Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 3 Discussion > vB3 General Discussions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-07-2004, 08:50 PM
youradultworld youradultworld is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 18
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default custom profile fields *help*

$customfields_profile I believe is what I have tracked down the output of when I create custom profile fields.

I created a custom user field, 'single or couple?' - two radio buttons.
Depending on which is selected, I want a 2nd set of questions to disappear and reappar. I have the javascript for this.

Let me get to my question,

If I delete the custom profile field the database entry also gets deleted, but I have found the right where i can manually add html, and javascript I imagine, to the template, so how can I somehow delete them but still have the database entries so that I can hard code into the template my own custom user field?

Thanks anyone who can help me in any way.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-07-2004, 09:37 PM
HiDeo's Avatar
HiDeo HiDeo is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 306
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I found another solution for your problem using custom profile fields !

Please check your pms !
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-01-2006, 08:30 PM
mousi mousi is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Greece
Posts: 16
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Can you please post this solution here? I am using vbulletin 3.5.4 and I have created 2 custom profile fields. The one is a select box and the other is a text box. I want to make a javascript so when the user selects the first option from the select box, the text box becomes readOnly, grey and it has a value that I want. So I did the following:

userfield_select template:
Code:
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
function nostudreg() {
if (document.register.csel_field5.value==1) {
document.register.ctb_field7.value="My value";
document.register.ctb_field7.readOnly=true;
document.register.ctb_field7.style="background:#CCCCCC";
} else {
if (document.register.ctb_field7.value=="My value") {
document.register.ctb_field7.value="";
document.register.ctb_field7.readOnly=false;
document.register.ctb_field7.style="background:#FFFFFF";
}
}
}
function nostudpro() {
if (document.profileform.csel_field5.value==1) {
document.profileform.ctb_field7.value="My Value";
document.profileform.ctb_field7.readOnly=true;
document.profileform.ctb_field7.style="background:#CCCCCC";
} else {
if (document.profileform.ctb_field7.value=="My Value") {
document.profileform.ctb_field7.value="";
document.profileform.ctb_field7.readOnly=false;
document.profileform.ctb_field7.style="background:#FFFFFF";
}
}
}
//-->
</script>
<fieldset class="fieldset">
    <legend><label for="csel_$profilefieldname">$profilefield[title]</label></legend>
    <table cellpadding="0" cellspacing="$stylevar[formspacer]" border="0" width="100%">
    <tr>
        <td>$profilefield[description]</td>
    </tr>
    <tr>
        <td>
            <if condition="$show['optionspage']"><span style="float:$stylevar[right]"></if>
                        <if condition="THIS_SCRIPT=='register'">
            <select name="userfield[$profilefieldname]" id="csel_$profilefieldname" onchange="nostudreg();">
                        <else />
                        <select name="userfield[$profilefieldname]" id="csel_$profilefieldname" onchange="nostudpro();">
</if>
                <if condition="$show['noemptyoption']"><option value="0" $selected></option></if>
                $selectbits
            </select>
            
            <if condition="$show['optionspage']"></span><label for="csel_$profilefieldname">$profilefield[title]:</label></if>
            
        </td>
    </tr>
    $optionalfield
    </table>
</fieldset>
<input type="hidden" name="userfield[{$profilefieldname}_set]" value="1" />
As you can see I made two different javascript functions for "register" and "edit profile".

The funny thing is that my script works as expected in "register" but it doesn't work in "edit profile". In "edit profile" it's the onchange event that doesn't work and not the function. I even tried to do this:
Code:
function nostudpro() {
alert('alert');
}
but it doesn't work either!
Can someone help me? What is the problem with this? Thanks in advance...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.03520 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,182KB
  • Queries Executed 13 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (2)bbcode_code
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (3)post_thanks_box
  • (3)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (3)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (3)postbit
  • (3)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (3)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_postinfo_query
  • fetch_postinfo
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete