Go Back   vb.org Archive > Community Discussions > Modification Requests/Questions (Unpaid)
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-21-2001, 03:15 PM
SAWolf76 SAWolf76 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 14
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Well I just got these 2 products from Digi-Net and was wondering if any body had them integreated with vb??

I'm gona try to work it out my self but any help is apreciated...
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-22-2001, 04:29 PM
SAWolf76 SAWolf76 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 14
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Well it looks like with all of the other programming projects I have I'm unable to concentrate...

so if anybody is willing to give it a try I'm willing to pay for it. Can't afford much but I think its only fair if your going to take the time. I'm also willing to provide a year long hosting for those interested..

So if your interested just write me...

webmaster@arabianoasis.net
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-22-2001, 04:48 PM
GeorgeofCS's Avatar
GeorgeofCS GeorgeofCS is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 100
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I can help you out a little bit. At least with the digichat piece.

copy this and make it chat.php

<?php

include("./global.php");

if (!$bbuserinfo[usergroupid]==7 || $bbuserinfo[usergroupid]==6 || $bbuserinfo[usergroupid]==5 || $bbuserinfo[usergroupid]==7) {
eval("dooutput(\"".gettemplate('chatmod')."\");");
} else {
if (!$bbuserinfo[usergroupid]==7 || $bbuserinfo[usergroupid]==2) {
eval("dooutput(\"".gettemplate('chat')."\");");
} else {
eval("dooutput(\"".show_nopermission()."\");");

} // end if

?>

Next change the $bbuserinfo[usergroupid] to the #'s of users you'd like to give mod status.

Then create template called chat

<html>
<head>
<title>$bbtitle - $foruminfo[title]</title>
$headinclude
</head>
<body>
$header
<center><!-- *** START APPLET CODE *** -->
<APPLET NAME="DigiChat"
CODEBASE="http://host4.digichat.com/DigiChat/DigiClasses/"
CODE="com.diginet.digichat.client.DigiChatApplet"
WIDTH="200" HEIGHT="100" ALIGN="MIDDLE"
ARCHIVE="client.jar">

<PARAM NAME="siteID" VALUE="XXXX">
<PARAM NAME="cabbase" VALUE="Client.cab">
<PARAM NAME="background" VALUE="0099cc">
<PARAM NAME="textcolor" VALUE="000000">
<PARAM NAME="nickname" VALUE="$bbuserinfo[username]">

DigiChat requires a Java Compatible web browser to run.
</APPLET>
<!-- *** END APPLET CODE *** --></center>
$footer
</body>
</html>

Then make template chatmod

<html>
<head>
<title>$bbtitle - $foruminfo[title]</title>
$headinclude
</head>
<body>
$header<center>

<!-- *** START APPLET CODE *** -->
<APPLET NAME="DigiChat"
CODEBASE="http://host4.digichat.com/DigiChat/DigiClasses/"
CODE="com.diginet.digichat.client.chatmaster.DigiC hatMasterApplet"
WIDTH="200" HEIGHT="120" ALIGN="MIDDLE"
ARCHIVE="ChatMaster.jar">

<PARAM NAME="siteID" VALUE="XXXX">
<PARAM NAME="cabbase" VALUE="ChatMaster.cab">
<PARAM NAME="background" VALUE="0099cc">
<PARAM NAME="textcolor" VALUE="000000">
<PARAM NAME="nickname" VALUE="$bbuserinfo[username]">
DigiChat requires a Java Compatible web browser to run.
</APPLET>
<!-- *** END APPLET CODE *** --></center>
$footer
</body>
</html>

Then just upload chat.php and link it in your site and you should be all set. You also have to make sure you change the XXXX to your digichat site number
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-22-2001, 06:44 PM
chrispadfield's Avatar
chrispadfield chrispadfield is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I was interested in digichat, until i tried their support. Went into chat room:

Me: Hello, can you point me to a largeish (say 50) concurrent user chat room?
Support: Yes, try www.domain.com
Me: Thank you, any idea what server specs they are using?
Support: No.
Me: Ok, i will go and ask them.
Support: They will not know, it is one on our hosting service.
Me: Arrr.. I am looking for an installation on someones own server, running linux.

waited a couple of minutes

Me: Do you have a URL?
Support: Not off hand (exact words!)
Me: Any chance you could look one up?

... I asked a few more times and left.

Fat chance I am going to pay them $1,000 for something when they can't even give me a URL of it in action.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-22-2001, 06:59 PM
SAWolf76 SAWolf76 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 14
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

GeorgeofCS:
thanks for your help I already got that part working. the mode part though is interesting... I'll check it out...

chrispadfield:
well the truth is I agree with you very much... The support chat isn't that great.. I think their bigest problem is that chat is not the right place for support.. but when u do get one of them in private they are usually very helpful... However the people at sales were very helpful and suportive... and they gave me a nice offer... I decided to take the chance and try it out for 3 months... I honestly think they need to do a lot of work on there support... I plan to be in contact with their sales people to make sure they work it out...

My advice is either talk to sales and see if they can be more help... or try another company.. my other chouce is netdive.... they have a nice product..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-28-2001, 05:17 PM
wyeh32
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Chris,

I had just reviewed your DigiChat order, and I wanted to address some of the issues you brought up. It is not a normal procedure for us to give out domain names of people that have purchased our server licenses. Although I agree the technical support representative should have been a little more responsive to your question, our policy is to not give out general names of our clients.

The exception are those clients that have explicitly given their consent for us to use their names as a referral site. One thing to note, we don't actively request referrals since our market share and demo chat rooms usually speak for themselves. If you are in a "pre-sales" situation and are looking for information, please feel free to contact a sales representative since he/she would more likely have the information you are looking for.

If you have any additional questions feel free to contact me. And good luck with your new DigiChat server.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-28-2001, 06:04 PM
chrispadfield's Avatar
chrispadfield chrispadfield is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

It was an awful first impression i have to say however the software does speak for itself and I was recommend to speak to Ryan by a friend who I found very helpfull and corteous.

Should be installing the software tomorrow. fingers crossed

p.s. i only wanted one domain name of a site with a server license. I still think it is bad marketing to not have a list of sites in action. At the moment all you list are some large companies that have digichat in operation. This reminds me of what i think infopop do, they don't want to list sites in action but just big names. Big names mean nothing, i could not care less if microsoft use digichat as their internal chat room if i can not see it live (how do i know they use it, or if they have 20 servers supporting it). I would think a good amount of your users would love to advertise their chat rooms on your site. You can certainly add mine to the list when i get it ready.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-25-2001, 08:17 PM
JohnBradshaw's Avatar
JohnBradshaw JohnBradshaw is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 31
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hi

This hack is great, but I need to allow my users to login to the Chat system remotely, so I need to get them to put their username and password, before they are passed on to the Chat server

Can I do this?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-25-2001, 08:27 PM
wyeh32
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Dear John,

Yes, you can do this. DigiChat now includes a membership database with the DigiChat Community Bundle. Feel free to come to the site and check it out.

http://www.digichat.com

You can ask for me, Will if you like. I would be happy to go over your options.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-25-2001, 08:30 PM
JohnBradshaw's Avatar
JohnBradshaw JohnBradshaw is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 31
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

William,

Thanks for your post, I would like to continue to use my vB membership database because it keeps everything centralised.

Can I get my users to log into the vB board and then into the Chat at the same. Hopefully keeping everything working!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04702 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,255KB
  • Queries Executed 11 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (10)post_thanks_box
  • (10)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (10)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (8)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (10)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete