Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.7 > vBulletin 3.7 Template Modifications
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
UKBL ~ Timed Rotating Ad Banners Details »»
UKBL ~ Timed Rotating Ad Banners
Version: 1.00, by UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2012 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Forum Home Enhancements - Version: 3.7.5 Rating:
Released: 01-15-2009 Last Update: Never Installs: 6
Template Edits
Re-useable Code Translations  
No support by the author.

UKBL ~ Timed Rotating Ad Banners

Live Demo http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum

I've been wanting to display some banners on my site but i didn't just want the same banner just showing until you go to another page or hit the refresh button, Some people may stay on the forum home for quite some time, This is not the ideal way to display banners, as they'll only see the one ad in all that time.

Well thats about to change with UKBL ~ Timed Rotating Ad Banners

Now as Admin you'll be able to make some serious money by showing a wider variety of banners which change after so many seconds, as opposed to changing on refreshes.

You can sign up to a number of affiliate sites and download banners to your forums, a list of affiliate sites to help you is at the end of this post.



To install this to your forums is so easy

First you need to edit the code to suit your requirements
Copy the following code to a text editor like notepad or word

Code:
<html>
<head>
<title>UKBL ~ 10 Second Banner Rotator</title>
</head>
<body>
<DIV ALIGN=CENTER>
<script language="JavaScript">
<!--
function adArray() {
 for (i=0; i*2<adArray.arguments.length; i++) {
  this[i] = new Object();
  this[i].src = adArray.arguments[i*2];
  this[i].href = adArray.arguments[i*2+1];
 }
 this.length = i;
}
function getAdNum() {
 dat = new Date();
 dat = (dat.getTime()+"").charAt(8);
 if (dat.length == 1)
  ad_num = dat%ads.length;
 else
  ad_num = 0;
 return ad_num;
}
 var ads = new adArray(
"http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/rr114/ukbusinesslive/1-3.gif",
"http://aavaninsurance.at/ukbusinesslive",
"http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/rr114/ukbusinesslive/banner11.jpg",
"http://www.ukbusinesslive.co.uk/forum",
"http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/rr114/ukbusinesslive/2-2.gif",
"http://tradebusiness.at/ukbusinesslive",
"http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/rr114/ukbusinesslive/7-2.gif",
"http://skytv.at/ukbusinesslive"
);

var ad_num = getAdNum(); 

document.write('<table cellpadding=0 cellspacing=1 border=0><tr><td '
+'align="left">'
+'<A href="'+ads[ad_num].href+'"><IMG SRC="'+ads[ad_num].src+'" '
+'height="60" width="468" border="0" name="js_ad"></a></td></tr></table>');

link_num = document.links.length-1;

function rotateBanner() {
 if (document.images) {
  ad_num = (ad_num+1)%ads.length;
  document.js_ad.src = ads[ad_num].src;
  document.links[link_num].href = ads[ad_num].href;
  setTimeout("rotateBanner()",10000);
 }
}
setTimeout("rotateBanner()",10000);

// -->
</script>
</DIV>
</body>
</html>
The look for the following....

Code:
"http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/rr114/ukbusinesslive/1-3.gif",
"http://aavaninsurance.at/ukbusinesslive",
Basically what you see is what you get, the top line is the url of your image, you can save it to forums/images/misc or even photobucket, like my example above, The second line is the url to the site, Thats its just repeat this for all the ad banners you have and write up the code. Easy. You can use 2 banners or 200 the choice is yours






Then once you've edited your banners and their URL's you need to scroll down to..

Code:
  setTimeout("rotateBanner()",10000);
 }
}
setTimeout("rotateBanner()",10000);
Now you need to change the time delay, its in milliseconds, don't forget that, so if you want your ads to change every 10 seconds like the code above, you leave it on 10000, if you want 8 seconds, you need to change the code to 8000 in both lines, likewise 5 seconds = 5000

Then just save the file

To install to your Site.

For ease of application i've installed it in the header, right at the end, so heres what to do...

ACP> Style Manager > Your site's style > header

Just copy and paste the entire code that you've just edited and paste it at the very end of the header template, Click save. Thats its

if you experiment you can add these banners to the footer, in the posts and in different forums, Try and see what works for you the most

If you want to try the code first i've included a few banner gif's in the zipped file so you can try.

Affiliate Schemes that Pay YOU!! Some are UK based but have US section too

Commision Junction = http://www.cj.com/
Buy.at = http://buy.at/ (UK) http://www.advertising.com/buyat/ (US)

Plus loads more and details on the zip file

Give it a go and see if it works for you, remember to leave a comment and if i can help at all, i will.

If you only want to show banners to un registered members or guests then you could add a condition at the begining like this

Code:
<if condition="is_member_of($bbuserinfo, X,X)">
With X the id of the usergoup that you want to show the banners to, don forget the add the </if> tag at the end of the script

Please Remember to click installed

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #2  
Old 01-16-2009, 02:45 PM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Reserved
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-17-2009, 01:11 PM
Videx's Avatar
Videx Videx is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3,085
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

An interesting first step. But to make it fly you really need to make it into a vb 'product'. Remember - most vb admins are not coders, so all the copy and paste stuff has to go.

Additionally, a product will reinstall itself after an update, and check for updates to itself. Nobody wants to have to re-edit templates manually every time they upgrade.

There are plenty of hooks in vb now, so where to place the ads should be as easy as a list of check boxes.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-17-2009, 01:54 PM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Videx View Post
An interesting first step. But to make it fly you really need to make it into a vb 'product'. Remember - most vb admins are not coders, so all the copy and paste stuff has to go.

Additionally, a product will reinstall itself after an update, and check for updates to itself. Nobody wants to have to re-edit templates manually every time they upgrade.

There are plenty of hooks in vb now, so where to place the ads should be as easy as a list of check boxes.
Thanks for the tips, I'll look into that, I'm still learning, so please bear with me, But since its a really simple add on as oppose to edit, i can't really see a problem. I saw many rotating banner ads here that are quite complexed, mine is just a simple copy and paste, easy to add, easy to take off.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-10-2009, 12:14 AM
Jeff G Jeff G is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 6
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Works great & just what I was looking for, thanks, all the others seem to be for the top header & not for placing anywhere you wanted.
Only question I have is, how do I put in a "target=_blank" statement so it opens up in a new window.

Thanks again, nice banner mod.

never mind figured it out, in your source code:

+'<A href="'+ads[ad_num].href+'"><IMG SRC="'+ads[ad_num].src+'" '

I added this & it worked fine

+'<A href="'+ads[ad_num].href+'" + target= _blank><IMG SRC="'+ads[ad_num].src+'" '
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-14-2011, 06:55 PM
lfreem2 lfreem2 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 13
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

This works well.

Instead of putting this in the header, how would one put it just below the header, but right above the forums?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-20-2011, 04:55 PM
Mellumen Mellumen is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You can put it in template called "navbar"
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-05-2012, 12:16 AM
lfreem2 lfreem2 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 13
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

How can I code this to have two banners appear side by side instead of just a single one?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04408 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,282KB
  • Queries Executed 21 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (4)bbcode_code
  • (1)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (8)post_thanks_box
  • (8)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (8)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (7)postbit
  • (8)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (8)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete