Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 3 Discussion > vB3 Programming Discussions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-29-2012, 07:14 PM
Jon12345 Jon12345 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 127
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default $_GET - avoid but why?

According to this link...

https://www.vbulletin.com/docs/html/codestandards_gpc

...it states that "Do not use $_GET / $_POST / $_REQUEST etc. variables in templates." But I need to use it in the templates for something I need to achieve.

Why do they say don't use $_GET etc? Is it a security risk or something?

Jon
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-29-2012, 09:14 PM
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 23,748
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You dont ever need to use them in a template.
They are just variables, so you can easily use something else.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-29-2012, 09:43 PM
Jon12345 Jon12345 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 127
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

In that case, how do I check for being on register.php?do=addmember then? I need to check to see if addmember is there.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-29-2012, 10:09 PM
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 13,185
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

In a PM discussion I mentioned to Jon that I thought it was because those variables haven't been "cleaned" and so they could contain anything and wouldn't be safe to include directly in the output. I'm sure that part's true. But I thought they would be OK to use in a condition (for instance in the headinclude template when the 'do' variable isn't in $vbulletin->GPC yet). Otherwise you'd need a plugin to create another variable. But I wasn't sure so Jon wisely decided to ask if anyone else knows.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-29-2012, 10:19 PM
Jon12345 Jon12345 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 127
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Lets imagine the variable is 'dirty'. If you had this...

Code:
<if condition="$_GET['do']=='register'">
run code
</if>
...to my mind there is no danger of code injection so long as I just use the $_GET['do'] to check a condition. Correct me if I'm wrong. It would be different if I was storing the data from the GET into a variable for output.

Is this right?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-29-2012, 11:01 PM
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Nottingham, UK
Posts: 23,748
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You are technically correct, thats not the point.

The standards are designed to prevent you accidently forgetting this. If you never use them in templates, there can never be an issue.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-30-2012, 12:23 AM
Pandemikk Pandemikk is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 292
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

It also states "The only direct access to these variables is with $_POST['do'] and $_GET['do']"

For the reason why it shouldn't be used in templates, I, personally, believe is because you should be doing those checks in the PHP code.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 03-30-2012, 12:51 AM
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 13,185
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Paul makes a good point, I didn't notice that that was from the coding standards. So it's not claiming that there's necessarily any problem, just that the vb coding standards say not to do it.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pandemikk View Post
For the reason why it shouldn't be used in templates, I, personally, believe is because you should be doing those checks in the PHP code.
OK, but here's a sorta related question: if someone here asks how they can do something, and they could do it by adding a few lines to a template but it involves using $_GET['do'] in a condition, should they be told to write a plugin because it's the "right" way to do it?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-30-2012, 01:28 AM
Pandemikk Pandemikk is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 292
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kh99 View Post
OK, but here's a sorta related question: if someone here asks how they can do something, and they could do it by adding a few lines to a template but it involves using $_GET['do'] in a condition, should they be told to write a plugin because it's the "right" way to do it?
Same thing can be said about any coding standard. Indent vs. not indenting, proper variable, constant, function naming, etc.,.

It all comes down to the purpose and hassle. I don't recommend editing the default register template, but instead finding the do branch in a plugin then calling your own template: That way it's easier to manage and upgrade.

But if he simply wants to add a few lines and the whole situation would indeed be a lot easier to just do it in the template then by all means do it even if vB coding standards says not to. If he was making a mod to be released to vB.org then I'd say he should do it the right way.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-30-2012, 01:48 AM
kh99 kh99 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Maine
Posts: 13,185
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pandemikk View Post
Same thing can be said about any coding standard. Indent vs. not indenting, proper variable, constant, function naming, etc.,.

It all comes down to the purpose and hassle. I don't recommend editing the default register template, but instead finding the do branch in a plugin then calling your own template: That way it's easier to manage and upgrade.

But if he simply wants to add a few lines and the whole situation would indeed be a lot easier to just do it in the template then by all means do it even if vB coding standards says not to. If he was making a mod to be released to vB.org then I'd say he should do it the right way.

That's pretty much my feeling exactly, but I was wondering what other people thought about it. I think when people are making small mods for themselves it's not very important, so I usually go for the easiest solutions.

Anyway, sorry for hijacking Jon's thread.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04062 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,258KB
  • Queries Executed 13 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (1)bbcode_code
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (1)pagenav_pagelink
  • (10)post_thanks_box
  • (10)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (10)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (10)postbit
  • (10)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (10)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_postinfo_query
  • fetch_postinfo
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete