Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 4 Discussion > vB4 Programming Discussions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-15-2010, 12:21 PM
dvsDave's Avatar
dvsDave dvsDave is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 107
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default Calling other templates

Is there a way to call other templates?

Basically, is there a way to do this:
Code:
<vb:if condition="$bbuserinfo[fieldx] != 'Vertical'">

vb:template postbit;

<vb:else />

vb:template postbit_legacy;

</vb:if>
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-15-2010, 12:31 PM
compwhizii compwhizii is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 44
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

No, you have to do that in your code.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-15-2010, 12:55 PM
dvsDave's Avatar
dvsDave dvsDave is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 107
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

In the GENERIC_SHELL template, they call certain templates

Code:
	{vb:raw headinclude}
	<title>{vb:raw pagetitle}</title>

	<vb:if condition="$includecss">
		<vb:if condition="$vboptions['storecssasfile']">
			<vb:each from="includecss" value="file">
				{vb:cssfile {vb:raw file}}
			</vb:each>
		<vb:else />
			{vb:cssfile {vb:raw includecss}}
		</vb:if>
	</vb:if>
        {vb:raw headinclude_bottom}
Does that only work for some templates, or can I reuse this format to insert the template of my choice?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-15-2010, 01:54 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

It works if you have already rendered the template and then you need to register the variables for use in that template (it is actually calling a variable with the same name as a template, not calling a template).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-15-2010, 02:09 PM
dvsDave's Avatar
dvsDave dvsDave is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 107
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

My thought is to copy the postbit to a new template called postbit2, then put the above code in the postbit.

How can I render the two templates (postbit_legacy and postbit2), or choose which template to use then render one of them?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-15-2010, 02:11 PM
compwhizii compwhizii is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 44
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You need to fetch the remplate and register it in your code.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-16-2010, 05:28 AM
ragtek ragtek is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: austria, croatia
Posts: 1,630
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Stop!!!!
Just check, how vB is handling the postbit templatess

It's much easier to change $vbulletin->options['legacypostbit'] !
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-16-2010, 01:38 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

^^ What he said. That is the option that determines which postbit template gets used. So, toggle it depending on what the user has selected.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-16-2010, 03:13 PM
dvsDave's Avatar
dvsDave dvsDave is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 107
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ragtek View Post
Stop!!!!
Just check, how vB is handling the postbit templatess

It's much easier to change $vbulletin->options['legacypostbit'] !
That's what I was hoping to find in the first place. Unfortunately, I'm still learning the vBulletin template/coding system.

Where would I find this and how can I access the user's preferences to switch the option?

-David
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-16-2010, 05:50 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Did you use a User Profile Field for them to pick which to use? Just do a condition based on that field to change it for the user. Look in the showthread.php file to find a good hook. Or, if in debug mode, you can see the hook locations all listed on the bottom of the page in the order they are used. Sometimes I find myself just going down the list to see which is best.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.12836 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,252KB
  • Queries Executed 11 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (2)bbcode_code
  • (1)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (10)post_thanks_box
  • (10)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (10)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (10)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (10)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete