Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.0 > vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Additional Navbar Details »»
Additional Navbar
Version: 1.00, by attroll attroll is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2023 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: 3.0.0 Rating:
Released: 05-15-2004 Last Update: 06-05-2004 Installs: 126
Uses Plugins Template Edits
 
No support by the author.

Dispite what category this is in it works with vBulletin 3.5. Just read the directions.

What this does is create another navbar with drop down menu?s by typing $navbar2 in any of your templates. It is just like the one that comes with vBulletin 3.

After seeing a lot of replies about users wanting another navbar besides the basic one that comes with vBulletin. I waited for someone else to write one. But no one stepped forward and wrote one. I wanted this for my site and got tired of waiting for someone else to write it. So I played around and created this one for myself. I though I would share it with everyone.

Note: If you do not want to add a separate navbar template you can also substitute the steps in 5A through 5D and insert the navbar2.txt after you have edited it the way you want and into the same places as I mentioned for the $navbar2 in your default navbar and you will not have to do any of these other steps.

I put a lot of description tags in the HTML file to help explain what everything does. Once you understand what is going on here you can removed these. With very little modifications you can add to, remove or move items around in this navbar.

1. To install this hack you will have to create a template in you ADMINCP and call it ?navbar2? and insert the contents of the attached file "navbar2.txt" into this template file. Right now it is set up for my site. So you will have to modify it to what you want in this navbar for your site.

2. Put the following command in your phpinclude_start template:
PHP Code:
eval('$navbar2 = "' fetch_template('navbar2') . '";'); 
2A. This is for users that have vB 3.5 and up. Step 2 will not work because the phpinclude_start template no longer exist in versions 3.5 and higher. So for 3.5 users ignore step 2 and use 2A.

Plugin System
Add new Plugin

Hook Location: global_start
Title: navbar2
Plugin PHP Code:
PHP Code:
eval('$navbar2 = "' fetch_template('navbar2') . '";'); 
3. Now put the following command in you header or what ever template where your want the new navbar to be displayed (samples of where to put them are in the attached photos and directions are in 5A, B, C, D.):
PHP Code:
$navbar2 
4. Since the template is uncached you will have an extra query on each page. To fix, open global.php
Find:
PHP Code:
// misc useful 
Add below:
PHP Code:
'navbar2'
5A. Under current Navigation / Breadcrumb Templaters - navbar:
Find:
Code:
<!-- / nav buttons bar -->
Below that place:
Code:
$navbar2
5B. On top of forums tables:
Find:
Code:
<!-- / PAGENAV POPUP -->
</if>
Below that place:
Code:
$navbar2
5C. Under your header:
Find:
Code:
<br />
<!-- breadcrumb, login, pm info -->
Above that add:
Code:
$navbar2
5D. Top of current navbar:
Find:
Code:
<!-- breadcrumb, login, pm info -->
Under that add:
Code:
$navbar2
vBadvance CMPS using vB 3.5 or higher. To get this working with the homepage you will have to do the following.

Go into your ADMINCP-->vBa CPMS-->Default Setting-->Portal Output Global Variables and add navbar2 in the block there and save it.

Arcaded hack. You will need to go into your darcaded hack and edit a line. Here are the directions:
Go to you arcade/functions/functions.php
open it with a text editor:
Find:
Code:
global $header, $vbphrase, $vboptions, $stylevar, $headinclude, $bbuserinfo, $session, $show, $pmbox;
global $forumjump, $timezone, $logincode, $_USEROPTIONS, $scriptpath, $admincpdir, $modcpdir, $quickchooserbits;
Replace with:
Code:
global $header, $vbphrase, $vboptions, $stylevar, $headinclude, $bbuserinfo, $session, $show, $pmbox;
global $forumjump, $timezone, $logincode, $_USEROPTIONS, $scriptpath, $admincpdir, $modcpdir, $quickchooserbits, $navbar2;

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #152  
Old 09-03-2005, 04:59 AM
JMH11788 JMH11788 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 83
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Here is a fix for people that want a navbar ontop.

You will have the problem like in post #33

i had the problem. it had no border ontop and a thick one on bottom.

i spent a couple hours trying to figure the stupid thing out.

its really easy and i dont know why it took me so long to figure out.

anyways,

in navbar2 template find:

PHP Code:
<!-- nav buttons bar -->
<
div align="center">
    <
table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center" style="border-top-width:0px"
and replace with:

PHP Code:
<!-- nav buttons bar -->
<
div align="center">
    <
table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]cellspacing="0" border="0" width="100%" align="center" style="border-bottom-width:0px"
easy as that. not sure why no one else posted the solution
Reply With Quote
  #153  
Old 09-07-2005, 03:59 AM
sbrad sbrad is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 6
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

This thing turned out beautifully. Thanks!
http://forums.officerresource.com
Reply With Quote
  #154  
Old 09-07-2005, 03:34 PM
mustang_lex mustang_lex is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 153
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I love it. However why doesn't the Navbar2 showup when I go into my arcade?

its arcade.php BTW
Reply With Quote
  #155  
Old 09-07-2005, 03:54 PM
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Litchfield, Me
Posts: 664
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mustang_lex
I love it. However why doesn't the Navbar2 showup when I go into my arcade?

its arcade.php BTW
It has something to do with your arcade hack. You most likely need to add "$navbar2" to your globals in your arcade index or main arcade php file.
Reply With Quote
  #156  
Old 09-07-2005, 04:28 PM
mustang_lex mustang_lex is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 153
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Ya its iproarcade . you can see it when you go to my site. I opened the arcade.php file and it just says load ./global.php ???
Reply With Quote
  #157  
Old 09-09-2005, 06:42 AM
attroll's Avatar
attroll attroll is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Litchfield, Me
Posts: 664
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mustang_lex
Ya its iproarcade . you can see it when you go to my site. I opened the arcade.php file and it just says load ./global.php ???
I am looking at you arcade right now.

Try this in your arcade functions. But first before you make any modifications remember to make a backup.

Go to you arcade/functions/functions.php

open it with a text editor:

Find:
PHP Code:
     global $header$vbphrase$vboptions$stylevar$headinclude$bbuserinfo$session$show$pmbox;
global 
$forumjump$timezone$logincode$_USEROPTIONS$scriptpath$admincpdir$modcpdir$quickchooserbits
Replace with:
PHP Code:
     global $header$vbphrase$vboptions$stylevar$headinclude$bbuserinfo$session$show$pmbox;
global 
$forumjump$timezone$logincode$_USEROPTIONS$scriptpath$admincpdir$modcpdir$quickchooserbits$navbar2
If this does not work then delte the file and put your backup back in.
Reply With Quote
  #158  
Old 09-09-2005, 12:35 PM
mustang_lex mustang_lex is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 153
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by attroll
I am looking at you arcade right now.

Try this in your arcade functions. But first before you make any modifications remember to make a backup.

Go to you arcade/functions/functions.php

open it with a text editor:

Find:
PHP Code:
     global $header$vbphrase$vboptions$stylevar$headinclude$bbuserinfo$session$show$pmbox;
global 
$forumjump$timezone$logincode$_USEROPTIONS$scriptpath$admincpdir$modcpdir$quickchooserbits
Replace with:
PHP Code:
     global $header$vbphrase$vboptions$stylevar$headinclude$bbuserinfo$session$show$pmbox;
global 
$forumjump$timezone$logincode$_USEROPTIONS$scriptpath$admincpdir$modcpdir$quickchooserbits$navbar2
If this does not work then delte the file and put your backup back in.
How can I say this......

THANK YOU! it worked like a charm. I never even thought of looking there. You truly are a genieus!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #159  
Old 09-09-2005, 02:22 PM
ReZ ReZ is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 54
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Does this work with version 3.0.7?
Reply With Quote
  #160  
Old 09-09-2005, 03:16 PM
mustang_lex mustang_lex is offline
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 153
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Yes it does. I have 3.0.7. they should update that
Reply With Quote
  #161  
Old 09-09-2005, 05:53 PM
ReZ ReZ is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 54
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Ok thanks ^
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.06326 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,352KB
  • Queries Executed 27 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (10)bbcode_code
  • (11)bbcode_php
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (4)pagenav_pagelink
  • (1)pagenav_pagelinkrel
  • (11)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (11)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (11)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (11)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_postinfo_query
  • fetch_postinfo
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete