Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.7 > vBulletin 3.7 Template Modifications
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Lytebox Intergration. Allows image groups, slideshows and works with embeded images. Details »»
Lytebox Intergration. Allows image groups, slideshows and works with embeded images.
Version: 1.20, by D.Baker D.Baker is offline
Developer Last Online: Oct 2008 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Category: Integration with vBulletin - Version: 3.7.0 Rating:
Released: 05-20-2008 Last Update: Never Installs: 9
Template Edits
Re-useable Code Additional Files Translations  
No support by the author.

This mod has be made redundant by The Image Resizer by TCattitude. So, I no longer support it and recommend you use his plugin instead, it's much better!

This isn't the best mini-mod out there, and I'm not even sure if it's technically a mod. It's closer to a "how to" document than a mod. This works better than most of the proper Lytebox mods out there as it allows image grouping or slideshows (can't have both) and works with images embeded in posts (using ATTACH BBcode, or the little paper clip) . I'm not sure if it works with images in signatures, try it out and let me know. It does not do anything to images embedded using the IMG BBcode (it only works on images linked to by a thumbnail).

LIVE DEMO: Here. Note that I am using the image group feature instead of the slideshow feature.

Anyway, here it is.

If you would like to get Lytebox working with vB 3.7.0 (this should work with other versions, but this is all I have tested it on). You need to do the following.

1) Download latest version of Lytebox here.

2) Edit lytebox.js to your desired settings (can just leave as default if you want).

3) Edit lytebox.css using a find-and-replace tool (even Notepad will do this). You need to swap all the words:
HTML Code:
images
for:
HTML Code:
../images/lytebox
4) Upload lytebox's images folder to "/images/lytebox" using FTP.

5) Upload lytebox.js and lytebox.css to "/clientscript" using FTP.

6) In AdminCP, go to Styles & Templates>Replacement Variable Manager and create a new replacment variable. Set it to replace:
HTML Code:
rel="Lightbox"
with:
HTML Code:
rel="lytebox"
If you want to use the image group feature then replace
HTML Code:
rel="Lightbox"
with:
HTML Code:
rel="lytebox[group]"
This will make all attached/embeded images in the one thread display in lytebox as a group (I am still working on how to make only images from the one post group).

If you want to use the lyteshow feature then replace
HTML Code:
rel="Lightbox"
with:
HTML Code:
rel="lyteshow[group]"
This will make all attached/embeded images in the one thread display in lytebox as a slidshow (I am still working on how to rhis with only images from the one post ).
7) In AdminCP, go Style Manager>Edit Templates>Show Thread Templates>SHOWTHREAD. Click Customize (or Edit) and replace the following code:

Code:
<if condition="$show['lightbox']">
<!-- lightbox scripts -->
    <script type="text/javascript" src="clientscript/vbulletin_lightbox.js?v=$vboptions[simpleversion]"></script>
    <script type="text/javascript">
    <!--
    vBulletin.register_control("vB_Lightbox_Container", "posts", $vboptions[lightboxenabled]);
    //-->
    </script>
<!-- / lightbox scripts -->
</if>
with this code:

Code:
<if condition="$show['lightbox']">
<!-- lightbox scripts -->
    <script type="text/javascript" language="javascript" src="clientscript/lytebox.js"></script>
    <link rel="stylesheet" href="clientscript/lytebox.css" type="text/css" media="screen" />
<!-- / lightbox scripts -->
</if>
8) You need to move the above code into the head section of the SHOWTHREAD template. To do this, you simply cut it and paste it right above the <HEAD> tag.

9) Repeat steps 7 and 8 for the SHOWTHREAD_SHOWPOST template. You can find this template by going into Style Manager>Edit Templates>Show Thread Templates>SHOWTHREAD_SHOWPOST. This will get lytebox working on the individual post page.

10) In AdminCP you need to turn on thumbnails and Lightbox (note that it refers to Lightbox, not lytebox. This is OK). You can do this in the AdminCP at vBulletin Options>Message Attachment Options.

11) Make sure that your images aren't set to load in a New Window. You can change this in the AdminCP at Attachments>Attachments Manager.

12) To enable images embedded using the IMG tag to be resized and enlarged using lytebox, you need to install JASE2's Image Resizer plugin from here and make some code changes.
Make sure you you set Image Resizer to enlarge images in a new window. You do this in AdminCP vBulletin Options>Image Resizer Options>Default Resize Mode and set it to "Open in new window". You also need to set the size you want the IMG embedded images resized to (I set them to the same as my thumbnail settings).
13) Using FTP, browse to /includes/ and edit the following line of PHP code in the file "class_bbcode.php".

PHP Code:
return '<img src="' .  $link '" border="0" alt="" />'
change to:

PHP Code:
return '<a target="_blank" href="' $link '" rel="lytebox[group]"><img src="' $link '" border="0" alt="" /></a>'
NOTE: If you want to use the slideshow feature, simply use rel="lyteshow[group]" rather than rel="lytebox[group]".

14) To remove the yellow warning box from images embedded using IMG tags, add the following CSS to your style.

Code:
.ncode_imageresizer_warning {
    display: none;
}

v1.2

Provides a way to resize images embedded using IMG. It's not perfect, but it works in the meantime.

v1.1
Works when viewing a single post.
Allows for slideshows using lyteshow.


Credits:
Thanks to Andy Huang from the vB team.
Thanks to Lost Heaven for coming up with the code I used in step 13.
Of course, thanks to Markus F. Hay for Lytebox.

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #2  
Old 05-21-2008, 10:00 AM
anestetic anestetic is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 71
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

what is demo or caps ?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-21-2008, 10:08 AM
D.Baker D.Baker is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 64
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Sorry, I don't understand what your referring too.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-21-2008, 10:11 AM
dannykilla's Avatar
dannykilla dannykilla is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 151
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Whats the difference between this and the Image resizer using lytebox hack/mod ?

thanks
Danny
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-21-2008, 10:26 AM
D.Baker D.Baker is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 64
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

My mod works for images that are embedded in a post, it also allows images to be grouped or displayed in as a slide show. Image Resizer does not do these things.

It does not allow resizing images to a set dimension, but it does auto resize images if they are larger than the viewers screen dimensions.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-21-2008, 10:27 AM
dannykilla's Avatar
dannykilla dannykilla is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 151
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

awesome would there be any future update to allow the resizing of images for a specific set dimension?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-21-2008, 12:02 PM
D.Baker D.Baker is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 64
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

If I understand you correctly, and correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't see how that would be any different than what you can do in vB already. Just set the maximum image size to whatever you want it to be in the Attachment Manager (I have attached a screenshot of my recommended settings). Then in vBOptions>Message Attachment Options set the following:

Resize Images: Yes
View Attached Images Inline: Yes
Thumbnail Creation: Yes
Thumbnail Size: 180 (Or whatever you want)

This will mean the end result is that every image attached is displayed by a thumbnail and when clicked on, it will expand with Lytebox to be the size you set in Attachment Manager, which in my case is 1000px wide. If the end user has a screen resolution smaller than 1000px wide, then it automatically down sizes it. What else would you need to do? Setting Lytebox to auto scale images can be achived by changing the size restraints in Attachment Manager.

Keep in mind that Lytebox (so, any plugin based on it ) doesn't actually resize the image file, it just scales it. If you've been running a board for a while now and want to resize all the old images that have been uploaded, any plugin based on Lytebox isn't going to help you reduce the actual image size. All they can do is scale images for the end user, or if combined with a proper PHP based image resizer, replicate the features already in vBulletin board.

That being said, I did not code this plugin. I just compiled a step-by-step on how to intergrate an exsisting web app into vBulletin. So, no I won't be releasing a version that can resize images to a certian size, as I don't see how that's any different than what vBulletin allows you to do already (and I don't know that much about coding).
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-21-2008, 08:55 PM
iogames's Avatar
iogames iogames is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Las Vegas, NV.
Posts: 1,433
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

does it work for 3.6.10?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-22-2008, 02:02 AM
D.Baker D.Baker is offline
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 64
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I'm not sure, I don't see why not. As long as the templates work the same. Give it a try. Do a backup before though, just to be safe. Like I siad in my post above, I've only used it in 3.7.0. I actually only started using vBulletin about a week ago, so I'm not really the guy to ask about these things. I just made this little mod becuase I really needed Lytebox to wrok properly.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-22-2008, 04:16 PM
Wayne Luke's Avatar
Wayne Luke Wayne Luke is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,694
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iogames View Post
does it work for 3.6.10?
3.6.10 doesn't have Lightbox functionality by default so it won't find the replacements and set the relations properly.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04523 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,327KB
  • Queries Executed 25 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (3)bbcode_code
  • (8)bbcode_html
  • (2)bbcode_php
  • (1)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (10)post_thanks_box
  • (10)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (10)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (9)postbit
  • (10)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (10)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_postinfo_query
  • fetch_postinfo
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete