Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > General > Member Archives
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Details »»

Version: , by netphreak (Guest)
Developer Last Online: Jan 1970 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: Unknown Rating:
Released: 08-04-2001 Last Update: Never Installs: 0
 
No support by the author.

If anyone can help me out, I'll be very thankful....

I try to make a drop-down box with all the names and e-mail addresses of the users of my board. One way of doing this, is by "hardcode" some new lines in member.php. Here's an example:

PHP Code:
// ######################## my new lines of code.... ########################

if ($action=="justatest") {
  include(
"./global.php");

$query "SELECT * FROM user ORDER BY username, email";
$result mysql_query($query);

// Determine the number of users

$number mysql_numrows($result);

// Create drop-down menu of all users

print "<table cellpadding=20 bgcolor=\"lightgrey\">
     <tr>
       <td>
        <form action=\"displayresults.php\" method=\"post\">
          <select name=\"userid\">
            <option value=\"\">Select a user</option>"
;
            for(
$i=0$i<$number$i++) {
                          
$userid mysql_result($result,$i,"userid");
                          
$username mysql_result($result,$i,"username");
                          
$email mysql_result($result,$i"email");

print 
"<option value=\"$userid\">$username - $email</option>";
  
   }

print 
"</select><input type=\"submit\" value=\"submit\" name=\"submit\">
        </form>
        </td>
      </tr>
    </table>"
;

   } 
Well, unless I didn't do any typos, this will work as intended. But from here the problem starts. Instead of the print command, I want to call a new template for the output. This makes everything much easier to customize. All the standard templates is called like this in member.php:

PHP Code:
eval("dooutput(\"".gettemplate("newtemplate")."\");"); 
I have successfully done this with several other new options for my users, but for some reason I am not able to get the correct result if I use while loops or ++ In the drop-down box example above, I only get the last user in the alphabet, which is the last record. How come??? I suspect another php file used to generate the templates interfering. Any ways around?

Please - if anyone have a clue, share your thoughts - even if it's just a wild guess... I've been struggling with this for sooooo long now.

Thank you

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #2  
Old 08-09-2001, 04:43 AM
netphreak
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Please, just post a wild guess if you're unsure. Or let me know if I explained it too bad.

Thank you.

-net
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-09-2001, 05:09 AM
Admin's Avatar
Admin Admin is offline
Coder
 
Join Date: Oct 2023
Location: Server
Posts: 1
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You will need another template, in this case named newtemplatebit, that will be used inside the loop.
In that template put
PHP Code:
<option value="$user[userid]">$user[username] - $bbuserinfo[email]</option
At the end you call the main template, newtemplate. In that template you put
PHP Code:
<table cellpadding=20 bgcolor="lightgrey">
     <
tr>
       <
td>
        <
form action="displayresults.php" method="post">
          <
select name="userid">
            <
option value="">Select a user</option>
            
$newtemplatebit
            
</select><input type="submit" value="submit" name="submit">
        </
form>
        </
td>
      </
tr>
    </
table
Hope I helped.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-10-2001, 06:06 PM
netphreak
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Aha! While using 2 templates, it works like a breeze.... But your example of newtemplatebit is not working, it must be $userid, $username and $email (as that's what I used in member.php. And it took me some time to find a way to call the template correct - a "dooutput" is not working.... I still have some problems to solve, but I guess I can figure it out on my own.

Thanks a million for your time
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-11-2001, 04:42 AM
Admin's Avatar
Admin Admin is offline
Coder
 
Join Date: Oct 2023
Location: Server
Posts: 1
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

dooutput is only done with the main template (newtemplate in this case). For the newtemplatebit it's a simple eval(), no dooutput.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.03691 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,252KB
  • Queries Executed 18 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (4)bbcode_php
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (5)post_thanks_box
  • (5)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (5)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (4)postbit
  • (2)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (5)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • postbit_imicons
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete