Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 3 Discussion > vB3 General Discussions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-16-2008, 02:30 AM
Hex_legend Hex_legend is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 750
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default Registration

I would like to edit the page that says

"Thank you XXXX, your registration is now complete. You may now continue to edit your profile or take part in the forums"

I have 2 questions.

1. What is the phrase to edit the text in that box?
2. What is the template that calls that phrase as I want to edit the whole page too, (position of the box etc)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-16-2008, 02:50 AM
dismas's Avatar
dismas dismas is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Vermont
Posts: 720
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

AdminCP > Languages & Phrases > Search Phrases

Search for the words "your registration is now complete". That brings up 'registration_complete'. You should be able to search your templates for where that phrase is used.

Edit: My mistake, I can't find where it's used in the templates...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-16-2008, 02:52 AM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

1. Languages & Phrases > Search in Phrases "your registration is now complete" and you should find the phrase.

2. vboptions > General Settings > Add Template Name in HTML Comments > set to Yes . Then go back to your page and view the source code and you will see the name of the template called around your part of the code.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-16-2008, 02:54 AM
Hex_legend Hex_legend is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 750
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
1. Languages & Phrases > Search in Phrases "your registration is now complete" and you should find the phrase.

2. vboptions > General Settings > Add Template Name in HTML Comments > set to Yes . Then go back to your page and view the source code and you will see the name of the template called around your part of the code.
I asked as I didn't really want to create a test user by registering lol. I know you can delete it, but it will then mess up the user ids for the new users as there will be one missing in sequence lol. I'm picky like that.

Edit - When trying out what Lynne said, it came up as the template STANDARD_ERROR.. From what I understand:
1. it's not an error message.
2. the STANDARD_ERROR message is being called on a lot of templates, so how would I alter the position of this one page one?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11-16-2008, 03:23 AM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Don't delete your test user. It is going to come in very handy over the life of your forum. Whenever you make a change to your board, your going to want to see what it looks like to other users and that is when your test user comes in handy.

STANDARD_ERROR is just a basic template. It's used for several vb messages that get displayed, whether they are considered errors or not. If you are wanting to only change what that page looks like for that one phrase, I think you will have to edit the php page. Somewhere in that page, I think it defines that after registration, the template used for the redirect is "STANDARD_ERROR" and so you may want to create a new one and change the template name there.

Taking a quick look, function standard_error is in /includes/functions.php around line 2801. You may be able to use the hook location there - "error_generic" to define the template to use.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-16-2008, 03:26 AM
Hex_legend Hex_legend is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 750
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I have already created a test user for my forums, so I don't want to keep creating more etc.

I have edited the text for the phrase, of what is displayed in that box, but I have no idea when it comes to php, so I wouldn't know what file to edit and what code to put in to get it to call a different message with that content inside.

Could you shed any light or example code please Lynne?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-16-2008, 03:31 AM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Whoops, I was in the process of editing my post when you posted. Just looked at it again.... this is the function - notice the optional fourth place:

PHP Code:
function standard_error($error ''$headinsert ''$savebadlocation true$override_template ''
Here's the call in register.php around line 1099:
PHP Code:
eval(standard_error(fetch_error('registration_complete'$userinfo['username'], $vbulletin->session->vars['sessionurl'], $vbulletin->options['bburl'] . '/' $vbulletin->options['forumhome'] . '.php'), ''false)); 
So, pass it a template name for one that you create.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-16-2008, 03:33 AM
Hex_legend Hex_legend is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 750
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Forgive me for sounding thick here haha, but it is 5:30am and I've not slept yet lol, but how would I do this? I mean, you said to pass it a template, but templates and php not being my strong point, actually being like 1/10, I am scared that something will mess up haha.

I think it's just my brain telling me that I'm tired, but oh well I want to get this done first
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-16-2008, 03:39 AM
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: California/Idaho
Posts: 41,180
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You need to copy the error template and give it your own name - mytemplate. Modify it to how you want. Then change the register.php line to be something like this:

PHP Code:
eval(standard_error(fetch_error('registration_complete'$userinfo['username'], $vbulletin->session->vars['sessionurl'], $vbulletin->options['bburl'] . '/' $vbulletin->options['forumhome'] . '.php'), ''false'mytemplate')); 
I have never tried this but if I'm reading the function correctly, then it should work.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04213 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,252KB
  • Queries Executed 13 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (3)bbcode_php
  • (1)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (9)post_thanks_box
  • (9)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (9)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (9)postbit
  • (9)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (9)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_postinfo_query
  • fetch_postinfo
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete