Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 4 Discussion > vB4 General Discussions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-24-2013, 04:16 PM
McGyver McGyver is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 28
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default vB 4.2: Is it possible to have two search tabs in nav bar?

OK, this is what I want to do...

I have the standard "What's new?" tab that points to search results of unread items.
The "script" value in the navigation manager settings is "search.activity".

I want to add another tab that will perform a customized search with a title like "Interesting news".
How could I keep this tab activated when showing the results of the customized search?

I tried appending tabid in URL but didn't work.
Whenever the customized results are returned, the URL is something like "search.php?searchid=XXXXXXX" and the "What's new?" tab is activated...

Any hints?

Thanks in advance...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-24-2013, 04:25 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

That's an interesting problem. I assume this customized search is just you adding a bunch of parameters to the search.php link?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-24-2013, 04:29 PM
McGyver McGyver is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 28
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
That's an interesting problem. I assume this customized search is just you adding a bunch of parameters to the search.php link?
Yes, I want to actually limit the search results by appending an "&include=forumid" parameter.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-24-2013, 09:02 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I have a feeling you will need to write a plugin to do this. It would help to play around with if we can get exactly what you entered for this new tab in the Navigation Manager.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-25-2013, 04:11 AM
McGyver McGyver is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 28
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I apologize for not being very clear Lynne...

The customized search link would be something like:
Code:
search.php?do=getnew&contenttype=vBForum_Post&include=1,2
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-25-2013, 04:41 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I tried all sorts of things to get that to work. Problem is, stuff gets set and then the search.php page comes back with a searchid and it wipes out anything I 'set' in the plugins. I think you may need to actually hard code something.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-25-2013, 05:08 PM
McGyver McGyver is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 28
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
I tried all sorts of things to get that to work. Problem is, stuff gets set and then the search.php page comes back with a searchid and it wipes out anything I 'set' in the plugins. I think you may need to actually hard code something.
I was afraid we would get to the code tampering thing ...
I'll get deeper into search.php now to see how I could around this.

Thanks for your time Lynne!

--------------- Added [DATE]1364233874[/DATE] at [TIME]1364233874[/TIME] ---------------

Well, I checked the hooks in search.php and concluded to the following workaround that seems to work...

I created a plugin on the hook search_getnew_complete with the following code:
PHP Code:
if ($vbulletin->GPC['include']) 

    
$vbulletin->url $vbulletin->url '&customsearch=1'

What this actually does is appending a GET variable to the results URL, after the searchid.

Then, I used another plugin on hook set_navigation_tab_main to activate the tab I wanted.
PHP Code:
if (isset($_GET['customsearch']) && $_GET['customsearch'] == '1')
{
    
$root 'my_custom_tab_id';

It might not be a very elegant solution, but does the trick.

Once again a thanks to Lynne for the time devoted on this...

--------------- Added [DATE]1364241631[/DATE] at [TIME]1364241631[/TIME] ---------------

I noticed that if there are no results, the tab gets back to "What's new", so I modified a little the plugins.

Now they look like:

hook search_getnew_complete:
PHP Code:
if ($vbulletin->GPC['include']) 

    
$vbulletin->url $vbulletin->url '&include=0'

hook set_navigation_tab_main:
PHP Code:
if (isset($_GET['include']))
{
    
$root 'my_custom_tab_id';

Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.03680 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,228KB
  • Queries Executed 11 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (1)bbcode_code
  • (4)bbcode_php
  • (2)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (7)post_thanks_box
  • (7)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (7)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (7)postbit
  • (7)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (7)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete