Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 4 Discussion > vB4 Programming Discussions
  #1  
Old 12-07-2009, 11:06 PM
BBR-APBT's Avatar
BBR-APBT BBR-APBT is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 946
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default Using vb to pull information from the database.

Ohh Lynne ohh Lynne where could you be I need help with my PHP. LMAO

I am trying to pull information from the database using vBulletin's existing structure.

My only problem is it only pulls one result.

Code:
// ######  Check query returns result #####
$result = $db->query("
    SELECT * 
    FROM " . TABLE_PREFIX . "glossary 
    WHERE LEFT(word,1)='$letter' ORDER BY word
");

// ##### Check if empty result #####
if (empty($result)) {
  $dataresult = "1";
}
 else {
  $dataresult = "2"; 
}

// ##### Display by-letter #####
while ($row = $db->fetch_array($result,MYSQL_NUM)) { 
$result .= "<tr><td class=\"dbtext\"><b>$row[1]</b></td><td class=\"dbtext\">$row[2]</td></tr>";
}
How would I put that into an array to show all?

I am using this to pull it in the template.
Code:
{vb:raw result}

Sorry for all the questions and thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-07-2009, 11:23 PM
winstone winstone is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 68
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

try:

Code:
// ##### Display by-letter #####
$i = 0;
while ($row = $db->fetch_array($result,MYSQL_NUM)) { 
$result .= "<tr><td class=\"dbtext\"><b>$row[$i]</b></td><td class=\"dbtext\">$row[$i]</td></tr>";
$i++;
}
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-07-2009, 11:32 PM
BBR-APBT's Avatar
BBR-APBT BBR-APBT is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 946
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

That returned the number 30
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-08-2009, 12:04 AM
winstone winstone is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 68
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

looking at your line again, it should be:
$output .= "<td class=\"dbtext\"><b>$row[$i]</b></td>";

don't use $result again there

and then you probably need to put <tr> tags in your templates

or you can do following

$output .= "<tr> <td class=\"dbtext\"><b>$row[$i]</b></td>"; //$i is 0 here
$i++;
$output .= "<td class=\"dbtext\"><b>$row[$i]</b></td> </tr>"; //$i is 1 here
$i++;

just so you know, the $output is not array and doesn't need to be one, additionally arrays start from 0 and not 1
if you want to declare something as an array, you can use $blabla = array(); see http://php.net/manual/en/language.types.array.php for details

also do some reading on php while loop and php operators
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-08-2009, 12:40 AM
BBR-APBT's Avatar
BBR-APBT BBR-APBT is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Maryland
Posts: 946
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

I have two columns so yes the line is correct. One is the word one is the description. Currently it works just with only one line.

--------------- Added [DATE]1260241182[/DATE] at [TIME]1260241182[/TIME] ---------------

I figured it out I had the same var name used twice.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.03749 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,189KB
  • Queries Executed 11 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (3)bbcode_code
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (5)post_thanks_box
  • (5)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (5)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (5)postbit
  • (5)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (5)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete