Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.5 > vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Image auto resizer Details »»
Image auto resizer
Version: 1.00, by Timmeh7 Timmeh7 is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2014 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: 3.5.3 Rating:
Released: 02-07-2006 Last Update: Never Installs: 31
 
No support by the author.

Hello first post \o/. I'm a long time vB lover/coder, first time poster here (having purchased my own liscence earlier... no more hanging off friend's forums for me).

Brief outline:

This mod is designed to prevent images horizontally stretching the screen, while giving you the ability to revert them to their full size if you wish.

How does this affect the user

This is a silent script - after its installation, there is no configuration or further modification required.

Lets see it then!

There are two images of the mod in action attached.

What versions will this support?

Defiantly 3.5.3 and 3.5.0 (I believe it was RC2) although it was a slightly different string you needed to search for in the php file, but it's in essentially exactly the same. I imagine that with a little messing around, it'll support earlier versions also.

Installation:

First, download the attached zip file (autoresize.zip). A copy of these instructions are also there.

Upload autoresize.js to /clientscripts/ from your forum directory.

Log into your forum admin panel, go to styles & templates > style manager > edit templates.

Edit the "SHOWTHREAD" template (Under Show Thread templates), find </head>

Just above it, add

Code:
<script type="text/javascript" src="clientscript/autoresize.js"></script>
Save it.

Repeat, adding it in the same place to the newthread template.

Now, from your forum directory, open /includes/class_bbcode.php

search for:

Code:
return '<img src="' .  $link . '" border="0" alt="" />';
Replace it with:

Code:
return '<div style= "display: none; background-color: black; color: white" onClick="catflap_toggle_image_size(this); return false">&nbsp;</div><img src="' . $link . '" onLoad="catflap_resize_image(this); return false;" border="0" />';
Give it a test, under different templates with different boundaries, it may well still stretch the table make the image a little/be a little too small.

Should this be the case, open /clientscript/autoresize.js

modify the 100 in

Code:
size_available = winwidth - 100;
either up or down (start by moving it up and down in 100's, then when it gets closer to perfect, 10's) until an image that would normally stretch the table fits completely within the forum boundaries. 100 is perfect for the default vbulletin 3.5.3 template.

Enjoy! If you have any problems, just give a shout and I'll do my best to put you right. All feedback/suggestions are also welcome.

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #2  
Old 02-08-2006, 01:40 AM
ThePimp's Avatar
ThePimp ThePimp is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 329
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Wrong forum. This is a "Code Modification".
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-08-2006, 02:23 AM
PcFreak's Avatar
PcFreak PcFreak is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 205
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

For me, the forum is the right ones.

Thank you for sharing your js script. irate:

PcFreak
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-08-2006, 04:26 AM
apfparadise apfparadise is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Northridge CA
Posts: 110
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Interesting, how about a link to a working version. I can't figure it out from the screenies. Does it open it in a new window as a full, or resizes it in the same window. What's the default state, resized or original? Does it work cross-browser? IE, Opera, and Firefox?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-08-2006, 04:36 AM
hiiped hiiped is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 151
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by apfparadise
Interesting, how about a link to a working version. I can't figure it out from the screenies. ...........Does it open it in a new window ... NO

http://www.timbashford.com/forum/sho....php?p=7#post7
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-08-2006, 07:00 AM
Timmeh7 Timmeh7 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by apfparadise
Interesting, how about a link to a working version. I can't figure it out from the screenies. Does it open it in a new window as a full, or resizes it in the same window. What's the default state, resized or original? Does it work cross-browser? IE, Opera, and Firefox?
It resizes in the same window (and stretches the table as it goes), the default state is resized - though if you didn't like this, it'd be very easy to swap around, it works in all browsers I've tested including IE, Firefox, Opera, Mozilla etc.

Link is up there
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-08-2006, 09:16 AM
c0d3x c0d3x is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 38
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

unfortunately it doesn't works for me, i run vb 3.5.3, the bar says it reduced the image, but the image has still its original dimensions
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-08-2006, 09:27 AM
3dsoft's Avatar
3dsoft 3dsoft is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 98
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

the pics (bbcode) don't resize. And it does not show "Click this bar..."
I have got the default layout template 3.5.3 installed.

Edit: works great - I accidently put the code before <head> instead of </head>
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-08-2006, 10:19 AM
stcont stcont is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 10
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Firefox 1.5.0.1 does not resize image. Note that if u whant use "style.width" u must specify width accoding to spec with dimensions eg not
Code:
imageref.previousSibling.style.width=size_available;
but
Code:
imageref.previousSibling.style.width=size_available+'px';
Thats fixes problem in FF
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-08-2006, 10:31 AM
c0d3x c0d3x is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 38
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

width of the table or of the img??
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04314 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,298KB
  • Queries Executed 23 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (6)bbcode_code
  • (2)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (10)post_thanks_box
  • (10)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (10)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (9)postbit
  • (10)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (10)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete