Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin Modifications > Archive > vB.org Archives > vBulletin 3.5 > vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons
FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Custom Rank Image for each User Details »»
Custom Rank Image for each User
Version: 1.00, by Marris Marris is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2018 Show Printable Version Email this Page

Version: 3.5.3 Rating:
Released: 01-13-2006 Last Update: 01-16-2006 Installs: 16
Uses Plugins Template Edits
Is in Beta Stage  
No support by the author.

Custom Rank Image for each User HACK
------------------------------------
version 1.0 (beta)
by Marris
January 14, 2006
for vBulletin 3.5.3

Lastest version, discussion and screenshots at:
URL: https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthread.php?t=105286

Requires: 2 plugins, 2 or 3 template edits, 1 new profile field.

Templates to Edit:

MEMBERINFO
postbit
postbit_legacy (optional)

Time to install
: 15-20 min.

*NOTE: This code will NOT work as-is on 3.5.0 boards. See trackpads' post for some information regarding the difference between the 3.5.3 and 3.5.0 bbcode parsing that may help you get it working on an earlier version.
---------------------------

(*The basic plugin code for steps 2 and 3 of this hack was originally posted HERE by The Geek. It has only been modified to parse image tags rather than links. The Geek, please let me know if you want official co-credit for this hack.)


What it does: This hack allows the Admin to set a Custom Rank Image for individual users by entering a bbcode image link in a custom profile field.

So for example, if your forum has stars as the standard rank image, you could set one user to have flowers and another to have dollar bills (or whatever).

Why: Yes, I know vB 3.5 already has multiple ranks, but they are determined by usergroup, not individual user. I recently converted to vB from another forum that allowed per user rank images, so I have many users with custom rank images. Without this hack, I had to 1) make a new usergroup for each custom rank used by a single member, 2) add the user to that group, then 3) set each user display group to that group.

With the number of users who have Custom Ranks on my forum, not only is this a tedious process, but it also adds a ton of clutter in the Usergroups and Permissions settings.

What it doesn't do: This doesn't set multiple variable rank images. You can only have one rank image per user, rather than a progression of images. This means you either have to manually change the image link when the user advances, or do what I do, which is just set each users custom rank to the maximum in the first place. (Custom rank images are a special perk for forum leaders.)

This hack is only worthwhile if you have a need for many Custom Rank Images for individual users like I do. If you only have a handful, just making new usergroups and ranks the normal way is probably quicker and easier.

Requires: 2 plugins, 2 or 3 template edits, 1 new profile field.

How to install:

0. If you have not installed any Plugins before, make sure you activate the Plugin system. In the main vBulletin Options > Plugin/Hook System : check YES to Enable Plugin/Hook System.

1. In Admin CP > User Profile Fields > Add New User Profile Field, create:

Profile Field Type: Single-Line Text Box

Title: Custom Rank Image

Max length of allowed user input: 400

Field Required: No

Field Editable by User: No

Private Field: No

Field Searchable on Members List: No

Show on Members List: No

Display Page: Edit Profile

Then SAVE.

In the User Profile Field Manager, note the Name of the newly created field. You will need it for the next step. For this example I will use: field99

***IMPORTANT: Do not just cut and paste the code below, or it will not work. In each code snippet below, you must manually replace field99 with the Name of your newly created Profile Field above.

2. In Admin CP > Plugin System > Add New Plugin

Hook Location: postbit_display_complete

Title: Custom Rank Image in postbit

Plugin PHP Code:

*IMPORTANT: You must replace field99 with the field Name of your newly created field in three locations in the following code:

PHP Code:
if ($post['field99'])
{
if (!
is_object($bbcode_parser))
{
    require_once(
DIR '/includes/class_bbcode.php');
    
$bbcode_parser =& new vB_BbCodeParser($vbulletinfetch_tag_list());
}
$post['field99'] = $bbcode_parser->parse($post['field99'],3true);

Then SAVE.

3. Create a second new plugin. In Admin CP > Plugin System > Add New Plugin

Hook Location: member_complete

Title: Custom Rank Image in MEMBERINFO

Plugin PHP Code:

*IMPORTANT: Again, you must replace field99 with the field Name of your newly created field in three locations in the following code:

PHP Code:
if ($userinfo['field99'])
{
if (!
is_object($bbcode_parser))
{
    require_once(
DIR '/includes/class_bbcode.php');
    
$bbcode_parser =& new vB_BbCodeParser($vbulletinfetch_tag_list());
}
$userinfo['field99'] = $bbcode_parser->parse($userinfo['field99'],3true);

Then SAVE.

The purpose of the two plugins is to allow bbcode IMG tags in Profile field field99.

*This basic plugin code was originally posted HERE by The Geek. It has only been modified to parse image tags rather than links.

4. In Admin CP > Styles & Templates > Style Manager, selct your current style and Edit Templates.

Select MEMBERINFO and press Customize or EDIT. I recommend you check the Save in Template History?: YES box and press the Save & Reload button, before editing, in case you want to go back to your previous template.

FIND around line 23:

Code:
<if condition="$userinfo['rank']"><div align="center">$userinfo[rank]</div></if>
REPLACE WITH:

*IMPORTANT: Yet again, you must replace field99 with the field Name of your newly created field in two locations in the following code:

Code:
<if condition="$userinfo['field99']"><div align="center">$userinfo[field99]</div>
<else />
<if condition="$userinfo['rank']"><div align="center">$userinfo[rank]</div></if>
</if>
Then SAVE.

* The following step 5 only applies if you are using the standard postbit. If you are using postbit_legacy, skip down to step 6. If you are using both postbit and postbit_legacy, you must do both steps 5 and 6.

5. In Admin CP > Styles & Templates > Style Manager, selct your current style and Edit Templates.

Select postbit and press Customize or EDIT. Again, I recommend you check the Save in Template History?: YES box and press the Save & Reload button, before editing, in case you want to go back to your previous template.

FIND around line 55:

Code:
<if condition="$post['rank']"><div class="smallfont">$post[rank]</div></if>
REPLACE WITH:

*IMPORTANT: As usual, you must replace field99 with the field Name of your newly created field in two locations in the following code:

Code:
<if condition="$post['field99']"><div class="smallfont">$post[field99]</div>
<else />
<if condition="$post['rank']"><div class="smallfont">$post[rank]</div></if>
</if>
Then SAVE.

* The following step 6 only applies if you are using the postbit_legacy. If not, you can skip down to step 7.

6. In Admin CP > Styles & Templates > Style Manager, selct your current style and Edit Templates.

Select postbit_legacy and press Customize or EDIT. Again, I recommend you check the Save in Template History?: YES box and press the Save & Reload button, before editing, in case you want to go back to your previous template.

FIND around line 45:

Code:
<if condition="$post['rank']"><div class="smallfont">$post[rank]</div></if>
REPLACE WITH:

*IMPORTANT: Again, for the last time, you must replace field99 with the field Name of your newly created field in two locations in the following code:

Code:
<if condition="$post['field99']"><div class="smallfont">$post[field99]</div>
<else />
<if condition="$post['rank']"><div class="smallfont">$post[rank]</div></if>
</if>
Then SAVE.

Now, you are basically finished with the install, but to test it out, go on to the last step:

7. Upload a new image for your Custom Rank Image to your server by your preferred method, FTP, Gallery, Photopost, Photoplog or whatever. OR you can just use one of your existing rank images to test.

In Admin CP > Users > Search for Users, input the User Name and press Exact Match.

Now, scroll down to the User Profile Fields, and you should have an input field called Custom Rank Image. In that field, enter the full URL to your test rank image within IMG tags:

[IMG]http://www.yourdomain.com/forum/imag...s/testrank.gif[/IMG]

Then SAVE.

Now, view that user's Public Profile and look at some of their posts to confirm that the new custom rank image is showing up.

If it is, then you're done. To set a Custom Rank Image for another user, just repeat the above procedure, adding an IMG link to that user's Custom Rank Image User Profile Field in the Admin CP > User Manager. To remove the custom rank image, just clear the value of Custom Rank Image in the User Profile Field and save. Then the users rank image should revert to whatever it was before, as determined by their standard usergroup rank display settings.

If not, double-check all the steps again and make sure you don't have any typos. Also make sure you don't already have other hacks installed that might cause a conflict.

END of Install
-------------
-------------

TO UNINSTALL (untested):

Reverse the Template edits above, delete the 2 Plugins you added and delete the new User Profile Field you created.

-------------------------------------------------

I have only tested the configuration above, but it might be possible to set Field Editable by User: YES and allow users to set their own rank images. I cannot say if that will work or not, and unless you had some way to control the size of the users linked image, it might break the formatting of your threads.

UPDATE: Another untested alternative use occurs to me: If you change the <if><else/></if> to a discreet <if></if> in each template edit around the line that displays your Custom Rank Image profile field, you could use this as a second or additional rank above, below or beside your existing usergroup ranks.

UPDATE:

Added a textfile with instructions. Please excuse the formatting.

Also added screenshots of the new User Profile Field option in the Admin CP and a before and after shot.

UPDATE: Added Step 0, to make sure you have the vBulletin Plugin System enabled on you forum.

UPDATE: This code will NOT work as-is on 3.5.0 boards. See trackpads' post for some information regarding the difference between the 3.5.3 and 3.5.0 bbcode parsing that may help you get it working on an earlier version.

I'm a beginner at this stuff, so I'm not sure how much help I can be troubleshooting or improving the hack, but maybe some more experienced coders will be able to come up with the answers.

Please click INSTALL if you use this hack.
--------------------------------------------------
*The basic plugin code for steps 2 and 3 of this hack was originally posted HERE by The Geek. It has only been modified to parse image tags rather than links.

Show Your Support

  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.

Comments
  #22  
Old 10-23-2006, 12:18 AM
barca4ever barca4ever is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Q8
Posts: 21
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Thanks man for this great mod

But one thing is not accomplished In MEMBERINFO the BB codes are not parsed Any idea why !! BTW I'm using VB3.5.4
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 10-23-2006, 12:05 PM
RFViet RFViet is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 362
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

does it work with vB3.5.5 ??
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10-23-2006, 01:33 PM
Blindchild02's Avatar
Blindchild02 Blindchild02 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 741
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Im having that error with 3.5.3 so not sure if it works with 3.5.5
author doesnt seem to be providing support
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10-24-2006, 01:28 AM
Blindchild02's Avatar
Blindchild02 Blindchild02 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 741
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

bump, need help please!
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10-25-2006, 09:42 AM
Marris Marris is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 45
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Sorry, this mod has not been updated for versions beyond 3.5.3.

The key to the BBCode displaying is the Plugin in step 3:

Quote:
Hook Location: member_complete

Title: Custom Rank Image in MEMBERINFO

Plugin PHP Code:

*IMPORTANT: Again, you must replace field99 with the field Name of your newly created field in three locations in the following code:

PHP Code:

PHP Code:
if ($userinfo['field99'])
{
if (!
is_object($bbcode_parser))
{
    require_once(
DIR '/includes/class_bbcode.php');
    
$bbcode_parser =& new vB_BbCodeParser($vbulletinfetch_tag_list());
}
$userinfo['field99'] = $bbcode_parser->parse($userinfo['field99'],3true);

You must replace field99 with the field Name of your newly created field in Three locations in the following code.
I'm not sure if or how this code was changed in later versions. Have a look at the newer class_bbcode.php parser and see if there are any clues.

Another solution might be to search for a different "BBCode in Custom Profile Fields" mod that is compatible with 3.5.5. If you find one, then you can substitute that code for the plugin in step 3.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 10-25-2006, 11:24 AM
Blindchild02's Avatar
Blindchild02 Blindchild02 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 741
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Im using 3.5.3 and i still get the error :|

Quote:
Fatal error: Call to a member function on a non-object in includes/class_bbcode.php on line 181
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 10-26-2006, 06:52 AM
Marris Marris is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 45
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blindchild02
Im using 3.5.3 and i still get the error :|
Sorry, I looked at class_bbcode.php line 181, but I can't even guess at what's causing that error. It's possible that you have another plugin or mod that is conflicting.

You might try looking at what trackpads did here:

https://vborg.vbsupport.ru/showthrea...866#post875866

As I explained in the install intructions, the BBCode parsing code was written by another user (The Geek) and his original post seems to have been moved or removed from the vb.org forum. I'm not sure of all the ins and outs of how it works or why it's spitting out errors.

Maybe you could try asking why you're getting this error in the general Programming Discussions forum.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05749 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,318KB
  • Queries Executed 24 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (6)bbcode_code
  • (3)bbcode_php
  • (3)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)modsystem_post
  • (1)navbar
  • (6)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (1)pagenav
  • (1)pagenav_curpage
  • (2)pagenav_pagelink
  • (8)post_thanks_box
  • (8)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (8)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (7)postbit
  • (8)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (8)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_postinfo_query
  • fetch_postinfo
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • pagenav_page
  • pagenav_complete
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete