Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 4 Discussion > vB4 Programming Discussions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-24-2009, 12:54 PM
Vaupell's Avatar
Vaupell Vaupell is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Esbjerg, Denmark
Posts: 1,036
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default eval template + fetch_template

Hi guys,,

Trying to figure out how precisely vb4 works compared to vb3.
cause not many syntaxes i used to use in *.php appear to be
working on vb4, when fetching and sending data between
teplates and db..

as a exsample, to experiment and learn a little
ive setup a small test product..

Goal : list userid's, username's, emails
Going through each step and makeing my notes ofcourse.

templates and php all set to go, except
im getting a error when i try to eval the data and fetch a template..

Error is fetch_template('$dbtestrow') . '");
PHP Code:
if ($_REQUEST['do'] == 'main')
{

$emailresult =$vbulletin->db->query_read("SELECT userid, username, email FROM " TABLE_PREFIX "user ORDER BY userid");
while (
$row $vbulletin->db->fetch_array($emailresult))
  {
      
$userid htmlspecialchars_uni($row['userid']);
    
$username htmlspecialchars_uni($row['username']);
    
$usermail htmlspecialchars_uni($row['email']);
    
    eval(
'$dbtestdata("' fetch_template('$dbtestrow') . '");');
  }

// original print : 
// eval('print_output("' . fetch_template('dbtesttemplate) . '");');

// vb4 template ; may need to be changed.. 
 
$templater vB_Template::create('dbtesttemplate');
 
$templater->register_page_templates();
 
$templater->register('navbar'$navbar);
 
$templater->register('pagetitle'$pagetitle);
 
print_output($templater->render());

so when i try to run it, i get the error that eval needs to be replaced with vb:template

Error :
Warning: fetch_template() calls should be replaced by the vB_Template class in [path]/includes/functions.php on line

cant find info on vb_template()..

help..

question on vbcom How to upgrade vb3 code
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-24-2009, 01:38 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You just need to change it to be like what you did for the template dbtesttemplate - you create it, register variables for it, then render it. Only difference is, you won't do print_output, you'll just assign it to a varialbe:
PHP Code:
$dbtestdata .= $templater->render(); 
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-24-2009, 02:04 PM
Vaupell's Avatar
Vaupell Vaupell is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Esbjerg, Denmark
Posts: 1,036
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

since im creating an array, would i then need to put the variable register inside the
while loop, or just outside just before it render.. ?

im creating the table rows with the template dbtestrow
template dbtestrow :
Code:
	<tr align="center">
           <td>$userid </td><td>$username</td> <td>$usermail</td>
	</tr>
and i call the eval function from the main template

part of dbtesttemplate :

Code:
<br /><table align="center" border="1">
<tr class="blockhead"><td>Welcome to test database page</td></tr>
<tr></tr><tr></tr>

<!-- get rows -->
$dbtestdata

<!-- close table -->
</table><br />
so my new php would be something like

PHP Code:
while ($row $vbulletin->db->fetch_array($emailresult))
  {
      
$userid htmlspecialchars_uni($row['userid']);
    
$username htmlspecialchars_uni($row['username']);
    
$usermail htmlspecialchars_uni($row['email']);
    
  
// vb3 :  eval('$dbtestdata("' . fetch_template('$dbtestrow') . '");');
  
$dbtestdata vb_template::create($dbtestrow);

  }
  
$dbtestdata->register('userid'$userid);  
  
$dbtestdata->register('username'$username);  
  
$dbtestdata->register('usermail'$usermail);  
 
 
$templater vB_Template::create('dbtesttemplate');
 
$templater->register_page_templates();
 
$templater->register('navbar'$navbar);
 
$templater->register('pagetitle'$pagetitle);
 
print_output($templater->render()); 
or did i (excuse my expression) fall of the wagon in the last cornor.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-24-2009, 02:14 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You cannot register multiple variables like that. You need to do it like you did for the other template at the bottom. And,you still forgot the line I told you to add. Oh, and if you are then using that template in your bottom template, you need to register the variable there also.

Have you seen this - [vB4] Rendering templates and registering variables - a short guide
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.03544 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,213KB
  • Queries Executed 11 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (2)bbcode_code
  • (3)bbcode_php
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (4)post_thanks_box
  • (4)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (4)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (4)postbit
  • (4)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (4)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete