Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 3 Discussion > vB3 Programming Discussions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-30-2006, 06:48 PM
error_22 error_22 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 108
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default limit number of characters

I want to limit the numbers of characters, but i dont know how to do that. Can someone help me?

PHP Code:
if ($show == "ad"){
    
$sql "SELECT * FROM ads Where id='".$_GET[id]."'";
    
$result mysql_query($sql) or die("SQL: $sql ".mysql_error());
    while (
$adsresult mysql_fetch_array($resultMYSQL_ASSOC))
    {
    echo 
"$adsresult[fname] $adsresult[lname] <br>
      <b>E-post:</b> 
$adsresult[email] <br>
      <b>Kategori:</b> 
$adsresult[category] <br>
      <b>Rubrik:</b> 
$adsresult[head] <br>
      <b>Meddelande:</b> 
$adsresult[message] <br>
      <b>Datum:</b> 
$adsresult[date] <br>";
  }} 
I want to limit the numbers of characters in just "$adsresult[message]" and also add "..." after, is that possible?

Thanks in advance
Niklas
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-30-2006, 09:30 PM
Princeton's Avatar
Princeton Princeton is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Vineland, NJ
Posts: 6,693
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

try: fetch_trimmed_title($text, $limit)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-30-2006, 09:49 PM
sabret00the's Avatar
sabret00the sabret00the is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London
Posts: 5,268
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

alternatively www.php.net/substr
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-02-2006, 01:37 PM
error_22 error_22 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 108
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks a lot for replying!

Im experiencing a problem though;

If I use...
PHP Code:
echo substr('abcdef'04);  // abcd 
...It works, but not if I replace "abcdef" with "$adsresult[message]" i just get:

"$ads"

Im assuming it simply prints parts of the variable, what do I ned to change so it actually prints the content of the variable?

Thanks so much
Niklas

EDIT: nvm, it works now, thanks a lot for helping!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-02-2006, 02:50 PM
Code Monkey's Avatar
Code Monkey Code Monkey is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,080
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Don't put quotes aroud the variable and it should be $adsresult['message'].
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05226 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,203KB
  • Queries Executed 13 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (2)bbcode_php
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (5)post_thanks_box
  • (5)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (5)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (5)postbit
  • (5)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (5)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_postinfo_query
  • fetch_postinfo
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete