Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.5 > vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Multiple Forums using a single user table Details »»
Multiple Forums using a single user table
Version: 1.00, by e2s e2s is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2009 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: 3.5.4 Rating:
Released: 06-12-2006 Last Update: Never Installs: 48
 
No support by the author.

This was originaly done in 3.0.9 by westpointer you can view that thread here

This Modification is for VB3.5.4 This is not supported but I will give as much help as I possible can.

I have this working now on 2 sites

The main site is http://forums.everything2stroke.com

Slave sites are
http://forums.everythingmx.com
and
http://forums.everythingduners.com

After a successfull install of this modification your sites will share User, PM, and sesson data.

This thread will detail how to have a single login for multiple forums. It makes the following assumptions:
  • A valid vbulletin license exists for each install
  • All forums will be on the same server
  • One database will contain all the tables
A valid vbulletin license exists for each install


Follow these steps

1.) Download your new copy of VB that contains a seperate license key
2.) Go to /includes/config.php.new rename the file to config.php and make necessary changes to the file. See VB Directions. Make sure this code has a different setting than the master site for table prefix.

PHP Code:
 //          ****** TABLE PREFIX ******
 //          Prefix that your vBulletin tables have in the database.
$config['Database']['tableprefix'] = ''
3.) Run the vb install from the new directory (/www/new_forums/install/install.php)

4.) During the install, be sure NOT to empty the tables. If you have any doubt about what this means, stop NOW! If you empty the tables, you will lose all of your existing data from a prior install!

5.) Download all files and directories to your PC from the new install location.

6.) You will need a tool to do a mass Search and replace on all files. I use WildEdit. Here is what you will do using a tool like Wild Edit.
  • Search for [" . TABLE_PREFIX . "user] Replace with [" . "vb3_user] where "vb3_" is the prefix to your master site. 110 Files modified 599 Total changes made
  • Search for [" . TABLE_PREFIX . "strikes] Replace with [" . "vb3_strikes] where "vb3_" is the prefix to your master site 4 Files modified 8 Total changes made
  • Search for [" . TABLE_PREFIX . "pm] Replace with [" . "vb3_pm] where "vb3_" is the prefix to your master site 16 Files modified 77 Total changes made
  • Search for [" . TABLE_PREFIX . "session] Replace with [" . "vb3_session] where "vb3_" is the prefix to your master site 20 Files modified 31 Total changes made

Now to modify some of the code.

In /include/class_dm.php

Search for:
PHP Code:
 function fetch_insert_sql($tableprefix$table)

            { 
Add below change vb3_ to your master site prefix:
PHP Code:
if ($table == "vb3_pmtext")

            {

                        
$sql "INSERT INTO {$table}\r\n\t(" implode(', 'array_keys($this->$table)) . 


")\r\nVALUES\r\n\t(";

            

            }

            else 

Go to /include/class_dm_pm.php

Search for:
PHP Code:
var $table 'pmtext'
Replace with making vb3_ the prefix to your master site:
PHP Code:
var $table 'vb3_pmtext'

Search for:
PHP Code:
$pmtextid = ($this->existing['pmtextid'] ? $this->existing['pmtextid'] : $this->pmtext['pmtextid']); 
Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:
PHP Code:
$pmtextid = ($this->existing['pmtextid'] ? $this->existing['pmtextid'] : $this->vb3_pmtext['pmtextid']); 
Search for:
PHP Code:
$this->dbobject->query_write("INSERT INTO " TABLE_PREFIX "pm (pmtextid, userid) VALUES ($pmtextid$user[userid])"); 
Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:
PHP Code:
$this->dbobject->query_write("INSERT INTO " "vb3_pm (pmtextid, userid) VALUES ($pmtextid$user[userid])"); 
Search for:
PHP Code:
" . $this->dbobject->escape_string($user['username']) . "', '" . $this->dbobject->escape_string($this->pmtext['title']) . 
Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:
PHP Code:
" . $this->dbobject->escape_string($user['username']) . "', '" . $this->dbobject->escape_string($this->vb3_pmtext['title']) . 

Go to /include/class_dm_user.php

Search for:
PHP Code:
$return $this->db_update(TABLE_PREFIX'user'$this->condition$doquery$delayed); 
Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:
PHP Code:
$return $this->db_update('vb3_''user'$this->condition$doquery$delayed); 
Search for:
PHP Code:
$this->db_update(TABLE_PREFIX'userfield',     $this->condition$doquery$delayed); 
Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:
PHP Code:
$this->db_update('vb3_''userfield',     $this->condition$doquery$delayed); 
Search for:
PHP Code:
$this->db_update(TABLE_PREFIX'usertextfield'$this->condition$doquery$delayed); 
Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:
PHP Code:
$this->db_update('vb3_''usertextfield'$this->condition$doquery$delayed); 
Search for:
PHP Code:
if ($return $this->db_insert(TABLE_PREFIX'user'$doquery)) 
Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:
PHP Code:
if ($return $this->db_insert('vb3_''user'$doquery)) 
Search for:
PHP Code:
$this->db_insert(TABLE_PREFIX'userfield',     $doquery); 
Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:
PHP Code:
$this->db_insert('vb3_''userfield',     $doquery); 
Search for:
PHP Code:
$this->db_insert(TABLE_PREFIX'usertextfield'$doquery); 
Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:
PHP Code:
$this->db_insert('vb3_''usertextfield'$doquery); 
Search for:
PHP Code:
DELETE FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "session 
Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:
PHP Code:
DELETE FROM ?.?vb3_session 
Search for:
PHP Code:
INSERT INTO " . TABLE_PREFIX . "passwordhistory (useridpasswordpassworddate
Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:
PHP Code:
INSERT INTO " . "vb3_passwordhistory (useridpasswordpassworddate
Search for:
PHP Code:
 UPDATE " . TABLE_PREFIX . "session SET 
Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:
PHP Code:
   UPDATE ?.?vb3_session SET 

That is all the code modification.


The only other item I did is remove a couple cron jobs.

Go into Scheduled tasks then to Scheduled Task Manager

Delete the following CRON jobs from the Slave Site

User Promotions*
Birthdays
Activation Reminder Email

This will eliminate members getting emails from the primary and secondary sites
*not sure if this will duplicate efforts between primary and secondary sites I have it running on both sites still waiting to see if it causes any issues.


Please post here if you have any problems and questions I will try my best to keep up with everyone to help you through this. Once you get the code done the first time you can just do a mass search and replace on your license code and you can be up and running in minutes with a new site.

This is my first major modification so I hope I posted this all correct, again Thanks to Westpointer for his original work without his post this would not have been possible.

Thanks

UPDATE:

Please make this changes it will allow you to make changes to usergroups in the subscription section and when editing a user.

admincp/adminfunctions.php
Search for
PHP Code:
                $result $vbulletin->db->query_read("SELECT title, $tableid FROM " TABLE_PREFIX "$tablename $wherecondition ORDER BY title"); 
Replace with
PHP Code:
if ($tablename == "usergroup")
                {
                
$result $vbulletin->db->query_read("SELECT title, $tableid FROM " "vb3_$tablename $wherecondition ORDER BY title");
                }
                else
                {
                
$result $vbulletin->db->query_read("SELECT title, $tableid FROM " TABLE_PREFIX "$tablename $wherecondition ORDER BY title");
                } 

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #2  
Old 06-13-2006, 02:48 PM
Ntfu2 Ntfu2 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,247
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

awesome, i will definetly be trying this out.

What if i have my sites on two different hard drives, but the same server. And MySQL for each is on the same disk as well.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-13-2006, 03:08 PM
e2s e2s is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 30
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

If I understand correct you just have 2 hard drives in your server and the sites happen to be on opposite hard drives. As long as you are only running 1 MySql for both sites you shouldn't have any issues. The path to your install is in the Config.php this Modification is just changing were a second site looks for User, PM, and session data.

Now I have not done this with 2 existing forums. I have only created a new forum to attach to my existing forum. You could still do it with 2 existing forums but it would take a little more effort since you would have to merge your userdatabase and some PM's would be lost unless you could merge those as well. I have no experiance in doing this so I am not sure I could be of much help
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-13-2006, 03:11 PM
e2s e2s is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 30
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Oh just for the record I have successfully made vBadvanced CMPS work on the slave site. There is just a few modification you need to make to the modules. If you are looking to do this PM me.

www.everythingmx.com

I hope to intergrate other products soon like Photopost but not sure when I will get to it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-13-2006, 03:45 PM
Ntfu2 Ntfu2 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,247
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

awesome

im going to give it a shot with two existing forms and see how it goes
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-13-2006, 03:46 PM
e2s e2s is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 30
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Just be sure you do a backup of your databse
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-13-2006, 08:07 PM
RMS-Chef RMS-Chef is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: MA, USA
Posts: 326
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

How are paid subscriptions effected by this if at all?
If they buy a subscription on the slave site, does it effect anything on the existing main site?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-13-2006, 09:14 PM
lovevn lovevn is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 116
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hi
You are using your forums on different domains but I want to use it as the fllowing ways:

Master forum : mydomain.com/forum
Slave forum:forum/mydomain.com

Is it possible?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-14-2006, 06:21 AM
Steve F's Avatar
Steve F Steve F is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 18
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

This must be one of the most sought after hacks, great work e2s, thank you for sharing with us and thanks Westpointer for the original idea !

lovevn: I am sure it would work
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-14-2006, 09:02 AM
e2s e2s is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NH
Posts: 30
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lovevn
Hi
You are using your forums on different domains but I want to use it as the fllowing ways:

Master forum : mydomain.com/forum
Slave forum:forum/mydomain.com

Is it possible?

Thanks
If I understand correctly your just looking to point a subdomain forum to your forum directory. That can be done in your server config without even touching the code
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04450 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,372KB
  • Queries Executed 23 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (31)bbcode_php
  • (1)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (10)post_thanks_box
  • (10)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (10)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (9)postbit
  • (10)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (10)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete