Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 3 Discussion > vB3 Programming Discussions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-16-2008, 01:43 PM
vrokar vrokar is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default Does this Mod Exsist?

Ill try and keep this short. I run a World of Warcraft Guild site and Im looking for a mod that will automatically change the color of certain words found in the forums.

So for example. Theres 9 classes in WoW. Id like any character name mentioned in the site that is a hunter to show up in the hunter Green.

So lets say I have 10 members.

Vrokar - Warrior
Hagzrags - Priest
Chatoo - Priest
Hurgon - Shaman
Chubsy - Hunter
Nekroga - Hunter
Melchom - Warlock
Nasuk - Mage
Skevil - Mage
Jimmyjohn - Mage

Anytime the name Skevil, Jimmyjohn or Nasuk is mentioned they names would automatically show up mage blue. Id want to be able to add key words or names to these "Class" groups as well. Any way to do this? Or any mod you know of able to do this?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-16-2008, 01:51 PM
GameWizard's Avatar
GameWizard GameWizard is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 319
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You can use Replacement Variables which are built into VB.

Style & Templates > Replacement Variable Manager

Simply search for the words desired and replace them with the same word, but wrapped in a color tag.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-16-2008, 04:58 PM
vrokar vrokar is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GameWizard View Post
You can use Replacement Variables which are built into VB.

Style & Templates > Replacement Variable Manager

Simply search for the words desired and replace them with the same word, but wrapped in a color tag.
Ahh ive tried that. When I do it rather then using the code and changing the color of the text it tosses it all in as text. So instead of Getting Druid I end up with (color="FF7C0A")Druid(/color)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-16-2008, 05:23 PM
DarkGizmo DarkGizmo is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 196
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vrokar View Post
Ahh ive tried that. When I do it rather then using the code and changing the color of the text it tosses it all in as text. So instead of Getting Druid I end up with (color="FF7C0A")Druid(/color)
That is your problem right there....it should be: <font color="FF7C0A">Druid</font>
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-16-2008, 07:16 PM
vrokar vrokar is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NegativeSmoke View Post
That is your problem right there....it should be: <font color="FF7C0A">Druid</font>
the ( ) were only used for an example. But ya adding "font" to it worked. Although ive never had to do that before. Odd. Next step... Need to add multiple listings of each and would rather not have a replacement variable for every single guild member. Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-17-2008, 07:51 AM
GameWizard's Avatar
GameWizard GameWizard is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 319
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I'm rather confused what you mean? What exactly are you trying to achieve?

I might be misinterpreting, but couldn't you achieve that by moving the users you wish to a secondary group which will override their current user title or what not to the one you wish?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-19-2008, 11:58 AM
vrokar vrokar is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GameWizard View Post
I'm rather confused what you mean? What exactly are you trying to achieve?

I might be misinterpreting, but couldn't you achieve that by moving the users you wish to a secondary group which will override their current user title or what not to the one you wish?
For the Forum Username yes. And that has already been done. But when their name is typed in a post or thread I want it to display the color based on the class of their in game character.

Now that I think of it. Couldnt I create a BB code? [class=priest]name here[/priest]

and have the bb code set to change the color to the standar class color?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-19-2008, 12:46 PM
GameWizard's Avatar
GameWizard GameWizard is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 319
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Add a new BB Code:

1.1 -- Title: WoW Class Names
1.2 -- Tag: class
1.3 -- Replacement: <span class='{option}'>{param}</span>
1.4 -- Example: [class=priest]Priest[/class]
1.6 -- Use {option}: Yes

Add this to your Additional CSS:

.priest { color:#000000; }

Replace the color with the one you'd like. And then add the rest of the classes. I would suggest you also make buttons for each class from a dropdown, making it easier to select the class you are refering to.

[class=priest]Priest[/class]

The text in green refers to the actual style class which you are defining in your Additional CSS. Whilst the text in Red is the actual text that appears in your threads.

I hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-19-2008, 02:37 PM
vrokar vrokar is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GameWizard View Post
Add a new BB Code:

1.1 -- Title: WoW Class Names
1.2 -- Tag: class
1.3 -- Replacement: <span class='{option}'>{param}</span>
1.4 -- Example: [class=priest]Priest[/class]
1.6 -- Use {option}: Yes

Add this to your Additional CSS:

.priest { color:#000000; }

Replace the color with the one you'd like. And then add the rest of the classes. I would suggest you also make buttons for each class from a dropdown, making it easier to select the class you are refering to.

[class=priest]Priest[/class]

The text in green refers to the actual style class which you are defining in your Additional CSS. Whilst the text in Red is the actual text that appears in your threads.

I hope this helps.
Is there a guide somehwere on how to add a dropdown to mesage editing/posting?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.04088 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,242KB
  • Queries Executed 13 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (5)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (9)post_thanks_box
  • (9)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (9)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (9)postbit
  • (9)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (9)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_postinfo_query
  • fetch_postinfo
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete