Go Back   vb.org Archive > vBulletin 3 Discussion > vB3 Programming Discussions
  #1  
Old 10-29-2008, 09:18 AM
j1mmy j1mmy is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK, England
Posts: 252
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default Remove Padding on Footer

I currently have a vBulletin footer which I want to strength along the full width of the page. It is currently at 100% but it might have some sort of padding where it doesn't actually touch the edges at all.

I would like it to touch edge to edge, but at the same time, if I was to change it to a smaller percentage, it should revert back fine.

Here's the code:
Code:
$ad_location[ad_footer_start]
<br />
<div class="smallfont" align="center">$vbphrase[all_times_are_gmt_x_time_now_is_y]
	<!-- Do not remove this copyright notice -->
	$vbphrase[powered_by_vbulletin]
	<!-- Do not remove this copyright notice -->
	<!-- Do not remove $cronimage or your scheduled tasks will cease to function -->
	$cronimage
	<!-- Do not remove $cronimage or your scheduled tasks will cease to function -->
	
	$vboptions[copyrighttext]</div>
<br />

$spacer_close
<!-- /content area table -->

</div></div></div>

<form action="$vboptions[forumhome].php" method="get">
	
<table cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="$stylevar[outertablewidth]" class="page" align="center">
<tr>
	<if condition="$show['quickchooser']">
		<td class="tfoot">
			<select name="styleid" onchange="switch_id(this, 'style')">
				<optgroup label="$vbphrase[quick_style_chooser]">
					$quickchooserbits
				</optgroup>
			</select>
		</td>
	</if>
	<if condition="$show['languagechooser']">
		<td class="tfoot">
			<select name="langid" onchange="switch_id(this, 'lang')">
				<optgroup label="$vbphrase[quick_language_chooser]">
					$languagechooserbits
				</optgroup>
			</select>
		</td>
	</if>
	<td class="tfoot" align="$stylevar[right]" width="100%">
		<div class="smallfont">
			<strong>
				<if condition="$show['contactus']"><a href="$vboptions[contactuslink]" rel="nofollow" accesskey="9">$vbphrase[contact_us]</a> -</if>
				<if condition="$vboptions['hometitle']"><a href="$vboptions[homeurl]">$vboptions[hometitle]</a> -</if>
				<if condition="$show['admincplink']"><a href="$admincpdir/index.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[admin]</a> -</if>
				<if condition="$show['modcplink']"><a href="$modcpdir/index.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[mod]</a> -</if>
				<if condition="$vboptions['archiveenabled']"><a href="archive/index.php">$vbphrase[archive]</a> -</if>
                                $template_hook[footer_links]
				<if condition="$vboptions[privacyurl]"><a href="$vboptions[privacyurl]">$vbphrase[privacy_statement]</a> -</if>
				<a href="#top" onclick="self.scrollTo(0, 0); return false;">$vbphrase[top]</a>
			</strong>
		</div>
	</td>
</tr>
</table>

</form>

$ad_location[ad_footer_end]

<if condition="$show['dst_correction']">
<!-- auto DST correction code -->
<form action="profile.php?do=dst" method="post" name="dstform">
	<input type="hidden" name="s" value="$session[sessionhash]" />
	<input type="hidden" name="securitytoken" value="$bbuserinfo[securitytoken]" />
	<input type="hidden" name="do" value="dst" />
</form>
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
	var tzOffset = $bbuserinfo[timezoneoffset] + $bbuserinfo[dstonoff];
	var utcOffset = new Date().getTimezoneOffset() / 60;
	if (Math.abs(tzOffset + utcOffset) == 1)
	{	// Dst offset is 1 so its changed
		document.forms.dstform.submit();
	}
//-->
</script>
<!-- / auto DST correction code -->

</if>
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
	// Main vBulletin Javascript Initialization
	vBulletin_init();
//-->
</script>

See pic here:

http://storeanimage.com/out.php/i51_Capture.PNG

As you can see highlighted bu the red boxes, the footer needs to stretch ALL the way to edge. I've included a bit of the desktop so you can see where the browser edge is etc
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-29-2008, 09:55 AM
TeelK TeelK is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 64
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

look in admincp styles "Outer Border Width (pixels) (This value specifies the width in pixels of the outer-border of all colored tables)"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-29-2008, 11:05 AM
j1mmy j1mmy is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK, England
Posts: 252
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TeelK View Post
look in admincp styles "Outer Border Width (pixels) (This value specifies the width in pixels of the outer-border of all colored tables)"
It was set to 0, but I changed it to 50 then 5000 to see if anything would happen, but it doesn't reflect anything upon the forum. The footer is still the same width. Where should I be looking for a difference?

Also, after the admin Cp page refreshes, it just goes back to 0, am i supposed to put in 'px' at the end?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-29-2008, 03:37 PM
Seven Skins's Avatar
Seven Skins Seven Skins is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,481
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

You might have margins around body.

Check: CSS Selector: body > Extra CSS Attributes.

Do you have anything in the above CSS. Edit margin values.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-29-2008, 03:49 PM
j1mmy j1mmy is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK, England
Posts: 252
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seven Skins View Post
You might have margins around body.

Check: CSS Selector: body > Extra CSS Attributes.

Do you have anything in the above CSS. Edit margin values.
This is what is in the body of the Extra CSS Attributes:

margin: 0px 10px 0 10px;
padding: 0px;
font: 85%/1.6 "Segoe UI","Lucida Grande", "Lucida Sans", "Trebuchet MS", Tahoma, Verdana, sans-serif;

I'm guess it has something to do with 'margin'
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-29-2008, 11:58 PM
Seven Skins's Avatar
Seven Skins Seven Skins is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,481
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by j1mmy View Post
This is what is in the body of the Extra CSS Attributes:

margin: 0px 10px 0 10px;
padding: 0px;
font: 85%/1.6 "Segoe UI","Lucida Grande", "Lucida Sans", "Trebuchet MS", Tahoma, Verdana, sans-serif;

I'm guess it has something to do with 'margin'
.



Try changing the margin to:

margin: 0px;

.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-30-2008, 04:15 PM
j1mmy j1mmy is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK, England
Posts: 252
Благодарил(а): 0 раз(а)
Поблагодарили: 0 раз(а) в 0 сообщениях
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seven Skins View Post
.



Try changing the margin to:

margin: 0px;

.
I tried it, but it only stretches from edge to edge when the forum is at 100% as well. If the forum width is at 85% it is also reflected on the footer.

I would like the footer width to be seperate from the main forum width, it should be 100% all the time, edge to edge.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.12 by vBS
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
X vBulletin 3.8.12 by vBS Debug Information
  • Page Generation 0.05820 seconds
  • Memory Usage 2,222KB
  • Queries Executed 11 (?)
More Information
Template Usage:
  • (1)SHOWTHREAD
  • (1)ad_footer_end
  • (1)ad_footer_start
  • (1)ad_header_end
  • (1)ad_header_logo
  • (1)ad_navbar_below
  • (1)ad_showthread_beforeqr
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_sig
  • (1)ad_showthread_firstpost_start
  • (1)bbcode_code
  • (4)bbcode_quote
  • (1)footer
  • (1)forumjump
  • (1)forumrules
  • (1)gobutton
  • (1)header
  • (1)headinclude
  • (1)navbar
  • (3)navbar_link
  • (120)option
  • (7)post_thanks_box
  • (7)post_thanks_button
  • (1)post_thanks_javascript
  • (1)post_thanks_navbar_search
  • (7)post_thanks_postbit_info
  • (7)postbit
  • (7)postbit_onlinestatus
  • (7)postbit_wrapper
  • (1)spacer_close
  • (1)spacer_open
  • (1)tagbit_wrapper 

Phrase Groups Available:
  • global
  • inlinemod
  • postbit
  • posting
  • reputationlevel
  • showthread
Included Files:
  • ./showthread.php
  • ./global.php
  • ./includes/init.php
  • ./includes/class_core.php
  • ./includes/config.php
  • ./includes/functions.php
  • ./includes/class_hook.php
  • ./includes/modsystem_functions.php
  • ./includes/functions_bigthree.php
  • ./includes/class_postbit.php
  • ./includes/class_bbcode.php
  • ./includes/functions_reputation.php
  • ./includes/functions_post_thanks.php 

Hooks Called:
  • init_startup
  • init_startup_session_setup_start
  • init_startup_session_setup_complete
  • cache_permissions
  • fetch_threadinfo_query
  • fetch_threadinfo
  • fetch_foruminfo
  • style_fetch
  • cache_templates
  • global_start
  • parse_templates
  • global_setup_complete
  • showthread_start
  • showthread_getinfo
  • forumjump
  • showthread_post_start
  • showthread_query_postids
  • showthread_query
  • bbcode_fetch_tags
  • bbcode_create
  • showthread_postbit_create
  • postbit_factory
  • postbit_display_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_start
  • post_thanks_function_post_thanks_off_end
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_start
  • post_thanks_function_fetch_thanks_end
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_start
  • post_thanks_function_thanked_already_end
  • fetch_musername
  • postbit_imicons
  • bbcode_parse_start
  • bbcode_parse_complete_precache
  • bbcode_parse_complete
  • postbit_display_complete
  • post_thanks_function_can_thank_this_post_start
  • tag_fetchbit_complete
  • forumrules
  • navbits
  • navbits_complete
  • showthread_complete