's confusion - you've been customizing the site using the style variables. So I guess the answer to the original question is that you can't do it with style vars, you need to use CSS. And while there's no place to enter CSS just for the navbar, you can probably come up with a selector so that it will only apply to the navbar, (and the firebug thing can help with that).

Anyway, maybe try the div that has id "navbar", like:

Code:
#navbar {    border-top:    1px solid red;   border-right:  1px solid red;    border-bottom: 1px solid red; }
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.20906 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,262KB
  • Queries Executed 11 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (4)bbcode_code
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (10)post_thanks_box
  • (1)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (10)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (10)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (10)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (10)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete