Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 3 Discussion > vB3 General Discussions
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-29-2008, 11:32 AM
dcpaq2xx dcpaq2xx is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Merrillville, Indiana
Posts: 362
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default Question - Accessing an external or remote database

Group,

Vbulletin.org communicates with Vbulletin.com to verifiy if a member holds a valid Vbulletin license or not and then decides what access to give them. We are wanting to know how they do this so that we can do the same with our site, but 'they' (Jelsoft/VB Staff) avoid the question and say it cannot be done, and they are able to do this now only because both sites reside on the same server, and the thing is that I can put both ours on the same server too, but they still avoid the question by never replying back when I asked again how...

With our site we are looking for a way to have our board communicate with an external database located on another server using a 'soap' API or some other way of communicating and providing data to our board. (We have the option too to place the database on the same server as the board) We would like to create a database that contains all the current valid licenses issued for a program of ours and add new entries as licenses get sold, then the board would read from this and determine who has access to which things.

Does anyone know how we could go about doing this?

Thanks for reading this.

Doug
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-29-2008, 11:59 AM
snakes1100 snakes1100 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,733
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I doubt you will get a reply telling you how to do this, this is most likely going to be a paid job for a coder to do, i would suggest posting in the "paid request forum".
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-29-2008, 12:10 PM
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 25,415
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

With PHP you can connect to any database you want, providing the MySQL permits connections from teh host where the script is ran. How to connect in a custom script to a custom database, is something your programmer should know.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-29-2008, 08:14 PM
dcpaq2xx dcpaq2xx is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Merrillville, Indiana
Posts: 362
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Who said anything about having a programmer?

Doug
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-29-2008, 11:21 PM
Eikinskjaldi's Avatar
Eikinskjaldi Eikinskjaldi is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Hell, never looked better
Posts: 572
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dcpaq2 View Post
Who said anything about having a programmer?

Doug
Funny.

If the dbs reside on the same server then mysql simply doesnt care, you can write the query directly

select db1.table1.field1, db2.table2.field2 from db1.table1
join db2.table2 on (db1.table1.field2 = db2.table2.field3)

if on a separate server you just need to set permissions on the remote server so that it can be accessed remotely, and set up a mysql connection that connect to remote.ip.address rather than localhost.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-30-2008, 09:10 AM
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 25,415
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Well i expect that you have a programmer (or you do this yourself) who is writing that script for you.

Scripts do not fall out of the air, they must be coded by someone.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-30-2008, 11:30 AM
dcpaq2xx dcpaq2xx is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Merrillville, Indiana
Posts: 362
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I dont have a programmer as of yet. But the guy who coded the program that issues out liceneses to, would probably be the one who would set this up, but he is not familiar with Vbulletin and asked me to ask for help on how to go about doing this. That is why I am asking you guys for your help and input on this. And yes I am aware that scripts do not fall out of the sky.

Doug
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.09337 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,216KB
  • Queries Executed 13 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (1)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (7)post_thanks_box
  • (7)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (7)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (7)postbit
  • (7)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (7)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_postinfo_query
  • fetch_postinfo
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete