Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Article Depository > Read An Article > vBulletin 3 Articles
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
How to create your own vBulletin-powered page! (uses vB templates)
Gary King's Avatar
Gary King
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,046

 

Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscription
Gary King Gary King is offline 03-03-2004, 10:00 PM

Want to create your very own vBulletin powered page which includes the header, footer, and the user permissions system as well?

Well now you can

Want to know how it will look? Take a look at the attached screenshot below!

Now includes the Who's Online modification!
Also, instructions included on how to create your own pages that are integrated with current vBulletin files!

I'm going to give you a generic page but you can easily modify the contents of the page by changing the template

So here we go

Instructions:

Create a new file, whatever you want to call it (let's say test.php).
Open up test.php and add the following (replace TEST with whatever template you want to show):
PHP Code:
<?php

// ####################### SET PHP ENVIRONMENT ###########################
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);

// #################### DEFINE IMPORTANT CONSTANTS #######################
define('NO_REGISTER_GLOBALS'1);
define('THIS_SCRIPT''test'); // change this depending on your filename

// ################### PRE-CACHE TEMPLATES AND DATA ######################
// get special phrase groups
$phrasegroups = array(

);

// get special data templates from the datastore
$specialtemplates = array(
    
);

// pre-cache templates used by all actions
$globaltemplates = array(
    
'TEST',
);

// pre-cache templates used by specific actions
$actiontemplates = array(

);

// ######################### REQUIRE BACK-END ############################
require_once('./global.php');

// #######################################################################
// ######################## START MAIN SCRIPT ############################
// #######################################################################

$navbits = array();
$navbits[$parent] = 'Test Page';

$navbits construct_navbits($navbits);
eval(
'$navbar = "' fetch_template('navbar') . '";');
eval(
'print_output("' fetch_template('TEST') . '");');

?>
Be sure to change 'TEST' to the actual template name, and change 'test' to the filename. Also, change 'Test Page' to whatever you want to show in the navbar, such as 'Viewing Member Profile' (just an example).

Now create the template, called TEST with the following content:
HTML Code:
$stylevar[htmldoctype]
<html dir="$stylevar[textdirection]" lang="$stylevar[languagecode]">
<head>
<title>$vboptions[bbtitle]</title>
$headinclude
</head>
<body>
$header

$navbar

<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr>
    <td class="tcat">Title</td>
</tr>
<tr>
    <td class="alt1">Text</td>
</tr>
</table>

$footer
</body>
</html>
All done
Now check it out by going to test.php

Who's Online Modification

Now if you want to show who is browsing this new page of yours, just open up includes/functions_online.php and find:
PHP Code:
    case 'bugs.php':
        
$userinfo['activity'] = 'bugs';
        break; 
Below, add:
PHP Code:
    case 'test.php':
        
$userinfo['activity'] = 'test';
        break; 
(Be sure to change the values to your own!)

Then find:
PHP Code:
        case 'modcplogin':
            
$userinfo['action'] = $vbphrase['moderator_control_panel_login'];
            break; 
Below add:
PHP Code:
        case 'test':
            
$userinfo['action'] = 'Viewing Test Page';
            break; 
All done!

----------------------------------

Also if you want to create your own pages 'within' current vBulletin files, do the following:

Open the file you want, and then right before the final ?> in the source code, add the following:

PHP Code:
if ($_REQUEST['do'] == 'xxx')
{
    eval(
'print_output("' fetch_template('TEMPLATE_XXX') . '");');

Replace 'xxx' with whatever you want ?do= in the query string to be (for example, replace 'xxx' with 'showprofile' so then someone would type in example.php?do=showprofile to view this template.) Then of course, change TEMPLATE_XXX to your template name, it's that simple!


edit by Lynne: If running 3.8.4 or above, see this post to take care of the PHP 5.3.0-related problems - https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost....postcount=1171
Attached Images
File Type: jpg template_test.jpg (62.5 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #652  
Old 03-27-2008, 11:43 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dismas View Post
I keep running into parse errors for some reason. I don't know why though since I've used this writeup before to add pages to another of my forums. On this other forum, I'm having issues. The forums are with different hosting companies. Would that make a difference?

The first error that I got said that there was a parse error due to an unexpected ~ on line 4. I took the tilde out and then it told me this:

Code:
Parse error: parse error, unexpected T_CONSTANT_ENCAPSED_STRING in /home/content/v/e/r/vermontoutdoor/html/forum/writeups.php on line 8
Line 8 is the last line here:

Code:
//+####################+DEFINE+IMPORTANT+CONSTANTS+####################### 
define('NO_REGISTER_GLOBALS',+1); 
define('THIS_SCRIPT',+'writeups');+//+change+this+depending+on+your+filename
Um....
define('THIS_SCRIPT',+'writeups');+//+change+this+depending+on+your+filename

You've got a + after the ; and before the // You can't do that. And I don't know about the + before 'writeups' either.
Reply With Quote
  #653  
Old 03-27-2008, 11:59 PM
dismas's Avatar
dismas dismas is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Vermont
Posts: 720
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Actually, I have no idea where the + came from. I did a straight copy/paste and the + is not in there.
Reply With Quote
  #654  
Old 03-28-2008, 02:59 AM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dismas View Post
Actually, I have no idea where the + came from. I did a straight copy/paste and the + is not in there.
What are you using to edit the page? You need to use something like bbedit/notepad not word. If you don't use a plain text editor, then it could be adding extra characters which would then cause the problems you are seeing.
Reply With Quote
  #655  
Old 03-28-2008, 03:49 AM
dismas's Avatar
dismas dismas is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Vermont
Posts: 720
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Actually, it's funny that you say that since it is BBEdit that I used. I even tried copying and pasting the php from this thread into a text document in TextEdit and still, the same errors came up.
Reply With Quote
  #656  
Old 03-28-2008, 02:32 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dismas View Post
Actually, it's funny that you say that since it is BBEdit that I used. I even tried copying and pasting the php from this thread into a text document in TextEdit and still, the same errors came up.
So you copy/pasted what was in the first post into a page and tried it on that site and you got the errors?

(Is this thread the best place to discuss this or would it be better off in it's own thread where more people can come and help?)
Reply With Quote
  #657  
Old 03-28-2008, 03:52 PM
dismas's Avatar
dismas dismas is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Vermont
Posts: 720
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Nevermind... I don't know what I have set different but it's the version of BBEdit that is screwing this up somehow. (Although I'm not sure why I got the same results with TextEdit)

What I was doing last night was on my MacBook.

I just tried to create the custom page again on my G4 tower and it worked fine. The G4 has BBEdit version 7 on it while the MacBook as the updated ver. 8.

Well, it's either that or my FTP software is doing something funky... Both of the computers have the same version of that but maybe one is sending the file in a different manner...

Either way, this is my issue to fix... Sorry for wasting everyone's time.

--------------- Added [DATE]1206723528[/DATE] at [TIME]1206723528[/TIME] ---------------

Quote:
Originally Posted by VeoMorphine View Post

PHP Code:
<?php

require_once('./global.php');

if (
$_REQUEST[filename])
{
    if (
is_member_of($bbuserinfo6) OR is_member_of($bbuserinfo5) OR is_member_of($bbuserinfo7));
    {
        
header("Location: $_REQUEST[filename]");
    }
}

?>
that makes it so usergroup 6 5 and 7 can download that file.
Oh, one more question... Where would this code segment go? Would it just replace this part:
Code:
require_once('./global.php');
Reply With Quote
  #658  
Old 03-30-2008, 12:28 AM
RetroDreams RetroDreams is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 238
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

How do you adapt this article to add queries and pull data from the database? Is there an additional article out there? I've searched but came up empty.
Reply With Quote
  #659  
Old 03-30-2008, 11:46 AM
Opserty Opserty is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,103
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RetroDreams View Post
How do you adapt this article to add queries and pull data from the database? Is there an additional article out there? I've searched but came up empty.
You just add the PHP you need to the PHP page...
Reply With Quote
  #660  
Old 03-30-2008, 04:54 PM
RetroDreams RetroDreams is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 238
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Yeah, I end up figuring it out with trial and error. My problem was I didn't realize you needed a separate template for looping but I got it squared away.
Reply With Quote
  #661  
Old 04-02-2008, 10:44 AM
dfc005 dfc005 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 198
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

So, I'm thinking of implementing this into my forum but I have a question, do you have to edit any vbulletin files to make this work? Or is it just templates and then creating my own php files?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.12739 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,373KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (3)bbcode_code
  • (1)bbcode_html
  • (7)bbcode_php
  • (5)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_article
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (4)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (5)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (1)postbit_attachment
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_attachment
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete