Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 2.x > vBulletin 2.x Full Releases
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Details »»

Version: , by VirtueTech VirtueTech is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2023 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: Unknown Rating:
Released: 07-29-2001 Last Update: Never Installs: 2
 
No support by the author.

Hello everyone,

I noticed that the IP Logged GIF or TEXT was just taking up some valuable icon space in my
posts for my registered members. Also the only people that use the IP icon/text are Admins,
Moderators, or Super Moderators.

So I just made a small hack to showthread.php and thought some of you might find this useful:

Hack Directions (tested on vb2.0.1)

In Showthread.php:
Find the following:
Code:
  if ($post[ip]!="") {
    if ($logip==2) {
      eval("\$post[iplogged] .= \"".gettemplate("postbit_ip_show")."\";");
    }
    if ($logip==1) {
      eval("\$post[iplogged] .= \"".gettemplate("postbit_ip_hidden")."\";");
    }
    if ($logip==0) {
      $post[iplogged]="";
    }
  } else {
    $post[iplogged]="";
  }
And replace it with:
Code:
  if ($post[ip]!="") {
    if ($logip==2) {
      eval("\$post[iplogged] .= \"".gettemplate("postbit_ip_show")."\";");
    }
    if ($logip==1 AND ($bbuserinfo['usergroupid']==6 or $bbuserinfo['usergroupid']==5 or $bbuserinfo['usergroupid']==95)) {
      eval("\$post[iplogged] .= \"".gettemplate("postbit_ip_hidden")."\";");
    } elseif ($logip==1 AND ($bbuserinfo['usergroupid']!=6 or $bbuserinfo['usergroupid']!=5 or $bbuserinfo['usergroupid']!=95)) {
      $post[iplogged]="";
    }
    if ($logip==0) {
      $post[iplogged]="";
    }
  } else {
    $post[iplogged]="";
  }
Next: Be sure to go through the function above and make sure that the 'usergroupid'
matches that of your Administrators, Moderators, and Super Moderators
for both the 'if' and 'elseif' statments in that script.

For example: my 'usergroupid' (s) looked like this:
$bbuserinfo['usergroupid']==5 (Super Mods)
$bbuserinfo['usergroupid']==6 (Mods)
$bbuserinfo['usergroupid']==95 (Admins)

Just something small to keep the administrative ideas away from the users as
much as possible to limit the users ideas of possible security threats as well as space
saving for the postbit template.

With IP Icon - What Admins/Mods/Super Mods See

Without IP Icon - What Members See

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #2  
Old 07-30-2001, 06:46 AM
Wayne Luke's Avatar
Wayne Luke Wayne Luke is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,694
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Here is how I did it... If you notice the code is a little simpler and it acheives an bonus effect in that moderators of the forum (including super moderators and administrators) don't see the "Report" icon I have set up for regular members.

PHP Code:
if (ismoderator(0,"",$bbuserinfo[userid])) {
  if (
$post[ip]!="") {
    if (
$logip==2) {
      eval(
"\$post[iplogged] .= \"".gettemplate("postbit_ip_show")."\";");
    }
    if (
$logip==1) {
      eval(
"\$post[iplogged] .= \"".gettemplate("postbit_ip_hidden")."\";");
    }
    if (
$logip==0) {
      
$post[iplogged]="";
    }
  } else {
    
$post[iplogged]="";
  }
  
$post[report]="";
} else {
  eval(
"\$post[report] .= \"".gettemplate("postbit_report")."\";");
  
$post[iplogged]="";

This does require a new template called "postbit_report" to hold the code for the report icon.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-30-2001, 06:50 AM
VirtueTech VirtueTech is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 189
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Good idea with the Report button. I'll implement that.

Except you need to change your code a bit so that if the Admin chooses to show IP's publicly....on an intranet maybe.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-30-2001, 07:00 AM
Wayne Luke's Avatar
Wayne Luke Wayne Luke is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,694
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Actually it only tries to determine if the IP should be shown if the user is a moderator. If they are it will follow whatever settings are made under options.

If you look, the first line includes a call to "ismoderator()" this function returns true if the user is a moderator. You can find it in admin/functions.php. Makes it a lot easier to find appropriate moderator permissions without trying to remember user groups and permission levels or whatnot.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-30-2001, 07:52 AM
VirtueTech VirtueTech is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 189
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Correct me if I'm wrong but in your code...if $logip==2 then only your mods can view the IP...when $logip==2 sets the "view IP's to public viewing".

No big deal just a thought.

Thanks wluke for optimizing my code for me and teaching me about that ismoderator function. Very useful.

Now I'm off to go optimize some other code of mine where the usergroupid lines may range forever onward.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-03-2001, 08:32 AM
Admin's Avatar
Admin Admin is offline
Coder
 
Join Date: Oct 2023
Location: Server
Posts: 1
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

It worked fine with v2.0.0, but I can't find that code in showthread.php of v2.0.3.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-03-2001, 08:54 AM
VirtueTech VirtueTech is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 189
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I haven't upgraded to vb2.0.3 yet. I just upgraded the sessions.php script like they said for the security issue.

When I upgrade I will be sure to let you know. Sorry
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-03-2001, 09:03 AM
Admin's Avatar
Admin Admin is offline
Coder
 
Join Date: Oct 2023
Location: Server
Posts: 1
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

The code it probably somewhere else, or on a template, I'll (try to) find it myself.
Thanks anyway.

Nice hack.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-05-2001, 11:55 AM
Admin's Avatar
Admin Admin is offline
Coder
 
Join Date: Oct 2023
Location: Server
Posts: 1
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Anyone found out how to install this hack on v2.0.3?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-05-2001, 12:00 PM
Wayne Luke's Avatar
Wayne Luke Wayne Luke is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,694
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You need to change the postbit function in admin/functions.php.

It is the second function in the file. The code is actually the same, just in a different file.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05784 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,306KB
  • Queries Executed 23 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (2)bbcode_code
  • (1)bbcode_php
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (10)post_thanks_box
  • (10)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (10)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (9)postbit
  • (10)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (10)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete