Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 3 Discussion > vB3 Programming Discussions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-28-2008, 09:02 AM
Jaxel Jaxel is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,160
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default Problems with data and product installation...

I'm working with the video directory mod and I am constantly editing it... thus re-installing it to verify the changes... The problem is, everytime I re-install the product, it wipes out one of the settings... All the other settings remain intact; but this single setting keeps getting wiped out. Why?

Code:
			<setting varname="videodirectory_limits" displayorder="50">
				<datatype>free</datatype>
				<optioncode><![CDATA[";
$values = @unserialize($setting['value']);
$values = @array_map('htmlspecialchars_uni', $values);
$right .= "
<fieldset class=\"fieldset\">
		<legend>$settingphrase[setting_videodirectory_limits_title]</legend>
		<table border=\"0\" width=\"100%\" cellpadding=\"1\" cellspacing=\"1\">
		<tr>
			<td>$vbphrase[limit_recent_videos]</td>
			<td><input type=\"text\" name=\"setting[$setting[varname]][recent]\" value=\"$values[recent]\" class=\"bginput\" size=\"40\" dir=\"ltr\" tabindex=\"1\" /></td>
		</tr>
		<tr>
			<td>$vbphrase[limit_top_rated_videos]</td>
			<td><input type=\"text\" name=\"setting[$setting[varname]][top_rated]\" value=\"$values[top_rated]\" class=\"bginput\" size=\"40\" dir=\"ltr\" tabindex=\"1\" /></td>
		</tr>
		<tr>
			<td>$vbphrase[limit_most_viewed_videos]</td>
			<td><input type=\"text\" name=\"setting[$setting[varname]][most_viewed]\" value=\"$values[most_viewed]\" class=\"bginput\" size=\"40\" dir=\"ltr\" tabindex=\"1\" /></td>
		</tr>
		<tr>
			<td>$vbphrase[limit_countributers]</td>
			<td><input type=\"text\" name=\"setting[$setting[varname]][contributors]\" value=\"$values[contributors]\" class=\"bginput\" size=\"40\" dir=\"ltr\" tabindex=\"1\" /></td>
		</tr>
		<tr>
			<td>$vbphrase[limit_profileblock_videos]</td>
			<td><input type=\"text\" name=\"setting[$setting[varname]][profileblock_videos]\" value=\"$values[profileblock_videos]\" class=\"bginput\" size=\"40\" dir=\"ltr\" tabindex=\"1\" /></td>
		</tr>
		</table>
</fieldset>
<fieldset class=\"fieldset\">
		<legend>$settingphrase[setting_videodirectory_limits_title]</legend>
		<table border=\"0\" width=\"100%\" cellpadding=\"1\" cellspacing=\"1\">
		<tr>
			<td>$vbphrase[limit_related_videos]</td>
			<td><input type=\"text\" name=\"setting[$setting[varname]][related]\" value=\"$values[related]\" class=\"bginput\" size=\"40\" dir=\"ltr\" tabindex=\"1\" /></td>
		</tr>
		<tr>
			<td>$vbphrase[limit_random_videos]</td>
			<td><input type=\"text\" name=\"setting[$setting[varname]][random]\" value=\"$values[random]\" class=\"bginput\" size=\"40\" dir=\"ltr\" tabindex=\"1\" /></td>
		</tr>
		<tr>
			<td>$vbphrase[limit_random_samecat_videos]</td>
			<td><input type=\"text\" name=\"setting[$setting[varname]][random_samecat]\" value=\"$values[random_samecat]\" class=\"bginput\" size=\"40\" dir=\"ltr\" tabindex=\"1\" /></td>
		</tr>
		<tr>
			<td>$vbphrase[limit_best_rated_videos]</td>
			<td><input type=\"text\" name=\"setting[$setting[varname]][bestrated]\" value=\"$values[bestrated]\" class=\"bginput\" size=\"40\" dir=\"ltr\" tabindex=\"1\" /></td>
		</tr>
		<tr>
			<td>$vbphrase[limit_best_rated_samecat_videos]</td>
			<td><input type=\"text\" name=\"setting[$setting[varname]][bestrated_samecat]\" value=\"$values[bestrated_samecat]\" class=\"bginput\" size=\"40\" dir=\"ltr\" tabindex=\"1\" /></td>
		</tr>
		</table>
</fieldset>]]></optioncode>
				<defaultvalue><![CDATA[a:10:{s:6:"recent";i:8;s:9:"top_rated";i:8;s:11:"most_viewed";i:8;s:12:"contributors";i:20;s:19:"profileblock_videos";i:5;s:7:"related";i:2;s:6:"random";i:5;s:14:"random_samecat";i:0;s:9:"bestrated";i:0;s:17:"bestrated_samecat";i:5;}]]></defaultvalue>
			</setting>
Looking into the database, after installation, the data changes from the serialized data to "Array". I assume that is because the data is unserialized during installation and it doesn't serialize it back when its done. Any way to fix this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-02-2009, 11:04 AM
Jaxel Jaxel is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,160
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Anyone have any ideas for me?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2009, 11:18 AM
UKBusinessLive UKBusinessLive is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Essex, United Kingdom
Posts: 1,637
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I think you'll be best getting an answer from the Video Directory mod thread.

People won't know about this unless they've installed it, and they can be found at the above thread

Good Luck
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-12-2009, 05:08 PM
Jaxel Jaxel is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,160
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I dont think this is an error with the mod itself, I think something is missing with the whole serialization thing... I'm wondering what is missing, so I can put it in.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-12-2009, 05:13 PM
Bellardia Bellardia is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 378
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

There error is caused when you tried to install the product, thus the error is created by the product.

There's nothing wrong with the serialization function, there could be an error in how the coder used it.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-13-2009, 01:06 AM
Jaxel Jaxel is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,160
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bellardia View Post
There error is caused when you tried to install the product, thus the error is created by the product.

There's nothing wrong with the serialization function, there could be an error in how the coder used it.
thats what I mean... something is wrong with the way the original coder is using the serialization function...

That being said, I don't understand why the code I posted in the first post would empty out the currently existing settings in the settings table. When you "upgrade" a mod, its not supposed to clear out your existing settings. Why is this setting not maintained? Thats what I am asking.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-13-2009, 01:29 AM
Bellardia Bellardia is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 378
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Best place to find out why a coder did what he did is to ask him yourself

Best practice is to post mod issues in the mod thread, no one can help you better than the creator himself. Perhaps it's a mistake he missed when he was making it, bringing it to his attention would help him fix it.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-13-2009, 04:26 AM
Dismounted's Avatar
Dismounted Dismounted is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 15,047
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

There should be an associated plugin that serialises back the data. It should be in a hook called admin_options_processing (or something like that, I'm pulling this out of my head).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-14-2009, 04:38 PM
Jaxel Jaxel is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,160
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dismounted View Post
There should be an associated plugin that serialises back the data. It should be in a hook called admin_options_processing (or something like that, I'm pulling this out of my head).
Lol, no offense Dismounted... but you're really bad at explaining things.

Okay, there is a hook for serializing back the data. How do I use it for when I am installing a mod?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-15-2009, 04:09 AM
Dismounted's Avatar
Dismounted Dismounted is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 15,047
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaxel View Post
Lol, no offense Dismounted... but you're really bad at explaining things.
In my mind, every one here is at least slightly proficient in PHP and I explain as such. However, this is most of the time not the case now. (No offence intended. )
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaxel View Post
Okay, there is a hook for serializing back the data. How do I use it for when I am installing a mod?
I'm not even sure if an installation even touches the settings (if the product already exists), however, you will need to find the installation procedure and see if the settings are touched. If they are, use the code you found before to correct the behaviour.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04444 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,262KB
  • Queries Executed 11 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (1)bbcode_code
  • (4)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (10)post_thanks_box
  • (10)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (10)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (10)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (10)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete