Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Article Depository > Read An Article > vBulletin 3 Articles
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
How to create your own vBulletin-powered page! (uses vB templates)
Gary King's Avatar
Gary King
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,046

 

Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscription
Gary King Gary King is offline 03-03-2004, 10:00 PM

Want to create your very own vBulletin powered page which includes the header, footer, and the user permissions system as well?

Well now you can

Want to know how it will look? Take a look at the attached screenshot below!

Now includes the Who's Online modification!
Also, instructions included on how to create your own pages that are integrated with current vBulletin files!

I'm going to give you a generic page but you can easily modify the contents of the page by changing the template

So here we go

Instructions:

Create a new file, whatever you want to call it (let's say test.php).
Open up test.php and add the following (replace TEST with whatever template you want to show):
PHP Code:
<?php

// ####################### SET PHP ENVIRONMENT ###########################
error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);

// #################### DEFINE IMPORTANT CONSTANTS #######################
define('NO_REGISTER_GLOBALS'1);
define('THIS_SCRIPT''test'); // change this depending on your filename

// ################### PRE-CACHE TEMPLATES AND DATA ######################
// get special phrase groups
$phrasegroups = array(

);

// get special data templates from the datastore
$specialtemplates = array(
    
);

// pre-cache templates used by all actions
$globaltemplates = array(
    
'TEST',
);

// pre-cache templates used by specific actions
$actiontemplates = array(

);

// ######################### REQUIRE BACK-END ############################
require_once('./global.php');

// #######################################################################
// ######################## START MAIN SCRIPT ############################
// #######################################################################

$navbits = array();
$navbits[$parent] = 'Test Page';

$navbits construct_navbits($navbits);
eval(
'$navbar = "' fetch_template('navbar') . '";');
eval(
'print_output("' fetch_template('TEST') . '");');

?>
Be sure to change 'TEST' to the actual template name, and change 'test' to the filename. Also, change 'Test Page' to whatever you want to show in the navbar, such as 'Viewing Member Profile' (just an example).

Now create the template, called TEST with the following content:
HTML Code:
$stylevar[htmldoctype]
<html dir="$stylevar[textdirection]" lang="$stylevar[languagecode]">
<head>
<title>$vboptions[bbtitle]</title>
$headinclude
</head>
<body>
$header

$navbar

<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<tr>
    <td class="tcat">Title</td>
</tr>
<tr>
    <td class="alt1">Text</td>
</tr>
</table>

$footer
</body>
</html>
All done
Now check it out by going to test.php

Who's Online Modification

Now if you want to show who is browsing this new page of yours, just open up includes/functions_online.php and find:
PHP Code:
    case 'bugs.php':
        
$userinfo['activity'] = 'bugs';
        break; 
Below, add:
PHP Code:
    case 'test.php':
        
$userinfo['activity'] = 'test';
        break; 
(Be sure to change the values to your own!)

Then find:
PHP Code:
        case 'modcplogin':
            
$userinfo['action'] = $vbphrase['moderator_control_panel_login'];
            break; 
Below add:
PHP Code:
        case 'test':
            
$userinfo['action'] = 'Viewing Test Page';
            break; 
All done!

----------------------------------

Also if you want to create your own pages 'within' current vBulletin files, do the following:

Open the file you want, and then right before the final ?> in the source code, add the following:

PHP Code:
if ($_REQUEST['do'] == 'xxx')
{
    eval(
'print_output("' fetch_template('TEMPLATE_XXX') . '");');

Replace 'xxx' with whatever you want ?do= in the query string to be (for example, replace 'xxx' with 'showprofile' so then someone would type in example.php?do=showprofile to view this template.) Then of course, change TEMPLATE_XXX to your template name, it's that simple!


edit by Lynne: If running 3.8.4 or above, see this post to take care of the PHP 5.3.0-related problems - https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showpost....postcount=1171
Attached Images
File Type: jpg template_test.jpg (62.5 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #152  
Old 04-16-2004, 03:19 AM
gspot's Avatar
gspot gspot is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Nevada
Posts: 200
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Have a question for you all???

I have added exactly what you have shown on the 1st page in order for this hack to work, but I'm running into a problem when this page is called up like this:

http://www.gspotracing.com/4x4rigs/s.../cat/516/page/

I added your hack to the showphoto.php page and it only works in the whos online area when the page is being visited by:

This link: http://www.gspotracing.com/4x4rigs/s...o.php?photo=61

And by a direct link to the page, but not by the 1st link I have given you above...

PLEASE HELP ME.. I REALLY NEED THIS INTEGRATED HACK...
Reply With Quote
  #153  
Old 04-16-2004, 03:27 AM
SVTBlackLight01's Avatar
SVTBlackLight01 SVTBlackLight01 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 504
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You must be a registered user to view images!

To register click on the REGISTER button in the menu above.
Reply With Quote
  #154  
Old 04-16-2004, 04:31 AM
gspot's Avatar
gspot gspot is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Nevada
Posts: 200
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SVTBlackLight01
You must be a registered user to view images!

To register click on the REGISTER button in the menu above.
Sorry I have this option so new members will register in order to view the images the forum has to offer. Non-the-less, I'm still having the same problem.. And this doesn't effect the coding problem I'm running into, does it???
Reply With Quote
  #155  
Old 04-21-2004, 08:09 AM
gspot's Avatar
gspot gspot is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Nevada
Posts: 200
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I dont know what I'm doing wrong here, please can someone help me on this. I have the following file being called: "referals.php" with the .php scripting in it and one template being used as well called: "reflist"... Any help would be appreciated, no matter what I do, nothing is outputed from the database. I see the columns correctly, but no usernames or number of referrals, I know there are many members with referrals at this time also. Maybe it's just something messed up in my coding.. PLEASE HELP...

HTML Code:
$stylevar[htmldoctype]
<html dir="$stylevar[textdirection]" lang="$stylevar[languagecode]">
<head>
<title>$vboptions[bbtitle] - Top Referrers</title>
$headinclude
</head>
<body>
$header
$navbar

<table cellpadding="$stylevar[outerborderwidth]" cellspacing="0" border="0" class="tborder" width="$stylevar[tablewidth]" align="center"><tr><td>
<table cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%">
<tr>
<td class="thead" colspan="3"><b>Top Referers!</b></td>
</tr> 
          <td class="alt1" align="center" $stylevar[tablewidth]><smallfont><b><u>Members</u></b></smallfont></td>
          <td class="alt2" align="center"><smallfont color="{tableheadtextcolor}"><b><u>Actual 
            # of referrals verified</u></b></smallfont></td>
          <td class="alt1" align="center"><smallfont><b><u>Members 
            Referred<br>
            And Successfully Registered/Activated</u></b></smallfont></td>
        </tr>
<tr align="center">
	<td><smallfont><b><a href="member.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&action=getinfo&userid=$referrer[userid]">$referrer[username]</a></b></smallfont></td>
	 <td><smallfont>$referreractual</smallfont></td>
	<td><smallfont>$referrerlist</smallfont></td>
</tr>
</table>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
$footer
</body>
</html>
Attached Files
File Type: php referals.php (2.9 KB, 50 views)
Reply With Quote
  #156  
Old 04-21-2004, 10:19 PM
gspot's Avatar
gspot gspot is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Nevada
Posts: 200
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gspot
I dont know what I'm doing wrong here, please can someone help me on this. I have the following file being called: "referals.php" with the .php scripting in it and one template being used as well called: "reflist"... Any help would be appreciated, no matter what I do, nothing is outputed from the database. I see the columns correctly, but no usernames or number of referrals, I know there are many members with referrals at this time also. Maybe it's just something messed up in my coding.. PLEASE HELP...

HTML Code:
$stylevar[htmldoctype]
<html dir="$stylevar[textdirection]" lang="$stylevar[languagecode]">
<head>
<title>$vboptions[bbtitle] - Top Referrers</title>
$headinclude
</head>
<body>
$header
$navbar

<table cellpadding="$stylevar[outerborderwidth]" cellspacing="0" border="0" class="tborder" width="$stylevar[tablewidth]" align="center"><tr><td>
<table cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%">
<tr>
<td class="thead" colspan="3"><b>Top Referers!</b></td>
</tr> 
          <td class="alt1" align="center" $stylevar[tablewidth]><smallfont><b><u>Members</u></b></smallfont></td>
          <td class="alt2" align="center"><smallfont color="{tableheadtextcolor}"><b><u>Actual 
            # of referrals verified</u></b></smallfont></td>
          <td class="alt1" align="center"><smallfont><b><u>Members 
            Referred<br>
            And Successfully Registered/Activated</u></b></smallfont></td>
        </tr>
<tr align="center">
	<td><smallfont><b><a href="member.php?s=$session[sessionhash]&action=getinfo&userid=$referrer[userid]">$referrer[username]</a></b></smallfont></td>
	 <td><smallfont>$referreractual</smallfont></td>
	<td><smallfont>$referrerlist</smallfont></td>
</tr>
</table>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
$footer
</body>
</html>
SO no one can help me here... WOW.. thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #157  
Old 04-23-2004, 04:43 PM
PuntoPower PuntoPower is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 37
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

hi, i installed this and it worked all ok.

wat im trying to achieve is have a phpMyChat section in it inbetween the header and the footer.

how do i go about this? is there code that can call the file for the chat

www.mywebsite.com/chat/chat/index.php3

that places it in the center. im only have basic html. can i create a table and have the page inside that?

plz help
Reply With Quote
  #158  
Old 04-24-2004, 03:15 PM
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Litchfield, Me
Posts: 664
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gspot
SO no one can help me here... WOW.. thanks.
I have found that you don't always get replies to any questions you ask here. I wish the support were better. But this is a hack so I guess we should expect that.

You say you have done exactly as shown in the first page of this post. But you added to the PHP file. The way I understand this hack is that is was created so you can use the template that you create to put all your information in that you want displayed.

I looked at your PHP file and you added to that. I doin think it was intended for this to be done. That is why I think no-one has replied to you on this. You have added the following code in you PHP file:

Code:
//start referral script//
$max=3; //This number decides how many users to display
$referrers = $DB_site->query("SELECT COUNT(*) AS referrals, user.username, user.userid FROM user AS users LEFT JOIN user ON (users.referrerid = user.userid)
                     WHERE users.referrerid <> 0
                     AND user.usergroupid=2
                     GROUP BY users.referrerid
                     ORDER BY referrals DESC
                     LIMIT $max");
while ($referrer=$DB_site->fetch_array($referrers)) {
	$referreds = $DB_site->query("SELECT username FROM user WHERE referrerid = '$referrer[userid]' AND user.usergroupid=2
GROUP BY username
ORDER BY username ASC");
	while ($referred = $DB_site->fetch_array($referreds)){
    $enc_username = urlencode($referred[username]);//get username for href link info below
		if ($referrerlist) {
			$referrerlist.=", <A HREF=member.php?action=getinfo&username=$enc_username>$referred[username]</A>";//make referred members clickable to user info.
		} else {
			$referrerlist ="<A HREF=member.php?action=getinfo&username=$enc_username>$referred[username]</A>"; //make referred members clickable to user info.
		}
}
//show actual number of verified/registered members script
$referredstest = $DB_site->query("SELECT COUNT(*) AS username FROM user WHERE referrerid = '$referrer[userid]' AND user.usergroupid=2
GROUP BY user.usergroupid
ORDER BY referrerid DESC");
	while ($referred11 = $DB_site->fetch_array($referredstest)){
		if ($referreractual) {
			$referreractual.=", $referred11[username] ";
		} else {
			$referreractual = "$referred11[username]";
		}
//end actual # script
	}
}
Reply With Quote
  #159  
Old 04-27-2004, 01:17 AM
Cold Steel's Avatar
Cold Steel Cold Steel is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 222
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

$vboptions[bburl] works better than $vboptions[homeurl] for those who don't have vB installed in the root directory.
Reply With Quote
  #160  
Old 04-29-2004, 03:22 AM
Rick Sample Rick Sample is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 407
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I'm lost can someone try to fill me in? LOL

Ok all I need to do is open up notepad and copy the first set of text in their right? I don't need to add any other <body> tags or anything?

When I want to add stuff I just edit the template or do I edit the so called test file?

Thanks for helping a NewB
Reply With Quote
  #161  
Old 04-29-2004, 07:18 PM
Cold Steel's Avatar
Cold Steel Cold Steel is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Manhattan
Posts: 222
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Save the first set of text as a .php file in Notepad. Upload to your server.

When you want to add stuff edit the template. You don't need to edit the PHP file again.
Reply With Quote
  #162  
Old 04-30-2004, 05:37 AM
welo welo is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 172
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I've been playing with this and it's a pretty neat thing . Cheers for putting this info together. I do a quick question I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction on, however.

I'm working on being able to being able to display a list of agreements all from one primary page using the do= thing. So I have agreement.php setup like is described in the tutorial and instead of

Code:
eval('print_output("' . fetch_template('AGREEMENT') . '");');
...at the end of the file, I have instead added something like:

Code:
// Grab template for standard agreement
if ($_REQUEST['do'] == 'standard')
{
    eval('print_output("' . fetch_template('agree_standard') . '");');
}

// Or grab template for special agreement
elseif ($_REQUEST['do'] == 'special')
{
    eval('print_output("' . fetch_template('agree_special') . '");');
}

// Template for main agreement page if no 'do' statement
else
{
	eval('print_output("' . fetch_template('AGREEMENT') . '");');
}
This works fine except the templates for AGREEMENT, agree_standard, and agree_special all basically contain the same code except for the body of the agreement itself. Meaning, it sounds to me like each template contains a lot of redundant code, e.g.

Code:
$stylevar[htmldoctype]
<html dir="$stylevar[textdirection]" lang="$stylevar[languagecode]">
<head>
<title>$vboptions[bbtitle]</title>
$headinclude
etc.

How do I set it up so the AGREEMENT template contains this primary structure while child templates like agree_standard aren't forced to repeat it within their own structure, and just contain the HTML I need for that page's 'do' statement?
Reply With Quote
  #163  
Old 04-30-2004, 11:17 AM
sross sross is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 355
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I'm on the verge of a nervous breakdown here! lol

I have a nice page working, but I need the "what's going on?" info at the bottom. I've been trying to do this for 4 hours now. I think I've tried everything I'm capable of with no luck. I took the 'What's going on?' box and added it to the template, I then took the what's going on php info and added that to my php file for this hack. I got a few items to work but not all of them. Can someone please help me do this? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #164  
Old 04-30-2004, 05:30 PM
SVTBlackLight01's Avatar
SVTBlackLight01 SVTBlackLight01 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Texas
Posts: 504
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

welo,

Put the HTML you need for that page's 'do' statement in avariable like this:

PHP Code:
if ($_REQUEST['do'] == 'agree_standard')
{
    eval(
'$whatever = "' fetch_template('agree_standard') . '";');
    eval(
'print_output("' fetch_template('AGREEMENT') . '");');
}
if (
$_REQUEST['do'] == 'agree_special')
{
    eval(
'$whatever = "' fetch_template('agree_special') . '";');
    eval(
'print_output("' fetch_template('AGREEMENT') . '");');
}
else
{
    eval(
'$whatever = "' fetch_template('default_do_template') . '";');
    eval(
'print_output("' fetch_template('AGREEMENT') . '");');

Then add $whatever in your AGREEMENT template where you want the 'do' stuff to appear.
Reply With Quote
  #165  
Old 04-30-2004, 05:51 PM
welo welo is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 172
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

That's exactly what I was trying to do. Thanks man. I've been switching off between working on this and writing all kinds of legal crap for the actual agreements, and just couldn't see it. Sure makes sense now . Thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #166  
Old 04-30-2004, 08:27 PM
sross sross is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 355
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I'll donate $15 to someone's paypal account if they can help me with my issue in post #163 , I'm desperate!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.06345 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,457KB
  • Queries Executed 31 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (4)bbcode_code
  • (3)bbcode_html
  • (7)bbcode_php
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_article
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (2)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (16)post_thanks_box
  • (5)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (16)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (16)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (15)postbit
  • (2)postbit_attachment
  • (16)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (16)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_attachment
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete