Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > vBulletin 4.x Modifications > vBulletin 4.x Template Modifications
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Twitter - Tweet Button in SHOWTHREAD Details »»
Twitter - Tweet Button in SHOWTHREAD
Version: 1.00, by BirdOPrey5 (Senior Member) BirdOPrey5 is offline
Developer Last Online: Aug 2023 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Show Thread Enhancements - Version: 4.0.x Rating:
Released: 08-13-2010 Last Update: 08-20-2010 Installs: 146
Template Edits
Re-useable Code Translations  
No support by the author.

This mod is now outdated and as a result support for new installs will be limited, if any.

-July 7, 2011-

Please instead use my new mod which offers Twitter and many more share options for VB 4.x without template edits.

WARNING - It appears vBulletin has changed the location of the Facebook Like button in version 4.1.2. As a result it is likely the code changes below will be different in 4.1.2 and beyond, I will not be able to support installs beginning with version 4.1.2 since my license stops at 4.0.8.


Twitter released their new TWEET button.

Live Demo: http://www.juot.net/forums/showthread.php?t=41185
(Note my Live Board is VB 3.8, but I have tested this on 4.0.4 and 4.0.6)
(Update I have for the time being replaced the Tweet button with the Add This share button on my live forum. See the screen shots instead.)

I have tested this in latest versions of IE / Firefox / Chrome / Safari / Opera and it should work in all.

This will show you how to add this simple code to your SHOWTHREAD template above the page navigation bar, if visible.

If you DO NOT use the built-in Facebook Like button do the following:

Go to the Admin CP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager
Edit your SHOWTHREAD Template

Find: (The first instance of)
Code:
		<vb:if condition="$pagenav">
			{vb:raw pagenav}
		</vb:if>
Above this add:
Code:
<vb:if condition="!in_array($GLOBALS[forumid], array(X, Y, Z))">
<div id="mytweetbutton" align="right" style="height:27px;">
<a href="http://twitter.com/share" class="twitter-share-button" data-count="horizontal" data-via="YOUR_TWITTER_USERNAME">Tweet</a><script type="text/javascript" src="http://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js"></script>
</div>
</vb:if>
Change the X, Y, Z in the first line to the forumid's of any private forums you may have. If a guest can't view a forum there is no reason to link a tweet to it. You can add as many or as few forumid's here as you need, just separate each with a comma.
Valid Examples:
<vb:if condition="!in_array($GLOBALS[forumid], array(2, 5, 9))">
<vb:if condition="!in_array($GLOBALS[forumid], array(7))">
<vb:if condition="!in_array($GLOBALS[forumid], array(2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8))">
If none of your forums are private or you want to enable this in every forum you can remove the lines:
Code:
<vb:if condition="!in_array($GLOBALS[forumid], array(X, Y, Z))">
and 
</vb:if>
Replace "YOUR_TWITTER_USERNAME" with your twitter username, it will be referenced in the tweet- but the tweet will not be from YOU, it will be from whoever hits the tweet button.

If you DO USE the built-in Facebook Like button do the following:

Find:
Code:
		{vb:raw fblikebutton}
Replace it with:
Code:
<div id="fb_likeframe" style="border: none; overflow: hidden; height: 27px; width: 95px; vertical-align: text-bottom; padding-top:1px;"><a href="http://twitter.com/share" class="twitter-share-button" data-count="horizontal" data-via="YOUR_TWITTER_USERNAME">Tweet</a><script type="text/javascript" src="http://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js"></script></div>{vb:raw fblikebutton}
Replace "YOUR_TWITTER_USERNAME" with your twitter username, it will be referenced in the tweet- but the tweet will not be from YOU, it will be from whoever hits the tweet button.

The Tweet button will now show up next to the Facebook Like button in anytime the Facebook Like button is displayed in a thread.

----

When you hit the Tweet button you will be given a box to type a message if you're logged in. If you're not logged in you will be asked to login or join, all within the pop-up window.

This button code will count the number of tweets people have made using it. For other options including the button with no counter visit: http://twitter.com/goodies/tweetbutton

The screen shots show the Tweet button both with and without the page navigation bar, and with the Facebook Like button.

Please click Install if you use this.

Download the .txt file for a copy of the install instructions. :up:

----

Known Issues- a few people have reported a 'slash' is missing in the URL submitted to Twitter on some boards. Other people have said URL's with non-english characters cause a URL error. The solution for both of these issues is in post #143 in this thread.

Also Twitter appears to be having widespread issues with the counter not working. Some sites it works, some it don't, sometimes it stops working, sometimes it starts working for no reason. If you find your count isn't working try the solution in post #147. If that doesn't work than disable your counter completely if you want by changing the word "horizontal" to "none" in the twitter code.

Download Now

File Type: txt tweet_button_vb4.txt (3.3 KB, 313 views)

Screenshots

File Type: jpg ss_tweet_vb4-1.jpg (91.2 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg ss_tweet_vb4-2.jpg (64.6 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg ss_tweet_vb4-3.jpg (71.9 KB, 0 views)

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #2  
Old 08-14-2010, 12:15 PM
CMSTemplateZ CMSTemplateZ is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 182
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Cheers for this.... i saw this on DP today.. looks like a handy little addon, i just want to use on the main page so i guess i just need to add the divs without the conditionals ?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-14-2010, 12:46 PM
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 10,610
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

If you want to add it to only your main forum page you'd edit the FORUMHOME template instead. I'd recommend finding the code:

Code:
{vb:raw navbar}
And Below this adding:
Code:
<div id="mytweetbutton" align="right" style="height:30px;">
<a href="http://twitter.com/share" class="twitter-share-button" data-count="horizontal" data-via="YOUR_TWITTER_USERNAME">Tweet</a><script type="text/javascript" src="http://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js"></script>
</div>
So you would not need the conditionals, correct.

Note- if you have the VB4 Suite and want to add it to your main page of the suite you'd have to edit some other template- I don't have the Suite so I can't help you with that.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-14-2010, 01:43 PM
CMSTemplateZ CMSTemplateZ is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 182
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Note- if you have the VB4 Suite and want to add it to your main page of the suite you'd have to edit some other template- I don't have the Suite so I can't help you with that.
Thanks bud for a quick reply... i worked it out.... See Here: http://battlefield3forums.com/content/

I added it to the start of the breadcrumb div and wrapped it in my own custom div to style it a little better... because the facebook like text color can not be changed it's kinda hard to see i will keep playing around with it.

Thanks for this, just hope people still click these buttons, now that every site seems to have them numbers have dropped alot, hopefully the tweet button gets people clicking it.

Cheers again for posting this
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-14-2010, 01:58 PM
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 10,610
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Looks Good.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-14-2010, 05:23 PM
baghdad4ever baghdad4ever is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: baghdad
Posts: 443
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

installed

but there is problem

it send this

http://www.baghdad4ever.netshowthread.php/299978

instead of this url

http://www.baghdad4ever.net/vb/showthread.php/299978

how to fix that?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-14-2010, 05:27 PM
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 10,610
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

If you go to vbulletin options -> Site Name / URL / Contact Details
are your forum URL and Homepage URL correct?
It looks like your forum url should be: http://www.baghdad4ever.net/vb/
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-14-2010, 05:30 PM
baghdad4ever baghdad4ever is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: baghdad
Posts: 443
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

hi

yes my friend i used http://www.baghdad4ever.net/vb

but i dont know why this problem occur

is there any modification to the code in order to enforce the button to take the forum url?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-14-2010, 05:45 PM
baghdad4ever baghdad4ever is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: baghdad
Posts: 443
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

i used this code

Code:
<div id="mytweetbutton" align="right" style="height:30px;">
<a href="http://twitter.com/share?url=http://www.baghdad4ever.net/vb/{vb:link thread, {vb:raw thread}}" class="twitter-share-button" data-count="horizontal" data-via="twitter_username">Tweet</a><script type="text/javascript" src="http://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js"></script>
</div>

is that ok?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-14-2010, 06:02 PM
BirdOPrey5's Avatar
BirdOPrey5 BirdOPrey5 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 10,610
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

It's OK if it works!

Another option is I see you have a facebook tag in the header/header include...
<meta property="og:url" content="YOUR CODE HERE" />
You could add the following line under that:
<link rel="canonical" href="YOUR CODE HERE" />

Use the same code you use for your facebook og:url tag in the canonical tag and that will override the URL the tweet button sends.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.13248 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,341KB
  • Queries Executed 24 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (8)bbcode_code
  • (1)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (10)post_thanks_box
  • (10)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (10)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (9)postbit
  • (4)postbit_attachment
  • (10)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (10)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_attachment
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete