Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Article Depository > Read An Article > vBulletin 4 Articles
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
[HOW TO - vB4] Making Boxes Collapsible
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,987

 

Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscription
cellarius cellarius is offline 08-22-2009, 10:00 PM

Start:

OK, here's a small guide how to make a boxes/layers collapsible. Let's say, you have a simple div-container you want to make collapsible. The css ids and classes assigned to the elements are completely arbitrary.

Code:
<div id="test" class="anything">
    <h2 class="blockhead">
        <span>Collapse it!</span>
    </h2>
    <div class="blockrow">
        <p>Let's add a button to collapse this box :-)</p>
     </div>
</div>



Step 1: Adding "collapse"-class to surrounding container


Code:
<div id="test" class="anything collapse">
The next line in the example establishes the container's header, in this case by means of a level 2 heading. This header will not be collapsed with the rest of the box but remain visible. This line can be left untouched.


Step 2: Adding id to what we want to hide

As a second step we have to add an unique id to the element that contains what we want to dissapear. Note: This element can be almost any html-tag that can be hidden (div, ul, ol, p, a - you get the idea). Note also: The element has to have an id that needs to be unique not only on the page, but on the whole site. So make sure you use some unique prefix, suffix or something like that (marked in blue).

Code:
<div class="blockrow" id="cel_dummy">



Step 3: Adding collapse-button

Inside the header add the code for the collapse-button. You'll have to adapt it according to the id you assigned in step 2 (adaptions needed marked in blue). Make sure the part you add inside the image name variable is not the exact same as the id you added to the container that you want to hide. If you add the exact same, the button will vanish under certain circumstances, too:

Code:
<a class="collapse" id="collapse_cel_dummy" href="{vb:raw relpath}#top"><img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_button}/collapse{vb:raw vbcollapse.collapseimg_cel_dummy_img}_40b.png" alt="{vb:rawphrase collapse_this_category}" /></a>



Result:

In the end, the code will look like that:

Code:
<div id="test" class="block collapse">
    <h2 class="blockhead">
        <span>Collapse it!</span>
        <a class="collapse" id="collapse_cel_dummy" href="{vb:raw relpath}#top"><img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_button}/collapse{vb:raw vbcollapse.collapseimg_cel_dummy_img}_40b.png" alt="{vb:rawphrase collapse_this_category}" /></a>
    </h2>
    <div class="blockrow"  id="cel_dummy">
        <p>Let's add a button to collapse this box :-)</p>
     </div>
</div>



Collapsed as default? Yes, but...

There is a way default the box to be collapsed by default. But this it's quick and dirty, and really not recommended to use. Basically, you have to add display:none to the style of the collapsing container, like so:

Code:
<div class="blockrow"  id="cel_dummy" style="display: none;">
Now, there are two major drawbacks:
  • any user with javascript disabled will not be able to open the box, and the box will show the wrong icon.
  • vB at this point only saves information on closed boxes to a cookie; so if you reload the page, the box will always be closed, because vB will not remember that it has been opened.


Collapse more than one box at a time? Yes, but...

Now, functionally this is perfectly possible - just use the same id for every element you want to collapse together. But beware: for valid code you can't use duplicate ids on a page. So if you do that, your code will break xhtml validation!

I hope this will be useful for some of you!
-c

Please note that this article has been written first for alpha 1 version and been updated for beta 3. There still may be changes until gold. For example the button used is clearly marked as beta (_40b in the file name).
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-20-2009, 12:43 PM
SİMAR's Avatar
SİMAR SİMAR is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Germany~Offenburg
Posts: 270
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-05-2009, 09:19 AM
xman_79's Avatar
xman_79 xman_79 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Romania
Posts: 65
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks,

if the user has JavaScript disabled, we can add :

HTML Code:
<a class="collapse" id="collapse_cel_dummy" href="{vb:raw relpath}#top"><img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_button}/collapse{vb:raw vbcollapse.collapseimg_cel_dummy_img}_40b.png" alt="{vb:rawphrase collapse_this_category}" /></a>
<noscript>You need to have JavaScript enabled so that you can use this ...</noscript>
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-29-2009, 04:07 AM
LifesGreatestGift's Avatar
LifesGreatestGift LifesGreatestGift is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Louisville, KY USA
Posts: 885
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Do I have to use "class="collapse"" in my collapse/expand link?

Because when I do, it puts the link at the very top right of the post's and no matter where I move the link code in the template, it will always place it at the top right (near the inline moderation radio button area). And if I choose not to use class "collapse" then when I click the link it no longer collapse's/expand's but instead jumps to the top of the page.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-29-2009, 05:57 AM
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,987
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Yes, you need to use the collapse class. If you want to change locations etc., override it's settings or add an own class that overrides them.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-29-2009, 06:04 AM
LifesGreatestGift's Avatar
LifesGreatestGift LifesGreatestGift is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Louisville, KY USA
Posts: 885
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Whenever I change the class for a custom one I made the expand/collapse function no longer works. See my thread here:

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=231538
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-29-2009, 06:05 AM
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,987
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You can assign more than one class to an element, like so: class="collapse yourclass".
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-29-2009, 06:08 AM
LifesGreatestGift's Avatar
LifesGreatestGift LifesGreatestGift is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Louisville, KY USA
Posts: 885
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Here is what Im working with:

Quote:
<a class="collapse" style="text-decoration: none; color: grey;" id="collapse_cel_{vb:raw post.postid}" href="{vb:raw relpath}#">My System Specs <img src="http://www.WEBSITE.com/forum/images/styles/TW7S_vB4/images/arrow_down.gif"></a>
<noscript>You need to have JavaScript enabled so that you can use this ...</noscript>


<div id="cel_{vb:raw post.postid}" style="<--removed code--> display:none;">
If I change the <a class="collapse" to anything but collapse, it is no longer collapsible, its like there is a javascript that will only collapse stuff with that class.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-29-2009, 06:28 AM
cellarius's Avatar
cellarius cellarius is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,987
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Having a second class works for me. Just tested once again using Firebug to add a second class to a standard collapsible box in vB4. Having "collapse test" on the a-tag around the collapse-button in posting pormissions box on showthread leaves functionality intact.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-01-2010, 06:30 PM
SledgeHead SledgeHead is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 56
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Awesome! How would I go about adding a border and changing the background color? Also, I noticed the collapse button isn't centered vertically, but instead it touches the bottom. How do I adjust this?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.06798 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,322KB
  • Queries Executed 24 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (6)bbcode_code
  • (1)bbcode_html
  • (1)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_article
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (10)post_thanks_box
  • (9)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (10)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (10)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (9)postbit
  • (10)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (10)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete