Go Back   vb.org Archive > Community Discussions > Forum and Server Management
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-02-2008, 02:37 PM
TechGuy TechGuy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Waynesboro, PA USA
Posts: 55
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default DB Slave Search Server

I am attempting to use a MySQL slave server for search only. I have followed the advice in other threads in the forums and have modified my config.php as:

$config['Database']['dbtype'] = 'mysql_slave';
if (THIS_SCRIPT == search)
{
$config['SlaveServer']['servername'] = '192.168.0.4';
$config['SlaveServer']['port'] = 3306;
$config['SlaveServer']['username'] = '****';
$config['SlaveServer']['password'] = '*****';
$config['SlaveServer']['usepconnect'] = 0;

}

With these changes Vbulletin returns a blank white page. I modified the php.ini to turn all error logging on, however, I continue to receive no errors on screen nor in apache's error.log.

Any advice would be appreciated!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-02-2008, 02:40 PM
royo royo is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 80
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Even though it's a local server address, you may want to remove the password, for security reasons. Sorry for being offtopic, and not being able to help you out though :/.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-02-2008, 02:49 PM
snakes1100 snakes1100 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,733
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Did you try and enable debug in apache and see if it spit out any more info?

Do you have error logging on in mysql?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-02-2008, 03:26 PM
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 25,415
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Why are you enclosing this in an if-statement?

What you are doing now is to tell vBulletin to always use the slave server (vBulletin will only use the slave for queries that are not critical), but on any other page then the search page no MySQL server information is provided for the slave server.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-02-2008, 03:28 PM
TechGuy TechGuy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Waynesboro, PA USA
Posts: 55
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks royo. I was in such a hurry when I did that I completely forgot.

I have debug on for apache and there is nothing relating to search.php at all. Same goes for the MySQL error log.

--------------- Added [DATE]1212426293[/DATE] at [TIME]1212426293[/TIME] ---------------

Marco,

I was under the impression if I removed the conditional statement that VB would use the slave db for ALL reads. I only want VB to use the slave db when searching. Did I misunderstand?

--------------- Added [DATE]1212457172[/DATE] at [TIME]1212457172[/TIME] ---------------

Going through line by line I've been able to locate the two lines that are throwing the page off. I have no idea why these two lines are throwing the page off however, they are:
2237 eval(standard_error(fetch_error('searchnoresults', $displayCommon), '', false));
3736 eval('print_output("' . fetch_template($templatename) . '");');
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-03-2008, 04:15 AM
Dismounted's Avatar
Dismounted Dismounted is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 15,047
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TechGuy View Post
I was under the impression if I removed the conditional statement that VB would use the slave db for ALL reads. I only want VB to use the slave db when searching. Did I misunderstand?
As Marco has said, vBulletin only uses the slave for non-critical reads, so you might as well enable for all pages.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-03-2008, 10:19 AM
TechGuy TechGuy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Waynesboro, PA USA
Posts: 55
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Even without the conditional statement I am still receiving the blank page when a search is submitted.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.03919 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,212KB
  • Queries Executed 11 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (1)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (7)post_thanks_box
  • (7)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (7)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (7)postbit
  • (7)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (7)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete