Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.5 > vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Multiple Forums using a single user table Details »»
Multiple Forums using a single user table
Version: 1.00, by e2s e2s is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2009 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: 3.5.4 Rating:
Released: 06-12-2006 Last Update: Never Installs: 48
 
No support by the author.

This was originaly done in 3.0.9 by westpointer you can view that thread here

This Modification is for VB3.5.4 This is not supported but I will give as much help as I possible can.

I have this working now on 2 sites

The main site is http://forums.everything2stroke.com

Slave sites are
http://forums.everythingmx.com
and
http://forums.everythingduners.com

After a successfull install of this modification your sites will share User, PM, and sesson data.

This thread will detail how to have a single login for multiple forums. It makes the following assumptions:
  • A valid vbulletin license exists for each install
  • All forums will be on the same server
  • One database will contain all the tables
A valid vbulletin license exists for each install


Follow these steps

1.) Download your new copy of VB that contains a seperate license key
2.) Go to /includes/config.php.new rename the file to config.php and make necessary changes to the file. See VB Directions. Make sure this code has a different setting than the master site for table prefix.

PHP Code:
 //          ****** TABLE PREFIX ******
 //          Prefix that your vBulletin tables have in the database.
$config['Database']['tableprefix'] = ''
3.) Run the vb install from the new directory (/www/new_forums/install/install.php)

4.) During the install, be sure NOT to empty the tables. If you have any doubt about what this means, stop NOW! If you empty the tables, you will lose all of your existing data from a prior install!

5.) Download all files and directories to your PC from the new install location.

6.) You will need a tool to do a mass Search and replace on all files. I use WildEdit. Here is what you will do using a tool like Wild Edit.
  • Search for [" . TABLE_PREFIX . "user] Replace with [" . "vb3_user] where "vb3_" is the prefix to your master site. 110 Files modified 599 Total changes made
  • Search for [" . TABLE_PREFIX . "strikes] Replace with [" . "vb3_strikes] where "vb3_" is the prefix to your master site 4 Files modified 8 Total changes made
  • Search for [" . TABLE_PREFIX . "pm] Replace with [" . "vb3_pm] where "vb3_" is the prefix to your master site 16 Files modified 77 Total changes made
  • Search for [" . TABLE_PREFIX . "session] Replace with [" . "vb3_session] where "vb3_" is the prefix to your master site 20 Files modified 31 Total changes made

Now to modify some of the code.

In /include/class_dm.php

Search for:
PHP Code:
 function fetch_insert_sql($tableprefix$table)

            { 
Add below change vb3_ to your master site prefix:
PHP Code:
if ($table == "vb3_pmtext")

            {

                        
$sql "INSERT INTO {$table}\r\n\t(" implode(', 'array_keys($this->$table)) . 


")\r\nVALUES\r\n\t(";

            

            }

            else 

Go to /include/class_dm_pm.php

Search for:
PHP Code:
var $table 'pmtext'
Replace with making vb3_ the prefix to your master site:
PHP Code:
var $table 'vb3_pmtext'

Search for:
PHP Code:
$pmtextid = ($this->existing['pmtextid'] ? $this->existing['pmtextid'] : $this->pmtext['pmtextid']); 
Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:
PHP Code:
$pmtextid = ($this->existing['pmtextid'] ? $this->existing['pmtextid'] : $this->vb3_pmtext['pmtextid']); 
Search for:
PHP Code:
$this->dbobject->query_write("INSERT INTO " TABLE_PREFIX "pm (pmtextid, userid) VALUES ($pmtextid$user[userid])"); 
Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:
PHP Code:
$this->dbobject->query_write("INSERT INTO " "vb3_pm (pmtextid, userid) VALUES ($pmtextid$user[userid])"); 
Search for:
PHP Code:
" . $this->dbobject->escape_string($user['username']) . "', '" . $this->dbobject->escape_string($this->pmtext['title']) . 
Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:
PHP Code:
" . $this->dbobject->escape_string($user['username']) . "', '" . $this->dbobject->escape_string($this->vb3_pmtext['title']) . 

Go to /include/class_dm_user.php

Search for:
PHP Code:
$return $this->db_update(TABLE_PREFIX'user'$this->condition$doquery$delayed); 
Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:
PHP Code:
$return $this->db_update('vb3_''user'$this->condition$doquery$delayed); 
Search for:
PHP Code:
$this->db_update(TABLE_PREFIX'userfield',     $this->condition$doquery$delayed); 
Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:
PHP Code:
$this->db_update('vb3_''userfield',     $this->condition$doquery$delayed); 
Search for:
PHP Code:
$this->db_update(TABLE_PREFIX'usertextfield'$this->condition$doquery$delayed); 
Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:
PHP Code:
$this->db_update('vb3_''usertextfield'$this->condition$doquery$delayed); 
Search for:
PHP Code:
if ($return $this->db_insert(TABLE_PREFIX'user'$doquery)) 
Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:
PHP Code:
if ($return $this->db_insert('vb3_''user'$doquery)) 
Search for:
PHP Code:
$this->db_insert(TABLE_PREFIX'userfield',     $doquery); 
Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:
PHP Code:
$this->db_insert('vb3_''userfield',     $doquery); 
Search for:
PHP Code:
$this->db_insert(TABLE_PREFIX'usertextfield'$doquery); 
Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:
PHP Code:
$this->db_insert('vb3_''usertextfield'$doquery); 
Search for:
PHP Code:
DELETE FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "session 
Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:
PHP Code:
DELETE FROM ?.?vb3_session 
Search for:
PHP Code:
INSERT INTO " . TABLE_PREFIX . "passwordhistory (useridpasswordpassworddate
Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:
PHP Code:
INSERT INTO " . "vb3_passwordhistory (useridpasswordpassworddate
Search for:
PHP Code:
 UPDATE " . TABLE_PREFIX . "session SET 
Replace with where vb3_ is the prefix to your master site:
PHP Code:
   UPDATE ?.?vb3_session SET 

That is all the code modification.


The only other item I did is remove a couple cron jobs.

Go into Scheduled tasks then to Scheduled Task Manager

Delete the following CRON jobs from the Slave Site

User Promotions*
Birthdays
Activation Reminder Email

This will eliminate members getting emails from the primary and secondary sites
*not sure if this will duplicate efforts between primary and secondary sites I have it running on both sites still waiting to see if it causes any issues.


Please post here if you have any problems and questions I will try my best to keep up with everyone to help you through this. Once you get the code done the first time you can just do a mass search and replace on your license code and you can be up and running in minutes with a new site.

This is my first major modification so I hope I posted this all correct, again Thanks to Westpointer for his original work without his post this would not have been possible.

Thanks

UPDATE:

Please make this changes it will allow you to make changes to usergroups in the subscription section and when editing a user.

admincp/adminfunctions.php
Search for
PHP Code:
                $result $vbulletin->db->query_read("SELECT title, $tableid FROM " TABLE_PREFIX "$tablename $wherecondition ORDER BY title"); 
Replace with
PHP Code:
if ($tablename == "usergroup")
                {
                
$result $vbulletin->db->query_read("SELECT title, $tableid FROM " "vb3_$tablename $wherecondition ORDER BY title");
                }
                else
                {
                
$result $vbulletin->db->query_read("SELECT title, $tableid FROM " TABLE_PREFIX "$tablename $wherecondition ORDER BY title");
                } 

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #132  
Old 03-10-2008, 04:19 PM
superthang superthang is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 46
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

can this be done with 3.7?
Reply With Quote
  #133  
Old 05-03-2008, 07:39 PM
Fenriz Fenriz is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 126
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

really need this with 3.7
Reply With Quote
  #134  
Old 05-06-2008, 11:42 AM
Tekmon Tekmon is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 17
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You can follow the procedures above and do this with 3.7 just as easily. If you run into
any bumps you will see that you can just find the spot in the code that has aproblem and make the change so it is looking for your vb3_ or master table instead of the slave sites table.

I did this on www.mmowned.com and www.fpsowned.com with fpsowned.com being the slave site. It all works very well.
Reply With Quote
  #135  
Old 05-15-2008, 11:44 AM
Ricsca's Avatar
Ricsca Ricsca is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 236
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

With 3.7.x is compatible?
Reply With Quote
  #136  
Old 05-15-2008, 02:02 PM
Tekmon Tekmon is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 17
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ricsca View Post
With 3.7.x is compatible?

I have it done on 3.7 with www.mmowned.com as the primary and www.fpsowned.com as the secondary.
Reply With Quote
  #137  
Old 05-29-2008, 03:29 AM
sandri sandri is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 3
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hi all,

tested it with 3.7x it looks ok.

but i have one question.

When i login into forum1 and then i go to forum2, i must login again. :-(

Is auto login possible?

Only once login for all forums?

THX for help. ;-)
Reply With Quote
  #138  
Old 09-16-2008, 07:03 PM
Quarterbore Quarterbore is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Valley Forge PA
Posts: 538
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I may need to check my sanity on why I am asking this but I assume this should work even if one board is a 3.6.x site and the second is a 3.7.x. site?

I think I need to set up a test envionment and try it as I have a significant need for this now so time to give it a go.
Reply With Quote
  #139  
Old 10-02-2008, 06:47 AM
Kaelon's Avatar
Kaelon Kaelon is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 405
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Does this hack share session data, and if so, does that mean that when one site reports a user logged in, the other site will also show them logged in and online?
Reply With Quote
  #140  
Old 10-05-2008, 10:38 PM
b3hr0uz b3hr0uz is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 24
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

i get this error while registering in my slave forum

Fatal error: Existing data passed is not an array
Called set_existing in [path]/register.php on line 421
in [path]/includes/class_dm.php on line 235
Reply With Quote
  #141  
Old 12-12-2008, 08:54 AM
chikkoo chikkoo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 223
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Hi..

This is a very good Mod, I like it and installing now in vb3.74. My observations are as below:

1) Avatars are not appearing, similar case in Profile Friends.
2) Slave site is showing the Master site Online Users, this should be avoided.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.06085 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,381KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (31)bbcode_php
  • (1)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete