Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Article Depository > Read An Article > vBulletin 3 Articles
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Create checkbox group at your hack's options (usergroup selection for example)
FractalizeR's Avatar
FractalizeR
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 368

 

Russia, Moscow
Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscription
FractalizeR FractalizeR is offline 08-06-2008, 10:00 PM

Hello.

In this article I will show how to create a checkbox group in your hack's options. It's easy. Just do the following:

1. Create an option. Datatype validation type = free.

2. Enter the following code to Option code:
Code:
" . eval('$options=""; 
$fritems = array(
	"Test1Code" => "Test option checkbox",
	"Test2Code" => "Another test option checkbox",
);
foreach($fritems AS $fritem_id => $fritem_name)
{
	$options .= "\\t\\t<label for=\\"setting[$setting[varname]]$fritem_id\\" title=\\"item id: $fritem_id\\"><input type=\\"checkbox\\" tabindex=\\"1\\" name=\\"setting[$setting[varname]]"."[]\\" id=\\"setting[$setting[varname]][$fritem_id]\\" value=\\"$fritem_id\\"" . iif(strpos(",$setting[value],", ",$fritem_id,") !== false, \' checked="checked"\') . iif($vbulletin->debug, " title=\\"name=&quot;setting[$setting[varname]]&quot;\\"") . " />$fritem_name</label><br />\\n";
}
return "<span class=\\"smallfont\\">\\n$options\\t</span>";') . "<input type=\"hidden\" name=\"setting[$setting[varname]][]\" value=\"-1\" />
3. Save option. Now you will see your group of checkboxes. You can add more items to $fritems array. Array key will be the code of the option. Array value is the text to display near checkbox. Please note: all strings added to $fritems array should be double-quoted (because all there is inside single-quoted eval function) or, if you need single-quotes, escape them.


4. Now create a admin_options_processing hook with the following code:
PHP Code:
if (is_array($settings['my_setting_name']))
{
    
$settings['my_setting_name'] = implode(','$settings['my_setting_name']);


5. That's all. Now $vbulletin->settings['my_setting_name'] will be a string like "Test1Code,Test1Code" depending on what user checked at options page.

A little moment on option text localization. Instead of
PHP Code:
$fritems = array(
    
"Test1Code" => "Test option checkbox",
    
"Test2Code" => "Another test option checkbox",
); 
you can write
PHP Code:
$fritems = array(
    
"Test1Code" => $settingphrase["my_setting_phrase_name1"],
    
"Test2Code" => $settingphrase["my_setting_phrase_name2"]
); 
Just create phrases at VBulletin settings group with names my_setting_phrase_name1 and my_setting_phrase_name1:

Code:
<phrasetype name="vBulletin Settings" fieldname="vbsettings">
	<phrase name="my_setting_phrase_name1" date="1218041520" username="FractalizeR" version=""><![CDATA[Test option checkbox]]></phrase>
	<phrase name="my_setting_phrase_name2" date="1218040714" username="FractalizeR" version=""><![CDATA[Another test option checkbox]]></phrase>
</phrasetype>
Now a small example on how to list all usergroups and allow user to check some usergroups (take this text to Option code):

Code:
" . eval('$options =""; 
foreach($vbulletin->usergroupcache AS $usergroupid => $usergroup)
{
	$options .= "\\t\\t<label for=\\"setting[$setting[varname]]$usergroupid\\" title=\\"usergroupid: $usergroupid\\"><input type=\\"checkbox\\" tabindex=\\"1\\" name=\\"setting[$setting[varname]]"."[]\\" id=\\"setting[$setting[varname]]$usergroupid\\" value=\\"$usergroupid\\"" . iif(strpos(",$setting[value],", ",$usergroupid,") !== false, \' checked="checked"\') . iif($vbulletin->debug, " title=\\"name=&quot;setting[$setting[varname]]&quot;\\"") . " />$usergroup[title]</label><br />\\n";
}
return "<span class=\\"smallfont\\">\\n$options\\t</span>";') . "<input type=\"hidden\" name=\"setting[$setting[varname]][]\" value=\"-1\" />
All comments are welcome!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Demo.jpg (52.8 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-14-2008, 04:06 PM
Stagehandspace Stagehandspace is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 85
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Just what i been looking for, shame I havent got a clue..lol..

cool tut tho'
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-15-2008, 03:23 PM
ZomgStuff ZomgStuff is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 469
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Can you provide a screenshot of how this would look?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-15-2008, 05:18 PM
FractalizeR's Avatar
FractalizeR FractalizeR is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Russia, Moscow
Posts: 368
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Attached to post
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-15-2008, 05:20 PM
Reeve of shinra's Avatar
Reeve of shinra Reeve of shinra is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,896
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

/bookmarked

this is handy to have!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-23-2008, 04:32 PM
Antivirus's Avatar
Antivirus Antivirus is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Black Lagoon
Posts: 1,090
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Fractalizer, very nice! I am wondering however why you don't just loop through each usergroup and call vbulletin's print_checkbox_row() function to handle the checkbox creation. It's located within adminfunctions.php
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-23-2008, 06:33 PM
FractalizeR's Avatar
FractalizeR FractalizeR is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Russia, Moscow
Posts: 368
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antivirus View Post
Fractalizer, very nice! I am wondering however why you don't just loop through each usergroup and call vbulletin's print_checkbox_row() function to handle the checkbox creation. It's located within adminfunctions.php
I am not sure May be because this method was extracted from one hack a long time ago. And after some time I extended it a bit and decided to publish a how-to.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-24-2008, 06:04 AM
veenuisthebest's Avatar
veenuisthebest veenuisthebest is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: India
Posts: 1,416
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks for this tutorial.

in step 4 i.e.

PHP Code:
if (is_array($settings['my_setting_name']))
{
    
$settings['my_setting_name'] = implode(','$settings['my_setting_name']);

What to write in place of "my_setting_name"and how to check which options are checked from within php page.

I also wanted to know how to use this option code
bitfield:nocache|allowedbbcodesfull

This bitfield type code automatically generates a set of check boxes of allowed bbcodes to choose from. Now how to implement onto our page.

Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-24-2008, 08:39 AM
FractalizeR's Avatar
FractalizeR FractalizeR is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Russia, Moscow
Posts: 368
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

my_setting_name is the setting name you provided when creating setting. As for bitfield - I am not sure it is supported. Where is this example from?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 09-24-2008, 09:13 AM
veenuisthebest's Avatar
veenuisthebest veenuisthebest is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: India
Posts: 1,416
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

thanks for your reply !

alright so $settings['my_setting_name'] is the field setting name, fine.

1. And in the option code I see "setting[$setting[varname]", does varname needs to be replaced by something ?

2. How do I check for the checked options from the php page ? Like for boolean we do :-

PHP Code:
if($vbulletin->options['mysetting_enable']
{
        
enabled true;
}
else
{
        
enabled false;

How to achieve similar for checkbox ?

3. umm.. not sure what you mean by bitfield supported. See in admincp->Social Group Options and Album Options and Visitor Message options. They all have a setting of "Allowed BBCODES", their option code is set to bitfield:nocache|allowedbbcodesfull and it automatically outputs a set of checkboxes of bbcodes.
I did the same and it works but as in my 2nd ques, how do I check it ?

Thank you
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05216 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,330KB
  • Queries Executed 24 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (3)bbcode_code
  • (5)bbcode_php
  • (1)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_article
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (10)post_thanks_box
  • (1)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (10)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (10)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (9)postbit
  • (1)postbit_attachment
  • (10)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (10)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_attachment
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete