Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Article Depository > Read An Article > vBulletin 3 Articles
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
How to create your own vBulletin-powered page! (uses vB templates)
Gary King's Avatar
Gary King
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,046

 

Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscription
Gary King Gary King is offline 03-03-2004, 10:00 PM

Want to create your very own vBulletin powered page which includes the header, footer, and the user permissions system as well?

Well now you can

Want to know how it will look? Take a look at the attached screenshot below!

Now includes the Who's Online modification!
Also, instructions included on how to create your own pages that are integrated with current vBulletin files!

I'm going to give you a generic page but you can easily modify the contents of the page by changing the template

So here we go

Instructions:

Create a new file, whatever you want to call it (let's say test.php).
Open up test.php and add the following (replace TEST with whatever template you want to show):
PHP Code:
<?php

// ####################### SET PHP ENVIRONMENT ###########################
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);

// #################### DEFINE IMPORTANT CONSTANTS #######################
define('NO_REGISTER_GLOBALS'1);
define('THIS_SCRIPT''test'); // change this depending on your filename

// ################### PRE-CACHE TEMPLATES AND DATA ######################
// get special phrase groups
$phrasegroups = array(

);

// get special data templates from the datastore
$specialtemplates = array(
    
);

// pre-cache templates used by all actions
$globaltemplates = array(
    
'TEST',
);

// pre-cache templates used by specific actions
$actiontemplates = array(

);

// ######################### REQUIRE BACK-END ############################
require_once('./global.php');

// #######################################################################
// ######################## START MAIN SCRIPT ############################
// #######################################################################

$navbits = array();
$navbits[$parent] = 'Test Page';

$navbits construct_navbits($navbits);
eval(
'$navbar = "' fetch_template('navbar') . '";');
eval(
'print_output("' fetch_template('TEST') . '");');

?>
Be sure to change 'TEST' to the actual template name, and change 'test' to the filename. Also, change 'Test Page' to whatever you want to show in the navbar, such as 'Viewing Member Profile' (just an example).

Now create the template, called TEST with the following content:
HTML Code:
$stylevar[htmldoctype]
<html dir="$stylevar[textdirection]" lang="$stylevar[languagecode]">
<head>
<title>$vboptions[bbtitle]</title>
$headinclude
</head>
<body>
$header

$navbar

<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr>
    <td class="tcat">Title</td>
</tr>
<tr>
    <td class="alt1">Text</td>
</tr>
</table>

$footer
</body>
</html>
All done
Now check it out by going to test.php

Who's Online Modification

Now if you want to show who is browsing this new page of yours, just open up includes/functions_online.php and find:
PHP Code:
    case 'bugs.php':
        
$userinfo['activity'] = 'bugs';
        break; 
Below, add:
PHP Code:
    case 'test.php':
        
$userinfo['activity'] = 'test';
        break; 
(Be sure to change the values to your own!)

Then find:
PHP Code:
        case 'modcplogin':
            
$userinfo['action'] = $vbphrase['moderator_control_panel_login'];
            break; 
Below add:
PHP Code:
        case 'test':
            
$userinfo['action'] = 'Viewing Test Page';
            break; 
All done!

----------------------------------

Also if you want to create your own pages 'within' current vBulletin files, do the following:

Open the file you want, and then right before the final ?> in the source code, add the following:

PHP Code:
if ($_REQUEST['do'] == 'xxx')
{
    eval(
'print_output("' fetch_template('TEMPLATE_XXX') . '");');

Replace 'xxx' with whatever you want ?do= in the query string to be (for example, replace 'xxx' with 'showprofile' so then someone would type in example.php?do=showprofile to view this template.) Then of course, change TEMPLATE_XXX to your template name, it's that simple!


edit by Lynne: If running 3.8.4 or above, see this post to take care of the PHP 5.3.0-related problems - https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost....postcount=1171
Attached Images
File Type: jpg template_test.jpg (62.5 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #422  
Old 02-23-2006, 02:09 AM
paulomt1 paulomt1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 82
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I need add this code to php file but doesn't work.

$ch = curl_init ("http://www.domain.name?".$QueryString);
curl_setopt ($ch, CURLOPT_HEADER, 0);
curl_exec ($ch);

if(curl_error($ch))
echo "Error processing request";

curl_close ($ch);

But if I comment this line it works, but is not a vbulletin page anymore :-(
eval('print_output("' . fetch_template('my_template') . '");');

I've solved the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #423  
Old 03-24-2006, 08:54 PM
Barakat's Avatar
Barakat Barakat is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jerusalem
Posts: 571
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

loook i made this .... but need ur help .
hi !

i have a little problem in reading and viewing some html from my database which i make it .... acually iam trying to make some differnt hack which can read templates from the database instead to include it to the style templates

the idea comes to me when i was trying to add some html templates to the style and i saw that its from the stupidity to add a houndred templates to a styles so it will make the forum style very heavy for me . any way here is the idea ....

i create that

Code:
CREATE TABLE `testdb` (
  `id` int(10) unsigned NOT NULL auto_increment,
  `name` varchar(50) NOT NULL default '',
  `descr` varchar(50) NOT NULL default '',
  `content` text NOT NULL,
  PRIMARY KEY  (`id`)
) TYPE=MyISAM;
and add for every id and content a unique number with a full html template.

i have more than 100 id with 100 full html text pages for that .
so i make a php file with a name of test.php and include that code inside it :

PHP Code:
<?php
/*======================================================================*\
|| #################################################################### ||
|| # test v6.0.1                                                                                                                  # ||
|| # Copyright ?2005- 2006 Barakat. All Rights Reserved.                                               # ||
|| #                                                                                                                                    # ||
|| #################################################################### ||
\*======================================================================*/

//-----------------------------------------
// By: Barakat Barakat

// ######################## SET PHP ENVIRONMENT ########################### 
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE); 

// ##################### DEFINE IMPORTANT CONSTANTS ####################### 
define('THIS_SCRIPT''test');  

// #################### PRE-CACHE TEMPLATES AND DATA ###################### 
// get special phrase groups 
$phrasegroups = array(); 

// get special data templates from the datastore 
$specialtemplates = array(); 

// pre-cache templates used by all actions 
$globaltemplates = array(''); 

// pre-cache templates used by specific actions 
$actiontemplates = array(); 

// ########################## REQUIRE BACK-END ############################ 
require_once('./global.php'); 

// #################### HARD CODE JAVASCRIPT PATHS ######################## 
$headinclude str_replace('clientscript'$vbulletin->options['bburl'] . '/clientscript'$headinclude); 

// ######################################################################## 
// ######################### START MAIN SCRIPT ############################ 
// ######################################################################## 

if ($id) {
function 
getcontent($contentid) {
$contents  =$vbulletin->db->query_read("SELECT content FROM " TABLE_PREFIX "testdb" "WHERE id=$contentid");
$content   $vbulletin->db->fetch_Array($contents);
$contentid =$content[content];
$html=str_replace("\"","\\\"",$contentid);
return 
$html;
}
$que =$vbulletin->db->query_read("SELECT * FROM " TABLE_PREFIX "testdb" "WHERE id=$id");
$result =$vbulletin->db->query_read($que)
  or die (
"Error reaching the file.... ");
$page $vbulletin->db->fetch_Array($result);
$navbits construct_navbits(array('' => $page[name]));
eval(
'$navbar .= "' fetch_template('navbar') . '";');
eval(
"print_output(\"".getcontent("$id")."\");");
}
/*======================================================================*\
|| ####################################################################
|| # CVS: $RCSfile: test.php,v $ - $Version: 6.0.1 $
|| ####################################################################
\*======================================================================*/
?>
www.forum/test.php?id=1
while browseing the file , a blank page appears to me !!!1

so ...........

if i include 'test_h' template to the style it will open it nicely but i need to read from my database by its id so to browse is as its browsed from the style it self:-

now if i want to read the templates from my styles i just make that changes

// pre-cache templates used by all actions

PHP Code:
$globaltemplates = array('test_h'); 
and add that code instead of the main script corner

PHP Code:
$navbits = array();  
$navbits[$parent] = 'testss'
$navbits construct_navbits($navbits); 
eval(
'$navbar = "' fetch_template('navbar') . '";'); 
eval(
'print_output("' fetch_template('test_h') . '");'); 

and off couse the test_h template is included and it tooks a style like that :-



Code:
$stylevar[htmldoctype]
<html dir="$stylevar[textdirection]" lang="$stylevar[languagecode]">
<head>
	<!-- no cache headers -->
	<meta http-equiv="Pragma" content="no-cache" />
	<meta http-equiv="Expires" content="-1" />
	<meta http-equiv="Cache-Control" content="no-cache" />
	<!-- end no cache headers -->
	<title><phrase 1="$vboptions[bbtitle]">$vbphrase[x_powered_by_vbulletin]</phrase></title>
	$headinclude
</head>
<body>
$header
$navbar

<!-- html codes begins here-->
<!-- html codes ends here  -->

$footer
</body>
</html>
P.S i tried also to include the functions in a function_test file and upload it to the includes but it did not works .......
Reply With Quote
  #424  
Old 03-24-2006, 08:59 PM
Eagle Creek's Avatar
Eagle Creek Eagle Creek is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 742
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hi Guys!

I read this:
https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=98009

But I can't get it working.

It's about this page:
http://www.nucia.nl/forum/donatie.php

So what I do is:
Quote:
Plugin:
Product: vBulletin
Hook Location: online_location_process
Title: My Custom Location (Part1)
Plugin PHP Code:
PHP Code:
 if ($filename == 'donatie.php')
{
        
$userinfo['activity'] = 'donatie';

[b]Plugin is Active: Yes
Quote:
Plugin:
Product: vBulletin
Hook Location: online_location_unknown
Title: My Custom Location (Part2)
Plugin PHP Code:
PHP Code:
 if ($userinfo['activity'] == 'donatie')
{
        
$userinfo['action'] = 'TEST message donation'// you might wanna use a $vbphrase here...
        
$userinfo['where'] = '<a href="./donatie.php?' $vbulletin->session->vars['sessionurl'] . '">THIS IS TEST MESSAGE</a>'// you might wanna use a $vbphrase here...
        
$handled true;

Plugin is Active: Yes
But it keeps saying 'unknow location'. Can somebody tell me what I'm doing wrong?
Reply With Quote
  #425  
Old 03-24-2006, 09:27 PM
Cebby Cebby is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 48
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Mine does that, but the page looks good and works - that's the important part to me. The location thing is nothing more than an annoyance at the moment.
Reply With Quote
  #426  
Old 04-06-2006, 06:17 AM
ztempuser ztempuser is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 143
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

how can i let only people that are logged in see this page?, and if not logged in it will take them to the log in page, or the page of choice.
*sorry for the newbie question*
Reply With Quote
  #427  
Old 04-09-2006, 04:03 AM
captainandy captainandy is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 10
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Guessing some have more constructive things to do than nail others - or some of us don't really grow up huh?
Reply With Quote
  #428  
Old 04-10-2006, 06:08 PM
Jordan17 Jordan17 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Teesside, UK
Posts: 73
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackwidow
how can i let only people that are logged in see this page?, and if not logged in it will take them to the log in page, or the page of choice.
*sorry for the newbie question*
I would like this too. At the moment anyone can view the page, but I would like to restrict it to members only.
Reply With Quote
  #429  
Old 04-11-2006, 01:50 AM
Freesteyelz's Avatar
Freesteyelz Freesteyelz is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,552
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

blackwidow and Jordan17: Try somehting like this:

Code:
<?php
    if (!$vbulletin->userinfo['userid'])
    {
          header("Location: http://www.redirected_page.com/");
          exit;
    }
?>
Reply With Quote
  #430  
Old 04-18-2006, 03:45 PM
egyptsons's Avatar
egyptsons egyptsons is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Egypt
Posts: 250
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #431  
Old 05-13-2006, 11:02 PM
funinthesun funinthesun is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 460
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I made the php file and the template exactly as you described and when I point my url to test.php I get this
Code:
Warning: Division by zero in /includes/functions.php(4320) : eval()'d code on line 98
What have I done wrong?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.13164 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,404KB
  • Queries Executed 26 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (4)bbcode_code
  • (1)bbcode_html
  • (11)bbcode_php
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_article
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (3)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (5)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (1)postbit_attachment
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_attachment
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete