Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 3 Discussion > vB3 Programming Discussions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-21-2006, 03:24 PM
Quarterbore Quarterbore is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Valley Forge PA
Posts: 538
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default Retaining line breaks when data comes back out of mysql?

I have a project I am working on and I have data saved in my database that has line breaks retained. My problem is that when I go through and pull the row of data from my database and put the cells into a $variable I no longer have the line breaks....

As an example:

$name=$row[name];
$seasons=$row[seasons];

Assuming that $seasons is a list of seasons with line breaks or white space to format the output... what command do I need so that the output will retain line breaks?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-21-2006, 04:06 PM
Adrian Schneider's Avatar
Adrian Schneider Adrian Schneider is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,528
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Setting one variable equal to another will not change the original content... My guess is your line breaks are "\n" (whitespace) and not HTML breaks - so when you output it, they are ignored. Look at the nl2br function - this will add in <br /> with each new line.

Edit: alternatively, you can wrap your output in <pre> ... </pre> to retain whitespace.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-21-2006, 04:19 PM
Quarterbore Quarterbore is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Valley Forge PA
Posts: 538
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

My issue is that I am trying to reuse data entered by another script...


THANK YOU!!! The nl2br function was what I needed!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-22-2006, 11:54 PM
Quarterbore Quarterbore is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Valley Forge PA
Posts: 538
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

OK, I am close but not quite there yet...

From the help above I have been able to export my data from my database to a php page and the text is retainining line breaks. Following is an example of what the data looks like:

File 1
PHP Code:
while ( $rowmysql_fetch_array($result) ) {
$test nl2br($row['test']);
}
echo 
$test
Will give me a result that looks like:
Quote:
One
Two Three
Four Five Six
Now what I need to do is create a page that will allow me to edit my values in my script as follows:

File 1 (Later in the code)
PHP Code:
<form action="updatetest.php" method="post">
<textarea rows="10" cols="30" name="updatetest" wrap="physical"><?php echo $test ?></textarea><br /> 
<INPUT type="submit" value="Update Test"> <INPUT type="reset">
</form>
So, to finish this I know I need to create a new PHP file named updatetest.php and that the value that I will be receiving is $updatetest.

What I can not figure out for the life of me is what do I need to do to get the output variable posted from in File #1 to retain the line breaks (\n) when the gets to my second file so that my second file can do a mysql UPDATE....

The line breaks are critical for my project as the values I am updating are lists of items.

Thanks for any advise!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-23-2006, 12:35 AM
Adrian Schneider's Avatar
Adrian Schneider Adrian Schneider is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,528
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quarterbore, I'm not really sure what you are asking. If you want to chat about it (easier to solve problems in real time), you can find my contact info in my profile.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-23-2006, 01:12 AM
Quarterbore Quarterbore is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Valley Forge PA
Posts: 538
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Well, I can describe it better....

I have a Database I am building that serves up information to a Timeshare Resorts Database as in the following link:

http://www.timeshareforums.com/resor...e.php?resort=1

Before I added the nl2br function my text was running on (no line breaks) but as you can see it is all formated now. What I need to do is create a script that will allow me to edit the data as there are too many errors in the data for me to use phpmyadmin to correct them.

The database was actually created using vBaLinks but the vBaLinks program was too limiting for me to use the data as I want so I created a new database with my resort information and now I am trying to flesh out the rest of the tools I need to edit and serve up the data.

Also, does anybody suggest a good MYSQL book? I have a few PHP books but I really need to buy a good MYSQL book to help me get through these issues...

Edit:

Here is a sample page:


http://www.timeshareforums.com/editr...php?resort=300

The code is set such that the value in the RCI Season info comes from this:

PHP Code:
RCI Season Info<br>
                <textarea rows="15" cols="30" name="uprstrciseas" wrap="physical"><?php echo $rstrciseas1 ?></textarea><br />
It is POSTED to my second page as: $uprstrciseas and when you click the "Update" you see that I lose the line breaks...

Note: This is not updating anything in my database as obviously if it were I would have this locked down...

My full output template looks like the following so you can see the data I am working with:

http://www.timeshareforums.com/resor...php?resort=300

When I am done I hope to integrate this into my vB system to asign edit permissions and the like but as of now it is a stand alone application to keep in "simple"

OK, I talked with a SQL developer at work and he gave me a hint that seems to have solved my problems.... To send a $variable and retain the line breaks it is necessary to convert it to html before passing the value via a POST command...

For example:

PHP Code:
$variable addslashes(htmlspecialchars($_POST['variable])); 
When the value is received, I then need to undo the changes in the posted value using the following code:

PHP Code:
nl2br($_POST['uprstrciseas']); 
Amazing.... I spent hours searching every book I have to figure this out and he spit it out like it was common knowledge

This was a major victory but it is rather anti-climatic that two lines of code that are that short were all I needed... Now I can work on programing the rest of my page... WOW!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04013 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,228KB
  • Queries Executed 13 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (5)bbcode_php
  • (1)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (6)post_thanks_box
  • (6)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (6)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (6)postbit
  • (6)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (6)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_postinfo_query
  • fetch_postinfo
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete