Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Article Depository > Read An Article > vBulletin 5 Connect Articles
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
[vB5] User Profile Fields in the postbit templates
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 41,180

 

California/Idaho
Show Printable Version Email this Page Subscription
Lynne Lynne is offline 04-09-2013, 10:00 PM

Using your User Profile Fields on your site

This article is written with the assumption that you have already created your own User Profile Fields in the User Profile Field Manager. If you need help with this, you may read about it in the manual here - http://www.vbulletin.com/docs/html/profile

For the Purposes of this article, I will be referring to "fieldx" as the name of your profile field. Your real name will be found in the User Profile Manager in the "Name" column - field1, field2, etc.


First thing to do is figure out which fields you want to add to your postbit. Go to your Admincp > User Profile Fields > User Profile Field Manager and note both the Field Name (field1, field2, etc) and the Category the field is in (see image 1). The Profile Fields are listed under their Category Title on this page. It should either be "(Uncategorized)" or have some other category listed. To then get the Category ID, go to User Profile Field Categories, click to Edit the category you want the ID of, and it will be listed at the top - id x (see image 2). Uncategorized Categories have no Category ID.
Image 1:


Image 2:
So, now that you have a list of field ids and category ids, you can now easily add them to your postbit.

First make sure your hook system is active (it is turned off by default). Go to Admincp > Settings > Products/Hook System > Enable/Disable Hook System > Yes.

Now, go to Admincp > Products & Hooks > Manage Hooks and click the link that says "[Add New Hook]". In that new hook, set the following:
Hook is Active: Yes
Hook Location: conversation_userstats
Title: Show Profile Fields in Postbit
Template Name: conversation_fields
Hook Arguments: conversation=conversation
SAVE
Now go to Admincp > Styles & Templates > Style Manager > Add New Template and on that page, set the following:
Title: conversation_fields
Template:
Code:
{vb:data userInfo, user, fetchProfileInfo, {vb:raw conversation.userid}}
For each field you want shown, you will need to add this code under that line:
Code:
<vb:if condition="$userInfo['fieldX']"><li><label>{vb:phrase fieldX_title}:</label> <span>{vb:raw userInfo.customFields.default.fieldX_title.val}</span></li></vb:if>
Replace the X in "FieldX" (three times) with the fieldid and, if your field is in a Category other than Uncategoried, then replace "default" with "categoryY_title" where Y is the category id.

So, for instance, say I have the following I want to add:
Name Category
field5 (uncategoried)
field7 New Cat(id 1)
Then my template would look like this:
Code:
{vb:data userInfo, user, fetchProfileInfo, {vb:raw conversation.userid}}

<vb:if condition="$userInfo['field5']"><li><label>{vb:phrase field5_title}:</label> <span>{vb:raw userInfo.customFields.default.field5_title.val}</span></li></vb:if>

<vb:if condition="$userInfo['field7']"><li><label>{vb:phrase field7_title}:</label> <span>{vb:raw userInfo.customFields.category1_title.field7_title.val}</span}</li></vb:if>
That's it!

If running 5.1.0, there is a code fix to apply here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zachery
In the templates, after applying the following change to

core/vb/library/content/text.php

Find

PHP Code:
 if (!$canseehiddencustomfields)
{
// Get profile fields information
$fieldsInfo vB_Cache::instance(vB_Cache::CACHE_STD)->read('vBProfileFields');

if (empty(
$fieldsInfo))
{
$fieldsInfo $this->assertor->getRows('vBForum:profilefield');
vB_Cache::instance(vB_Cache::CACHE_STD)->write('vBProfileFields'$fieldsInfo1440, array('vBProfileFieldsChg'));
}

foreach (
$fieldsInfo as $field)
{
$fields['field' $field['profilefieldid']] = $field['hidden'];
}

Change it to:

PHP Code:
// Get profile fields information
$fieldsInfo vB_Cache::instance(vB_Cache::CACHE_STD)->read('vBProfileFields');
  if (empty(
$fieldsInfo))
{
$fieldsInfo $this->assertor->getRows('vBForum:profilefield');
vB_Cache::instance(vB_Cache::CACHE_STD)->write('vBProfileFields'$fieldsInfo1440, array('vBProfileFieldsChg'));
}
  foreach (
$fieldsInfo as $field)
{
$fields['field' $field['profilefieldid']] = $field['hidden'];

Attached Images
File Type: png UPF Categories.png (25.5 KB, 0 views)
File Type: png UPF Manager.png (62.7 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 03-17-2015, 06:58 PM
raynestorm raynestorm is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Attached are the screen shots.
Thanks.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg profilefield5-a.jpg (38.8 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg profilefield5-b.jpg (46.6 KB, 0 views)
File Type: jpg postbit.jpg (33.5 KB, 0 views)
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 03-18-2015, 09:09 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

For the option, you cut off the screen right where it says Display Page - do you have it set to Edit Profile? I think it needs to be for this to work.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 03-18-2015, 10:01 PM
raynestorm raynestorm is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
For the option, you cut off the screen right where it says Display Page - do you have it set to Edit Profile? I think it needs to be for this to work.
You are right! It does have to be set to Edit Profile. I had set it to "Other", but I can't remember why, exactly. Display Page only controls where the field contents is displayed?

Thanks for the help!
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 04-27-2015, 03:47 PM
arshadeomran arshadeomran is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Tehran
Posts: 22
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
Using your User Profile Fields on your site

This article is written with the assumption that you have already created your own User Profile Fields in the User Profile Field Manager. If you need help with this, you may read about it in the manual here - http://www.vbulletin.com/docs/html/profile

For the Purposes of this article, I will be referring to "fieldx" as the name of your profile field. Your real name will be found in the User Profile Manager in the "Name" column - field1, field2, etc.


First thing to do is figure out which fields you want to add to your postbit. Go to your Admincp > User Profile Fields > User Profile Field Manager and note both the Field Name (field1, field2, etc) and the Category the field is in (see image 1). The Profile Fields are listed under their Category Title on this page. It should either be "(Uncategorized)" or have some other category listed. To then get the Category ID, go to User Profile Field Categories, click to Edit the category you want the ID of, and it will be listed at the top - id x (see image 2). Uncategorized Categories have no Category ID.
Image 1:


Image 2:
So, now that you have a list of field ids and category ids, you can now easily add them to your postbit.

First make sure your hook system is active (it is turned off by default). Go to Admincp > Settings > Products/Hook System > Enable/Disable Hook System > Yes.

Now, go to Admincp > Products & Hooks > Manage Hooks and click the link that says "[Add New Hook]". In that new hook, set the following:
Hook is Active: Yes
Hook Location: conversation_userstats
Title: Show Profile Fields in Postbit
Template Name: conversation_fields
Hook Arguments: conversation=conversation
SAVE
Now go to Admincp > Styles & Templates > Style Manager > Add New Template and on that page, set the following:
Title: conversation_fields
Template:
Code:
{vb:data userInfo, user, fetchProfileInfo, {vb:raw conversation.userid}}
For each field you want shown, you will need to add this code under that line:
Code:
<vb:if condition="$userInfo['fieldX']"><li><label>{vb:phrase fieldX_title}:</label> <span>{vb:raw userInfo.customFields.default.fieldX_title.val}</span></li></vb:if>
Replace the X in "FieldX" (three times) with the fieldid and, if your field is in a Category other than Uncategoried, then replace "default" with "categoryY_title" where Y is the category id.

So, for instance, say I have the following I want to add:
Name Category
field5 (uncategoried)
field7 New Cat(id 1)
Then my template would look like this:
Code:
{vb:data userInfo, user, fetchProfileInfo, {vb:raw conversation.userid}}

<vb:if condition="$userInfo['field5']"><li><label>{vb:phrase field5_title}:</label> <span>{vb:raw userInfo.customFields.default.field5_title.val}</span></li></vb:if>

<vb:if condition="$userInfo['field7']"><li><label>{vb:phrase field7_title}:</label> <span>{vb:raw userInfo.customFields.category1_title.field7_title.val}</span}</li></vb:if>
That's it!

If running 5.1.0, there is a code fix to apply here.
Hi Lynne,
I want to place the new fields of postbit below number of post.
How can I do it?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 04-27-2015, 04:53 PM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by arshadeomran View Post
Hi Lynne,
I want to place the new fields of postbit below number of post.
How can I do it?
Thanks
There isn't a hook there, so you would need to add the code directly to the template.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 04-28-2015, 06:43 AM
arshadeomran arshadeomran is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Tehran
Posts: 22
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
There isn't a hook there, so you would need to add the code directly to the template.
I have used the codes that you wrote in first post. I want only change position of field in postbit so that "number of post" must be the latest field not second field.
Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 07-05-2015, 04:59 PM
heredia21 heredia21 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 39
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Does this no longer working on 5.1.8 Alpha 6? All of a sudden the extra profile fields stopped showing.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04441 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,342KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (6)bbcode_code
  • (2)bbcode_php
  • (5)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_article
  • (1)navbar
  • (4)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (8)post_thanks_box
  • (11)post_thanks_box_bit
  • (8)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (1)post_thanks_postbit
  • (8)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (7)postbit
  • (5)postbit_attachment
  • (8)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (8)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_postinfo_query
  • fetch_postinfo
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • fetch_musername
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_start
  • post_thanks_function_show_thanks_date_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_bit_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_post_thanks_template_end
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_attachment
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete